I Won FIRST PLACE in My Recent Dance Competition! (Full Dtube Video Inside)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

DFC8E120-93F2-43B5-A27F-844AF3D58000.jpeg

Wow, you guys...I was absolutely speechless to learn that I got first place in my division! I was recently at a West Coast Swing dance convention/competition in Vancouver, Canada and have been posting videos from the various rounds of competing over the last few days. If you want to check them out... here are the links.

Preliminary Round of Competition
Semi-Final Round of Competition

This was a Jack and Jill style competition, which means that you have no idea who your partner will be when you sign up. You are randomly paired with someone, and then judged based on your ability to work together and create something in the moment. It is honestly my favorite form of competing because I like the challenge and I enjoy meeting new people.

My partner for this competition actually flew in from Japan to compete! His name is Masatoshi, and it was such a pleasure to meet and dance with him.

We danced to three different songs and I've included all three in this video instead of making a bunch of separate posts. I hope you guys like the format!

BD7A16D9-A8E1-4B0A-BE2C-84FCFC605CDB.jpeg

The funny part is that I actually left before the awards ceremony. (well... funny/not funny) My group of friends were leaving the convention about 7 hours before the ceremony started. I didn't want to try and hitch a ride with strangers across the border, and to be honest... I thought our dances were good, but I didn't think they were good enough to place - let alone make first place! Had I known, I probably would have risked the weird car situation just to be there. :)

Here's my poor partner holding both trophies at the awards ceremony!

BFF2A4E9-D144-4355-BF77-AD467727BB1C.jpeg

This whole weekend was a total blast, and taking home the prize was just icing on the cake. This also means that I now have enough "Points" to move up to the next division. This means I will no longer be a "Novice" dancer.... and have graduated to the level of "Intermediate". I know that may not sound like much, but my heart is full of so much gratitude and excitement.

Being an intermediate dancer opens more doors for me to get into higher level workshops and compete with higher level dancers. I'll definitely be bottom of the barrel again, but I'm excited for the challenge.

Thanks so much for taking the time to watch! I really appreciate all of your support and encouragement.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS




A Few of My Recent Posts


Steemit Open Mic Week 69 - Hit Me Baby One More Time by Britney Spears (Piano Cover)
Dtube Exclusive - The Scientist by Coldplay (Ukulele Cover)
Dtube Exclusive - Inside a Three Day Dance Convention!
Sort:  

Congratulations! It's been a blast watching your dancing series, hope we get to see more of that soon. Enjoy finding new challenges in higher level classes and competitions! :)

I’m so thrilled that you’ve been enjoying the videos from my competitions lately. I really appreciate all of your support and encouragement! 😊

Posting videos of happy people doing what they love is the type of content Steemit can't get enough. It's awesome to follow someone who brings it on a regular basis ;)

hey congrats, that's super awesome! :)

Thanks @teamhumble! 😊 I can still hardly believe it. Now that I’m in a higher division, you may not see a first place post again for a looong time. haha It’s a lot harder to stand out in higher divisions because everyone is good and has worked hard to get there. I’m really excited for the change though. 😊

Congratulations to you! Is there anything you can’t do 😊!!! Not done watching your dance competition videos but have enjoyed what I’ve seen so far. You definitely deserve that victory!

Aww thanks @offoodandart!! The dances are a bit simple, but that’s what they are looking for in competitions. They want to see clear, precise technique, not your favorite funky moves! Haha

Thanks so much for watching them! ❤️

Did you remember my last comment on your post?
I didn't say much.
I said GO AND WIN!
Now, you won. Congratulations my celebrity.

Haha I love that you saw this coming!! You are seriously awesome... thanks for rooting me on!!

Very cool! Congrats!

Aww thanks Brian!!

I was thinking about posting my own “dance video” of me on stage at a luau... embarrassing 😬. Want me to credit you for the motivation (your dance videos, posts about getting out of comfort zone, etc) to get you more some extra viewers?

You would do that?? Wow, that’s so nice of you to think of me. Mention away my friend. :-)

Also... I can’t wait to see your luau video!! “Year of no Fear” is my slogan right now. At least that’s what I tell myself before posting something slightly embarrassing. Haha Not sure if that helps, but I definitely think you should post it. I bet a lot of people would really enjoy it!

Wow I'm so happy for you my dear, look at that wonderful shout of happiness, you deserve it you're a hardworker, been following you for a while now and I know it.
The ukulele queen has done a big one this time, congratulation.

And on a funnier note, I thought the patner was proposing with a ring 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Aww thanks @josediccus!! I so appreciate your regular support and encouragement!

No proposals here... hahah

Don't mention Dearie 😊😊😊😊!

Keep winning

congrats!! I’m quite impressed that dancers kind of read each other’s mood and movement to create a fluid improv dance! you looked so smooth on the floor! wow! is it nerve racking to dance in a competition?

Aww thanks @blackmox! Part of what drew me to learn this dance is the opportunity for creating something on the spot with another person. It’s a pretty cool feeling!

I used to feel really nervous competing, I’m pretty sure I was shaking the whole time actually! It’s one of those things that gets easier the more you do it. To help prepare, I’ve actually been filming myself dancing with a friend the last few weeks. Being on camera is not the same as having someone with a clipboard in your face, but it does help ease a little bit of that performance anxiety.

@coruscate so not only that you are amazing musician but also a dancer ... i think tou can be an astronaut eve if you want !!!

Hahaha while I appreciate the vote of confidence, you probably shouldn’t trust me to pilot a space ship. 🚀

@coruscate not at all i have full confidence in you! Besides what is the worst that can happen?!

I got “best-dancer” In high school year book for senior selects.

I have no dancing skills.

Hahah that’s awesome. Maybe they just see your untapped potential. 😉

Gosh... I got “best laugh” I think. I might have also won the “person most likely to be running late”... wooops. Can’t remeber- pretty sure I blocked that one out of my memory. 😂

Okay I confess- I actually did know how to break dance when I was in middle school...and won the 7th and 8th grade dance contest...but by senior year, I had no dance skills lol and I guess everybody remembered middle school days. What’s odd to me is that the show choir Kids all wanted to win best dancer - and instead, I got it. Lol. I was a rocker not a dancer. I played in a band and that was my life ...
It’s amazing what people remember

Wow! nice hip movement y'all were so active with those nice moves

Thanks @steemkidd! I’m so glad you enjoyed the video!

I did indeed! loving the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30