[Blog #18] Sunday Cycling Training | Weather Change | 35 km

in #cycling6 years ago

Morning Readers! How are you? Sunday training with incredible weather changes and pics from Pelotas.

Paulo Coelho quote

Hello my lovely readers! Pelotas today, 9°C, sunny, 77% humidity - It's beautifully cold, coffee is done and we are ready to Steem.

This past weekend was strange in its way, Saturday it rained tons making it impossible to go cycling; Sunday it was hot, in the middle of the Winter, the day started out incredibly blue and clear. How can one understand a weather like that? But it didn't stop there, you'll see.

So, since I had planned to visit some waterfalls next weekend with another friend cyclist, last Sunday I decided to stay around town; plan was to cycle my 35 km routine to the beach, find something to eat, see people and come back. It worked flawlessly, apart from some strange phenomenon.

On the way I've taken some photographs with my cheap Motorola phone to show you a bit of my city and what I see when I'm cycling around. 

Our first stop is the Mercado Público (Central Market), I have shown it in one of my blogs, but this time I was able to take a picture facing it and without people walking around. Even though the quality is not superb, it turned out pretty cool in my humble opinion.

Mercado Público de Pelotas (Central Market)



Frontal view of the Public Market in Pelotas

I've also shown a 'castle' that used to be Simões Lopes Neto's house, I plan to go there one day to explore. However, this time I'd like to show you this cool brass sculpture of the man himself, an amazing work done by  Léo Santana – author of the sculpture of Carlos Drummond de Andrade - located in Copacabana, in Rio de Janeiro.

For those who don't know, João Simões Lopes Neto (Pelotas, March 9, 1865 - Pelotas, June 14, 1916), was a Brazilian writer and entrepreneur. According to scholars and critics of literature, he was the greatest regional author of Rio Grande do Sul, because he sought in his literary production to value the history of the gaucho and its traditions. Simões Lopes Neto only achieved literary glory posthumously, especially after the launch of the critical edition of Contos Gauchescos and Legends of the South in 1949. Source: Wikipedia

João Simões Lopes Neto



Sculpture of João Simões Lopes Neto by artist Léo Santana.

We continued our journey to find lunch, the same old path to the beach; day was cozy and sunny, perfect for cycling. Getting to Laranjal beach the wind was pretty strong and I was surprised to se some boats competing a regatta - I wish I could have my boat now. I took the classic beach photo and headed to find a Pastel, my guts were screaming for food and my desire was for a Pastel filled with Shrimp.

Classic Beach Photo



Beautiful day in Laranjal beach.

This is when the weather's started to act kinda weird...

While I was ordering my delicious Pastel, a dense fog was forming to south-east of the lagoon, I knew it was going to rain soon due to the hot temperatures - increase in temperature and drop in pressure, 99% of the times means rain.

Where are the boats?



Not so beautiful day in Laranjal beach.

The conversation went around the weather, and the fog forming, the sun going away, winds picking up... by the time my Pastel was done, we could no longer see the water, the fog was thick. I had never seen something like that approach so fast, the temperatures immediately dropped, it also appeared to be some drops of water coming from the sky. I ate my Pastel at the club while watching Croatia vs. Denmark, what a game!

Shrimp Pastel



Big Yumm for 2 USD.

Crazy Weather Change



What the heck just happened?

Strangely enough, I've left the beach under that dense fog; lights on and let's go. This is one tip for you cyclists, always turn on your rear and front lights during fogs or rain, it'll raise awareness that you are there, for the drivers.

A few kilometers down the road and voila, no more fog... back to cristal clear skys. How to explain that? I don't know, gotta ask the poor boats on the regatta, that must have had difficulty to find the channel back to the marina.

To finish this ride I found this cool street art, that I had to stop and take a picture. I'm not a fan of drawing in other people's property without concern, but this one deserved a click.

A Arte Vai Salvar o Mundo (Art is going to save the World)



Creative street art.

This concludes another fun weekend my dear friends, not a lot of exploration this time, but yet a cool 35 km ride. Stay tunned on my blog because next week I'll explore some waterfalls with a friend, it'll be amazing with a plus - I'll take my brother's fancy Nikon camera, Woooohooo! More quality for you.

THE JUICY INFO FOR BIKE GEEKS

strava
Regular training.

Have you enjoyed seeing a bit of my city? Let me know on the comments, your feedback means a lot. Next week I'll show you some beautiful waterfalls.

I hope you've enjoyed this post. If you liked it, consider giving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Travel is never a matter of money but of courage.

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

The Usain Bolt Pose | Photo Challenge | SBD Donation

Road Trip Serie (Part III) - Visiting Rio Grande do Sul - Brazil - Welcome to Cambara do Sul

Epic Quote Challenge | The Library and Absolute Winner!

A proud member of the Steemit Travellers community:

Sort:  

Rain can be nice on a hot day but I keep forgetting it's winter down there. Great pic of an empty market. I sometimes just don't want people on my shots.

It's coooooold here, you have no idea! That shot was pure luck, especially for sunday, there's usually a flee market there.

Haha, the cold made everyone flee the flea market.

HAHAH yeah, that's what I was thinking, I've never seem bike lanes so empty as they are now.

Great report, Arthur! Somehow your writing makes me always happy :)

And that shrimp pastel.. man that stuff looks delicious! need to hunt for an recepit :D Ha!

Heeey @worldcapture
Really? I'm glad to know that my writting inspires you in some way or another! Thank you so much.

So, the Pastels are something from heaven, I love it. The only problem is finding the dough abroad, if you can find it it's pretty simple. I'll have to write a post about it, a lot of people seem to be curious hahaha.

Yeah it does :)!!

Well, i would really appreciate a post about them delicious pastels!
What Kind of flour do you use for the dough? Just normal wheat flour?

So, I'll have to check that out, because here we buy the dough ready for pastel. They come in a package with 20 if I'm not mistaken.

Muito bonita a foto do mercado de Pelotas! Gostei do rolê de bike tbm!!! Acho que uns 15 km consigo encarar na atual forma física fora de forma 🤣🤣🤣🤣. Parabéns e um abraço!


ptgram power | faça parte | grupo steemit brasil

Poxa, muito obrigado @guifaquetti, fico feliz que tenhas gostado.

É bastante raro pegar o mercado assim sem pessoas na volta, geralmente nos domingos rola uma feira de artigos usados e antigos ali na calçada. Foi uma grande surpresa quando eu vi a fachada livre de pessoas hahaha, imediatamente puxei o celular e cliquei.

Bike é assim, não pode parar. Uma vez que estiver pedalando todos os dias a distancia só aumenta e tu nem percebe.

I agree with @worldcapture....your writing has a very vibrant, carefree style and does make one want to smile. That pastel MUST be your next topic. It looks superb.

Ah man, thanks so much @themagus.

I've never imagined I would one day shift from mechanical engineer to writer. Btw Pastels on the way, tomorrow I'll try to take the photos.

Belas imagens, dá realmente vontade de conhecer. Tenho vontade de comprar uma bicicleta mas por aqui pelo menos, acho ainda muito inseguro :/

ptgram power | faça parte | grupo steemit brasil

@biogirl, bicicleta é alegria!

Estive vasculhando tua intro hahaha, tu és do Paraná? Porque achas que é inseguro?
Também vi que és Biologa, se eu te contar da viagem que estou por fazer tu infarta então! Vamos trocando idéias, vou te convencer a comprar uma bike xD

Muito obrigado pelo comentário.

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of July 4 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Oieee thank you @pixresteemer, I commented in your post in a hurry and mispelled your name, sorry again hihih

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65