DIY Healthy Kitchen | Creamy Vanilla Hemp Milk

in #diy6 years ago

DSC_0025 (2).jpg

Today we’re talking DIY! Specifically DIY Milk!


Good morning my friends! I’ve spoken a few times about my journey to experiment with alternative “dairy” products in the Bird kitchen. My reasons are twofold.


  • I enjoy being able to rely on alternative milk options which are healthy, easily available and readily made by me!
  • And, I have a daughter who cannot eat/drink dairy products.

In prior posts we have made Almond Milk , Coconut Milk and Cashew Milk . They’re all great alternatives, we enjoy them all.


Today I have another Milk recipe to share! A quicker option!


Creamy Vanilla Hemp Milk

Made with Hemp Hearts! I use Hemp Hearts in my smoothies and juices. The nutty flavor is great and the nutrition packed in these little seeds is amazing!


DSC_0018 (2).jpg


Nutritional Benefits

  • Just One tablespoon Hemp Seed contains 9.46 grams of complete protein! All 9 of the essential amino acids needed by our bodies. A great way to add protein to your morning smoothie!
  • Hemp Hearts are a great source of Omega-3’s, the healthy source of fatty acids the body can’t naturally produce. Omega-3’s are great for our heart health and help reduce inflammation in our bodies.
  • They’re a great source of fiber!
  • Rich in Vitamin E Magnesium, Potassium and Phosphorous

And….this milk takes less than 10 minutes to make using just 3 ingredient!

Yes, Really!


todaysjourney.jpg


Creamy Vanilla Hemp Milk

Ingredients

  • Hemp Hearts (1 cup)
  • Filtered Water (2 ½ cups)
  • Vanilla

Just 3 ingredients! Place all in your blender and blend for about 2 minutes. It’s so creamy!


DSC_0021 (2).jpg


So Simple! Just chill and enjoy!


DSC_0050 (2).jpg


If you have hemp hearts on hand I hope you’ll try this and see what you think. If you like a sweeter milk, feel free to add a bit of maple syrup! Chocolate milk…add Cocoa! Your kids will love it!


No more “We’re out of milk worries!”


DSC_0041 (2).jpg


Hemp Hearts keep well in the pantry! The milk keeps in the fridge for about 5 days, shake to mix and drink! Make it yourself, buying Hemp Milk will cost you much much more! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Gosh this looks so creamy, do you strain it at all?
My son's been telling me about the health benefits of hemp seeds, he's always discovering healthier options and uses it in smoothies. It's quite pricey here though but your post has reminded me so I will get some next time I shop.
Thank you for sharing all the healthy options with us:)

Wow. Looks like a terrific substitute.

It's your fault, don't you know. The fact that I fell down a rabbit hole so early in the day. It started with a simple search for Hemp Seeds. Then recipes and...

Thanks for another just wonderful post. Always appreciated!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 361 (1/04/19)

Thank you @thesteemengine! Appreciate being featured in the Daily Whistle Stops along with my fellow TSE passengers :) Great articles curated each day.

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Thank you for including my post! I am truly honored to be included with other sustainability minded Steemians!

You are welcome.

I never knew you could make milk from Hemp Hearts quite interesting

I was just thinking I want to make hemp milk. Do you need a cheese cloth or anything to strain the left over bits and pieces? I’m all over this one @birdsinparadise. Hope to see you in the food fight ring tomorrow 😉

Seems like a really simple and quick recipe and I am sure it tastes great!

Oooh, that's one I haven't tried yet! I've been so enamored of the cashew milk because I don't need to strain that either, but I have some hemp hearts so perhaps I'll use them for the next batch. They really are so healthy, and quite yummy to boot!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hemp milk... Interesting

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45