Preliminary Round from my Dance Competition! (Full Dtube Video Inside)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

AEACDBFF-8513-424E-9AC7-7E2F1FC0C026.jpeg

Hi Steemfriends!

I'm so excited to share some videos from my dance competition last weekend. Your getting three for the price of one because i've mixed all three of my first round dances together. This was a Jack and Jill style competition, which means you get randomly paired up with someone and then compete together.

Often, this means you have never even met the person before! It is meant to test your creativity and ability to create something on the spot with multiple different partners. As you will see in the video, they had us switch partners every song, to get a truer sense of our ability.

These competitions are not stand alone events - but happen as part of a weekend convention. If you want to see more of a behind the scenes video - please check out my Dtube post - Inside a Three Day Dance Convention. It's a fun way to see more of the social dancing, workshops... oh and of course room parties!

What is a Dance Convention?

These conventions are basically three day long intensive weekends. Depending on the event - there are usually about 400-700 people in attendance. They usually book a huge hotel where everyone stays on site. Honestly, I hardly even step outside to get fresh air for three days straight!

These conventions are a mix of workshops, competitions and social dancing. I like to make the most of these weekends, so I usually engage with all three segments.

Workshops are one of my favorite parts because I get to learn from the best West Coast Swing dancers in the world. Seriously, it's amazing the level of talented instructors that come to these events! I always leave with a notepad full of things to work on.

Jack and Jill Style Competition

There are many types of dance competitions - but my favorite is the Jack and Jill. Most people think of competitions as choreographed routines (which is indeed a cool way to compete!) but Jack and Jill's are all about testing your ability to create on the fly.

You get paired up with a random person and dance to whatever song the Dj plays. I like this because I can sign up solo and don't have to have a partner, and because I like the challenge. With other competition styles, you know the song and the partner - but this way, you really have to do your best to just create something in the moment.

There are three stages to these competitions - Preliminary, Semi-Finals and Finals. I ended up making it through all three rounds and so I'll be posting my semi-final videos tomorrow! On Thursday, I'll post the finals round and let you guys know how I did.

Thanks for your support and I hope enjoy watching this round of competitions!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS



A Few of My Recent Posts


Steemit Open Mic Week 69 - Hit Me Baby One More Time by Britney Spears (Piano Cover)
Five Ways to Improve your Steemit Posts
Dtube Exclusive - Inside a Three Day Dance Convention!
Sort:  

wow... awesome dance..

I once rocked like that, but my partner failed to do it.😩😩😩😩😩😩

wao amazing dance , i like it ,, looking awesome and nice performance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75