The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #7. (1/4/18)

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

~~~~~~~~~~~

Cover_007.png

The Daily Whistle Stops is a curation post brought to you by @thesteemengine! This post features the best posts from our members selected by our master curator @enchantedspirit!

All of these posts were submitted in our Discord server's post-promotion channel, and have been hand picked to receive a full upvote from our group account! If you'd like to see your post featured here, simply submit it in The STEEM Engine Discord server! Not a member of The STEEM Engine initiative? Check out our intro post for more information about our group!

cws.gif

The Curator's Choices

I put this one on top because @holothewise is a very good writer. She is new on Steemit and needs some support now to get started. And besides, I don't want @sultnpapper getting a swell-head. (I made that mistake years ago with @catweasel and I have vowed to learn from that error.)

DQmZdjuYxxZBdAbkAYkjsz4BvYRNiENeBbybQjp6SwnHV3s_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

Weird animals named
after famous figures

@holothewise

cws.gif

I love pieces like this that compare cultural phenomenona. It shows a very creative mind at work ... and I can decide whether or not I agree with the author while I make some comparisons myself. (And occasionally while I stroll down Memory Lane past lots of my own memories.)

DQmYy6ATD8REcRcYqmRf5SnXZhg8fF6gnaKcT6VhPE2uLHV_1680x8400.png
Image Source

King Joffrey, Master Yoda
and Preschool teachers

@alvinauh

cws.gif

I put this one in because @zord189 is one crazy creative dude and I always love his stuff. I wish I were an artist. People who are amaze me.

U5dqqHgiE23APc7HXqAKuUSmzoQLhUL.gif

#10 Animation
The 12 Principles of Animation.
No.10 Is a SHOCKER!
You will know why. Lol

@zord189

cws.gif

I put this one in because I want to encourage @awakentolife to keep on posting. He quit for a while and I missed him so bad. I got depressed, but I doubt he cares. He's from Croatia and people there are ... different. BTW, @awakentolife, this concoction looks disgusting. I imagine it also looks disgusting coming out the other end. Nobody wants to hear about "intestinal health." Nobody. Ever. That's my tip for the day to you. Just sayin'.

The picture below still looks pretty appetizing, so I used it. But be careful if you open the post and scroll down. Consider this my warning. (Nobody bothered to give me a warning. It would have been nice.)

DQmRtYKVJdppnnJnVqenmfEB7H7hFvWtFBgf1E8j8jzK2dz.jpg

Fruits and Veggies Monday
A day for cleansing and energizing shake.

@awakentolife

cws.gif

This whole notion of cryptocurrency has the potential to revolutionize the world as we have known it for centuries. Here are the first essential baby-steps of the next step. We are witnessing a pivotal moment in human and cultural history. Remember where you learned this. I stand by this prediction!

U5dsd93J7sXi6r5S2fDqHpKB8cNC7DB_1680x8400.jpg

SteemCommerce
Businesses accepting payment in steem

@pennsif

cws.gif

And here's some more stuff to look forward to. Is this exciting, or what??

U5dqrhh7PY2oGEehFCtRvWtMr6idCuP_1680x8400.jpg

10 Major Technological Revolutions
The World Awaits in 2018

@ajmaln

cws.gif

I included this one because my American Fiction Writing professor in college had a personal story about John Irving. He was attending a writer's workshop when he was getting started ... and one of the lecturers at one of them was John Irving. He said John Irving wore a very distinctive pair of shoes ... ugly as could be, but distinctive.

So at one point, my professor found himself in the Men's Room in a stall next to John Irving. He could tell by the shoes. So ... heart beating wildly, he pulled out from his briefcase the latest short story he had written and said, "I just finished this last night. Could you read it and tell me what you think?" And then he shoved it across the floor to rest beside the pair of shoes.

John Irving picked up the manuscript and said, "Sure." And my fiction professor was so flustered by what he'd done ... actually spoken to the great John Irving, he literally ran from the Men's Room.

There are two points to this story. One: If you're famous, people will hit you up for favors in the oddest places and at the oddest times. (You can't even take a dump in peace.) Two: If you're a famous writer, people will bring you material to read while you're in "The Library." That could actually work in your favor sometimes. Just a thought.

U5dsxncWMZ5BTMUaptJfgXwS59EhZEr_1680x8400.jpg

I love the smell of books. Am I weird?
I blame authors like John Irving.

@karencarrens

cws.gif

@sultnpapper and I are beginning to think way too much alike. This is starting to scare me.

DQmT6BPEwp7evdAK8i7MBAiHup19bLCe6aGoRHRRCSv98hN.png

Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/03/18
What hand am I suppose to use? New laws that have taken effect

@sultnpapper

cws.gif

Yes, life looks different from the bottom. You stare at enough bottoms, you'll see what I mean. (Wait ... that didn't come out right.)

So, @eaglespirit has some interesting things to say about people she's met in her short Steemit journey. I subtracted points because she didn't say nearly enough about me. Still, I like the picture. It helped make up for the snub ... so here it is. You might learn something. (And maybe she said some really nice things about you.) I can still edit this out again if I have to. (Just to let her know I'm thinking about it.)

U5ds1vAVSaLWTptubQycTiSnfJ25Ed4_1680x8400.jpg

After Five Weeks on STEEMIT
From A Minnows Perspective
Shout-Outs!

@eaglespirit

cws.gif

Ok. We end on a musical note. (Imagine a nice little musical interlude to end the show. Best part of that? You can pick any genre you choose. You don't have to put up with my New Age crap.)

It's also got a very valuable little life lesson tucked away here in the middle. Thumbs up on this one. Learn it well and then just do it. I won't spoil it for you. Open the post and read it for yourself. I can't do everything for you, you know.

DQmQnYdwRSUSW8hCJAvGG8GFiRDnmZFazNxxem4qLdcwtbT.jpg

Why Do I Make Notes?
@calebleejl

cws.gif

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The STEEM Engine is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png

cws.gif

Sort:  

Thank you for the inclusion of my post.

Some really great posts here. I have enjoyed getting to know @zord189 and @sultnpapper who I hadn't visited before.

No you di’int!!! Waving my finger... LOL
Thank you for selecting my post Miss Lady, and I cant stop laughing over your wit. I adore you and your man so much. You make my day!! Funny how we were Just talking about editing this morning. Glad you liked the photo, I laid down on the train tracks for that one. xx

@enchantedspirit - I love it when you put why you picked the post. It makes me happy to see what you think of them and how they peak your interest. :) Great job to everyone in the group! :)

@enchantedspirit, I don't think I've laughed so much reading a whistle stop yet! 😂

Thanks again for the shout out 🙂

Good posts today! Happy to be a part of the STEEM Engine! Full STEEM ahead. @ironshield

@thesteemengine this post was presented at the most recent Pimp Your Post Thursday on the Steemit Ramble Discord. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

I love the turtle, @thesteemengine! Looks like another great Issue!
Resteemed and upvoted!
Cheers!

thanks for the mention! good to see familiar faces here as well @awakentolife and @zord189! glad to know we've got plenty of good content here. :)

OMG! That is a hilarious story about John Irving and your professor! I wonder if your professor ever heard from Irving?! I love it! And, thank you so much for including my post. I'm humbled and doing a happy dance! 👯👯👯

another great selection, most of which I have visited,
I found @holothewise post about the names of some things so interesting

Was honored to be including in the list of shout outs by @eaglespirit

@karencarrens and I discussed in comments that even though we like the smell and feel of real books e readers and tablets can be so convieient

Its kind of scary to think about all the laws out there and how many new ones are added each year, does a lot of good for lawyers I guess

I’m a paralegal and we barely use books anymore, its all online 🤣

yes work wise I seldom use paper in any form it’s all online

I wrote that because you mentioned lawyer above. It’s not a commonality anymore for lawyers to use paper books. Especially the younger ones.

yes I understand 😎🙏😎

Okay I know you’re pretty smart lolzzzzzz
Did you see I mentioned you in that other photo series I stole from you 😂🤣

Yes I saw that and you didn’t steal itsxa Challenge open to everyone 😎👍😎

Just giving you props and being silly 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43