Why Do I Make Notes?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

As some of you might have known, I'm a musician - both performer and teacher. I went through a music program for 3 full years to obtain my degree in classical music. In music, we're each assigned to a tutor for our major studies. For example, mine was piano, so each week I have a dedicated one-to-one slot with my professor. And if you've been to any music classes while you were young, that's about it, you play music for your teacher to correct you. It's really not that scary if you've practiced and come prepared (a bit like when you haven't been brushing your teeth/exercising as much before your next dental/doctor's appointment).

So here's some back story. When you buy music, sheets or books, they come clean with just music on them (duh!). Then when you start playing them you make 'notes', or in music we call them 'markings'. You can see the pencil markings in the music below.

Music Markings.jpg
Image source

Now here's the thing about me, be it the 'asian/chinese/family' habit in me, after I buy my music, I go photocopy them! You know why it's so genius? Because my books will still be spanking new after I'm done with them! Good resale value! Ok, I didn't come up with it, almost everyone was doing that in college. So what we did was we played from a clear file holder!

Clear File Holder.jpg
Image source

Brilliant right?

Now the problem comes when as I'm playing through my piece, my professor wants to make a music marking. I seriously wonder if I was the first 'genius' to do all that, photocopying and putting my music into a clear file holder (mind you I still own the original so no piracy there, and no distribution either), because at first he attempted to quickly pull out my music and write on it. And you know how the plastic is designed to protect its content, so the paper doesn't slip off. And my file was those fancy ''refillable ones' where you can easily tear off a page. Everything as I was halfway through my music! Imagine someone fumbling over your notes as you're giving a presentation.

Anyways, my professor gave up. He waited till I was done, I forgot was it till I played to the end of the piece or I stopped due to all the commotion, and told me to write down the music markings. So the conversation went like this.

Professor: "How do you expect me to write when you have your music in the clear file holder?"
Caleb: "Sorry sir."

As I proceeded to take out my music, he continued to rant about why on earth do we photocopy when we've already spent money on the original. Then came a thinly veiled threat that he might forget what he need to jot down by the time I was done with the song. So as 'punishment' he said this.

Professor: "Now you have to do the markings. On page 'x' bar 'y' I need you to do this."
Caleb: "Ok I'll remember sir."

I nodded my head in total agreement. But I had no idea why I didn't pick up the pencil and write down. I guess I was 'genius' back then. I could remember everything.

Professor: "Why aren't you writing it down?"
Caleb: "Because I remember it already sir."

My professor be like fuming inside. I still had no idea what kind of trouble I was getting myself itself into.

Angry Professor.png
Image source

Then he said something that stuck with me until today.

Professor: "That's the magical thing about writing something down. It is when you've written it down, you realise you don't need it anymore. But as long as you don't, you need to write it down."

Ok. I'm paraphrasing but I'm sure you get the gist. It's like the ultimate irony.

jackie-chan-meme-1024x600.jpg
Image source

I was stunned there on my piano bench. Still haven't picked up my pencil to write down the markings.

Over the years I've discovered the truth in that statement, and in turn passed down this nugget of wisdom down to my students. And if you want to know, from that class onwards, throughout my entire music program, I take out my photocopied music out of my clear file holder before my class. ;)

670x400-SCP-Cookie-Cloud.jpg.png
Image source

P.S. actually all I was planning to do was to sit down and write my new year's resolution on a quiet afternoon. one thing led to another. I guess that has got to wait. :p


APP.png

Sort:  

I am definitely no musicians like you. But, I always have a passion for music. I insisted on learning guitar by myself, knowing I make mistakes and trying to improve it. It has been a long way for me to practice and to perfect it but, I am glad that I made it with my persistence!

As I know the best was, everything is better coming from heart! I am proud of you Caleb, keep what you're doing!

it's cool that you managed to pick up the instrument by yourself! keep playing and make more videos. you have a sweet voice. :)

Same here, pick up guitar and ukulele by myself hence only "half-pail-full" if you get the meaning. Only attended real music class which is for organ that was when i was young. So my keyboard skill also so-so only. Anyway totally love music and singing. Caleb, I am also proud of you and your wife and your son :)

thanks for your encouragement @iamjadeline. sorry I just saw this as it wasn't in my replies notification. hope to see one of your covers someday. I know with the kids might not be easy but who knows they might be the star in your video! :)

Always nice to fall back on music

yes it is. and what's awesome is that music is for everyone! :)

Whoaa... I wish I'm good at music...

hahaha! we all have our own niche. you've put yours to great use man! :)

So true. My teacher in piano used to give me a music notebook, with the staff and all. But I insisted on remembering purely by memory. Now i forgot how to play it.

hahaha! it's always not to late to pick it up again! I've got students who are well into their 40s and persevering :)

Nice post. I haven't been in a music class but I totally get your point just like when I was having a private home clinic. Just you and your tutor.
About what he said, happens to me quite a lot whenever I go 'easy, I'll easily remember this without writing' then I end up hating my self that night when trying to revise.
Nice post. Thanks for sharing

hahaha! exactly! it happened at school for me as well but what my professor really stuck with me! oh well. now I'm the one nagging. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @calebleejl to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post brings back memories! My teacher used to circle out the sections I needed to pay attention to but they were not originals. I can't bear to write on my other original copies too :D

hahaha! there's this thing about keeping things in mint condition. worst case for me so far is keeping the plastic on the backseats of your car! ;)

lol, so it started with a new year resolution, my guess is those memories came flashing back right? Even in classes these days, most students use their phone to take pictures of the ppts in class as notes. But our professor still encouraged us to write them down, claiming the traditional way boost the thinking part of the brain, to which i agreed. Nothing better than writing and noting it down, like what you did to your music notes =)

hahaha! well I was just trying to think how to start it off, and yes, those words came ringing in my ears. I'm not that young to bring laptops to school or perhaps it's the course I took. Nowadays I heard everyone can share and update notes on the spot using Google documents! that's so genius!

I'm not a musician, but this statement rings true for so many things in life.

"That's the magical thing about writing something down. It is when you've written it down, you realise you don't need it anymore. But as long as you don't, you need to write it down."

thanks for visiting! it does apply to many areas in life! especially when I do groceries with my wife :p

Congratulations @calebleejl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44