For the Love of Discord! - My Top 2 Discord Groups and Others

in #discord6 years ago

Are you on Discord? If you are, then thats awesome, its a great place. If you are not, then why not join?

Discord is a hub of activity for many of your favorite Steemit groups, its where you can connect with people and make actual friends, promote your content and find hidden gems. Personally, I love just chatting with people from across the globe on there, I make new friends and learn so much!

I spend a lot of time on Discord and have fitted myself nicely into a couple niches. Many of the groups I am in I am not active, but there are a few where I clicked with the members for reals and developed relationships and connections. I work on a couple of these servers to keep it active and welcome new members. So, without futher ado, I would like to share with you my top 3 Discord groups, and some honorable mentions! 

Note: I go simply by Cae on Discord.

#1: Team Girl Powa

Team Girl Powa is my Discord home base, and if you join us I might just greet you at the door! We are described as inter sectional feminists, meaning we want equality for everyone, not just girls! That means people with autism, people of all races and places, and the lgbt+ community. Basically, if you are an accepting person who loves to chat with awesome people who are also super accepting, then this might be a good channel for you! The vibes are good here, yes they are. 

We are not terribly large, and I like it like that. There is usually activity on the server but not so much activity that its overwhelming, its a good balance right now. We have rooms such as the team meeting room, spirituality, a room for single moms, mental health room, a book nook, etc etc. Its a pretty lovely group and it is home to, by far, the most welcoming people I have found yet. I suppose I just click with these gals, and guys, and everyone in between because they are open minded and awesome!

One of my favorite Team Girl Powa activities is online cards against humanity, its a lovely way to get some laughs in and get to know the people on the server. @sykochica, we gotta do that again! I also love the bot cave, because you can type in a command that gives you random cat pictures anywhere on the server. Yah, random cat pictures and cat facts are a bonus! We have team meetings, girl powa radio, and we all upvote each other too. Oh, and you get a kitty nick name for your 'level' on the server, and everyone starts as a 'kitty.' Meow!

If Team Girl Powa seems like somewhere you would like to be, then join us on Discord! Come get to know cool people and chat about all sorts of fun things in a very safe environment. We make sure that our new members agree with our Team Girl Powa guidelines before they join so that we can keep the server as safe and friendly as possible, only those with an accepting and open mind are part of our team. 

Here is an invitation link: https://discord.gg/DX8kFh

  

#2: Live Sustainably

@livesustainably is a wonderful Steemit group dedicated to eradicating pollution and promoting sustainable living. They have a small discord group that is slowly growing, but it is nice and cozy right now! If you would like to get more into the live sustainably group, chat about moving off grid or just wasting less, etc, etc, come on over to the live sustainably Discord group!

I am nearly always on there acting as a sort of unofficial moderator and greeter, and all our chatting goes on in general chat so far. You can post your sustainability posts on there, your live sustainably contest entries, you can learn about the green-growth bot and delegations! Oh man, this server is going to be the best when it grows a little bit more. A bunch of like minded people trying to steward the earth! 

If you join us on Discord for the live sustainably group, you will be one of the first members and we will welcome you with open arms! Let us change the world together and get to know each other. I am at the point in my Steemit life where I need friends in order to grow more, and so I spend a lot of time getting to know others on discord, and its a good way to! 

Here is the link to this discord group: https://discord.gg/PrEPTbZ

 

Honorable Mentions - Discords I am just getting to know

Earth Nation - Earth nation is my newest Discord haunt. If you have not looked into Earth Nation yet, I highly recommend it. They are on the ball! They already have eco-villages across the globe, their own currency and their own economy. They are a group of super inspired people that are taking real action, right now! No speculation, but action!

I am only just getting my feet wet in this group, by beginning to chat with the people on their Discord group about getting involved in some of their teams. They have the hub for @steemitbasicincome on their discord and a lot more stuff going on too. If you really want to get involved in real change, right now, then check out Earth Nation on their Steemit and their Discord! Here is the link: https://discord.gg/egby3aw

Geopolis - Geopolis on Steemit is a group for the curation of world wide sciences, from ecology to history. Talk to the creator of the group and other like minded individuals on their discord group! I do not spend so much time on this group but when I do I find it quite enjoyable, here is a link: https://discord.gg/hTsA8ba

The Writers Block - @thewritersblock is a hub for writers and if you need some tips or help editing or improving your writing, this is where to go! Also, their greeter bot is super sassy and I love it! These people have a creative flair and sharp tongues, and would totally love to help you out! They have workshops for fiction, non fiction, poetry, songwriting and more! If you like to write or want to improve your writing, this is probably the discord group for you. Join the writers block here: https://discord.gg/3Ebw9YT

Philosofourm - This discord is just as it sounds, a fourm for philosophy! I occasionally spend time here and chat about spiritual stuff, divination, dreams, healing, etc etc. Basically if you wanna chat with people about cool stuff about alchemy and philosophy, join us here! Here is the link: https://discord.gg/nMgkmek

Oh man, there are so many more discord groups out there!

 Many of them are awesome, but these are the groups where I hang out and engage with people the most. Getting to know people from Steemit and across the globe is a very important step to Steemit success! The more personal friends you make, the better and more engaging your followers become. It also gives a good opportunity to get to know new people, find articles in topics you enjoy, and get involved in groups.

Also, you can often find jobs and ways to engage with the Steemit community that give you an extra boost with your blogging. Joining groups can make you successful and is just an extra way to engage! 

I do sincerely hope that I will see some of my Steemit friends on Discord, I would love to chat with you and get to know my followers better!


I want us all to succeed, because my success is your success and your success is my success! That is how this awesome platform works, so get on the bandwagon and join a Discord group if you haven't already, get to know your followers and those you follow, and join a group that can boost your success!

Thank you for joining me, and I really do hope to make more friends on Discord. Keep on Steemin on!

All images are from pixabay or respective Discord groups.

 

If you enjoyed this post, do not fret, there is more! Check out these links for more posts from @skycae!

AstroHerbology, Bridging Herbs and Astrology (A Free Online Mini Courses)

My Bliss in Stillness Steemit Vision Quest

Have You Ever Been to a Viking Bar? Visit Munins Post with Me!

Magically Mundane - Divination Tea and Green Growth

Sled with us Crazy Mountain People Down the Mountain

 
 

Sort:  

Sound like good recommendations...
Now... if I have a little more time, I'll go check these groups out! ;)
Cheers, and have a great week ahead!

I hope to see you there!
And you have a great week too <3

This is a delightful post, @skycae, heartwarming.

In this day and age when we have the technology and tools to connect with friends and the like-minded without having to worry about borders or societal barriers, it's so great to see awesome people like yourself singing the praises and being a welcoming being of light to new people searching for community.

So happy for all the joy you have experienced in you connecting with people over discord so far and excited for the joy you still will experience.

Thank you so much for sharing and caring, Cae!

Aww, you are heartwarming! It is pretty astounding how we can connect with people across the globe in less then a second now. Honestly, I never talked to anyone outside of the city I live in basically until I came onto Steemit and broadend my horizens. Now, I connect with people across the globe and have learnt so much about how simular we really all are. Plus, I by pass the propaganda about other places too.
Its all sooo great.
Thank you for your kind words, and I hope we can connect on Discord soon!

absolutely, we are in an unparalleled era of communication, and it's good to see you are taking advantage of it, Cae.

Hope so too, and please let that cat in your icon know that she's the best & I love her mask!
doesn't hurt that she has a cool human, too, haha.

All the best, Cae.

Hi sky! I decided i wanted to address you that way before i saw you're cae in discord! Thought it was pretty funny! I just started discord today!!! All this new stuff woa momma!! Earth Nation sounds great! Gonna get my foundation first in @asapers just trying to get it going. We are trying to help newbies get going.

Lotsa love girl! Hope to catch you on discord sometime 👍👍

Oh cool, im glad you are on discord now! Its all pretty fun, could you give me an invite to @asapers?

What a very informative and lovely post! :) I actually joined a few of the groups you suggested, but I couldn't join Team Girl Powa for some reason. It said the invitation had expired.In any case, I'd love to join— it sounded intriguing.

By the way, I found your post through @geopolis. I've been making it a goal of mine to post on at least 25 other Steemit bloggers post a day. It's a pretty tough daily goal, but I love the platform we write on. It's the first time I've felt welcomed on a social media platform.

In any case, I write about geological, geographical, historical and culinary topics. I really enjoyed your writing style. It's very easy on the eyes. If you have the chance, please check out my blog. I upvoted this post and you've earned my follow!

https://discord.gg/5DD7rmW Here is a new link for team girl powa!

Thank you for stopping by, your thoughtful comment does mean a lot to me. That is a lot of commenting you are doing! Intense! And good for the platform too. I agree that this is a generally very welcoming place.

I will take a look at your blog, and I do hope to see you around mine more often :P

This is a really useful post! There aren’t enough posts listing great discords to join--I’ve notice most posts just talk about how discord is a good thing, without pointing people in right direction! I would have loved to stumble across this as I was joining! Thank you for posting. :) #teamgirlpowa

I am glad I stumbled across some recomendations early on, I love discord! Go team girl powa!

i think you welcomed me over at girl powa earlier today! i had been meaning to branch out into a few new groups. i cant promise i'll be super active, and know that i am thrilled to have found y'all! 😁

Ahh thats fine, but I am so glad you joined! Just message me back on the welcome channel and ill give you access to the rest. I hope you can join in the cards against humanity game soon!

done! :) and i'll go search for it soon!

You make Team Girl Powa sound Interesting. Trying to get my SO to work with Steem and Discord. Think she would Love it.

Oh its pretty awesome! Team girl power is great, I love it there.

I joined teamgirlpowa, livesustainably and earthnation I am not familiar with chat rooms I am a slow typer and I am a terrible speller but they seem worth the effort. Thank you

Ahhh thats just fine, gotta learn as you go as with everything :P It is worth the effort to develop relationships <3 I hope to chat with you soon!

Wow thanks @cae !! Its not always perfect vibes but for the most part hehe... ty soooo much for volunteering and repoing!!!- limabeing aka capn girlpowa

ahhh non perfection is what makes it lovely. People are real!

Hey, good choice @skycae, I'm on those two with you and have really enjoyed connecting with you. x

aha thank you, I am excited to get to know awesome people like yourself more so. I hope we can play cards against humanity soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38