How to Give Reasons (German Course) | Wie man etwas begründet (Deutschkurs)

in #deutsch7 years ago (edited)

In this german lecture we will learn how to give reasons for something. We are doing this by giving reasons why someone is not coming. I will show you some easy examples. In this examples the sentence structure is similar but there a several reasons and little variations.

(In dieser Deutsch Lektion lernen wir, wie man etwas begründet. Wir tun dies, indem wir begründen, warum jemand nicht kommt. Ich zeige dir einige einfache Beispiele. In diesen Beispielen ist die Satzstruktur ähnlich, aber es gibt verschiedene Gründe und kleine Variationen.)

  • Why aren’t you coming? - Warum kommen Sie nicht?

I'm sick. - Ich bin krank.

I am not coming because I'm sick. - Ich komme nicht, weil ich krank bin.

  • Warum kommt sie nicht? - Why isn't she coming?

She's too tired. - Sie ist zu müde.

She isn't coming because she's too tired. - Sie kommt nicht, weil sie zu müde ist.  

  • Why aren't they coming? - Warum kommen sie nicht?

They aren't invited. - Sie sind nicht eingeladen.

They're not coming because they're not invited. - Sie kommen nicht, weil sie nicht eingeladen sind.

  • Why isn't he coming? - Warum kommt er nicht? 

The weather is so bad. - Das Wetter ist so schlecht.

He's not coming because the weather is so bad. - Er kommt nicht, weil das Wetter so schlecht ist.

  • Why are you coming to me? - Warum kommen Sie zu mir?

I need your help. - Ich brauche Ihre Hilfe.

I`m coming to you because I need your help. - Ich komme zu Ihnen, weil ich Ihre Hilfe brauche.

  • Why isn't he coming to me? - Warum kommt er nicht zu mir?

He's afraid. - Er hat Angst.

He's not coming to you because he is afraid. Er kommt nicht zu dir, weil er Angst hat. 

  • Why isn't she coming to me? - Warum kommt sie nicht zu mir?

She's too shy. - Sie ist zu schüchtern.

She's not coming to you because she's too shy. - Sie kommt nicht zu dir, weil sie zu schüchtern ist.

  • Why aren't you coming today? - Warum kommen Sie heute nicht?

Ich komme morgen. - I'm coming tomorrow.

I'm not coming today because I'm coming tomorrow. - Ich komme heute nicht, weil ich morgen komme.

Say it in the Past:

  1. I was sick.      -      ???
  2. She was too tired      -      ???
  3. I needed your help.      -      ???
  4. Why wasn't he coming?      -      ???
  5. He was afraid.      -      ???
  6. She was too shy.      -      ???
  7. I came yesterday.      -     ???

1. Ich war krank. / 2. Sie war zu müde. / 3. Ich brauchte deine Hilfe. / 4. Warum kam er nicht? / 5. Er hatte Angst. / 6. Sie war zu schüchtern. / 7. Ich kam gestern.

Some Vocabulary:

  • to come      -      kommen
  • to be sick      -      krank sein
  • to be tired      -      müde sein
  • the invitation      -      die Einladung
  • to invite      -      einladen
  • the weather      -      das Wetter
  • bad      -      schlecht
  • the help      -      die Hilfe
  • to be afraid      -      Angst haben
  • to be shy      -      schüchtern sein
  • tomorrow      -      morgen
  • today      -      heute
  • not      -      nicht
  • because      -      weil

Downloads for this lecture:

  1. Giving Reasons - Video Download (WMV)
  2. Giving Reasons - Sentence List (PDF)
  3. Giving Reasons - Sentence Worksheet (PDF)
  4. Giving Reasons - All Slides I Have Used (ZIP)
  5. Giving Reasons - All Images I Have used (ZIP)

More @angrezi german lectures on steemit:

 Identity Verification: In the YouTube video description I have added a link to my steemit profile page.  

Would you like to support me?

You can support me by following and upvoting my new posts on @angrezi. You can also send a tip to my steemit or bitcoin wallet:

BTC: 1NL5a2Ao37sLusx7yoknGU6HAt31ztCpbF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37