How To Apologize (German Course) | Wie man sich entschuldigt (Deutschkurs)

in #deutsch7 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to a new German Lesson. Today I want to talk about: How to apologize in German? - Wie entschuldigt man sich auf Deutsch?

The most simple way to do that is to say: "Entschuldigung". Say: "Entschuldigung". Sometimes you also hear the very informal short form "Tschuldigung". If you want to be polite, you say "Entschuldigen Sie bitte". Or if you are talking to a friend or a family member: "Entschuldige bitte".

For apologies to more than one person you can use: "Entschuldigt bitte". The polite form "Entschuldigen Sie bitte" stays the same.

Let's hear some examples:

  • Sorry that I forgot your birthday. - Entschuldigung, dass ich deinen Geburtstag vergessen habe.
  • Sorry that I'm late. - Entschuldigung, dass ich zu spät bin.
  • Sorry that I lied - Entschuldigung, dass ich gelogen habe.

Apologies can be used in many situations. Some of them are:

  • 1. Something bad happened and "it was your fault". - "Es war Ihr Fehler".

Sorry that I slept with another woman. - Entschuldigung, dass ich mit einer anderen Frau geschlafen habe.

  • 2. You want to get someone's attention. Mostly, when you want to ask someone something.

Excuse me, how much is that? - Entschuldigung, Wie viel kostet das? / Excuse me please, where are the toilets? - Entschuldigen Sie bitte, wo sind die Toiletten?

  • 3. You are walking somewhere but someone stands in your way.

Excuse me, may I stop by? - Entschuldigung, darf ich mal vorbei?

  • 4. You want to leave the room to make a phone call or you want to go to the bathroom.

You say: Please excuse me for a moment - Bitte entschuldigen Sie mich für einen Moment.

This expression is usefull in formal situations, like business meetings. But you can also use it when you are in a restaurant with a woman you like: Bitte entschuldige mich für einen Moment

Instead of using an apology you can also regret something (etwas bedauern) or you combine both forms. An easy way to regret something is to say:

  • I'm sorry. - Es tut mir leid. / Or: I'm very sorry. - Es tut mir sehr leid.
  • I'm sorry that I forgot your birthday - Es tut mir leid, dass ich deinen Geburtstag vergessen habe.
  • I'm sorry that I'm late - Es tut mir leid, dass ich zu spät bin.
  • I'm very sorry that I slept with another woman. - Es tut mir sehr leid, dass ich mit einer anderen Frau geschlafen habe.
  • I'm sorry that I lied. - Es tut mir leid, dass ich gelogen habe.

If you think your fault was very big you can ask for forgiveness.

In informal situations, you just say: (Please) forgive me: (Bitte) verzeih mir. Or you ask: Do you forgive me? - Verzeihst du mir? In formal situations just say (Bitte) verzeihen Sie mir. Or ask: Verzeihen Sie mir (bitte)?

  • Please forgive me that I slept with another woman. - Bitte verzeih mir, dass ich mit einer anderen Frau geschlafen habe.
  • Pease forgive me what I have done. - Bitte verzeihen Sie mir, was ich getan habe.

If someone apologizes to you, 

you can answer like this: No problem - Kein Problem. / Don't worry - Mach dir keine Sorgen.

Or be polite and say: I accept your apology. - Ich akzeptiere deine / Ihre Entschuldigung. You can also just say OK, and smile.

More @angrezi german lectures on steemit:

 Identity Verification: In the YouTube video description I have added a link to my steemit profile page. 

Sort:  

"... So cool. I love your Posts !!!!!! Definitely!.."
cu, next time again
@zeuss11

Thank you.

nice post @angrezi
good information

Nice to hear that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68008.50
ETH 3261.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66