Fruits and Veggies Monday - A day for cleansing and energizing shake.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Re-energizing myself for 2018.

I have been away for awhile, but I am back to participating to one of my favorite challenges on Steemit led by amazing friend Lena. So today I will be sharing one of the cleansing recipes I use to clean my body when I feel like I have not been really sticking to my vegetarian-vegan diet. I am no nutritionist or a doctor of any kind and all I have is the experience from my body. This works for me, and I feel better after I drink it. Will it have the same effect on your body I don't know? Only you can find that out.

2018-01-02-13-00-26.jpg

Ingredients

So let's get started. These are the ingredients you are going to need for this cleansing shake:

This is what I used today, but I change it up each time. But, some ingredients are always part of the recipe. With a plus sign next to it I use every time.

  • Avocado - Great source of healthy fats.
  • Orange + - Vitamin C
  • Lemons + - Vitamin C
  • Radishes - Amazing anti-oxidant
  • Carrots + - Vitamins
  • Goji berries + - Full of everything
  • Chia Seeds + - Full of everything
  • Flax seeds + - Amazing for cleaning intestinal tract
  • Cinamon + - Anti-oxidant, Speeds up metabolism
  • Pulverized or fresh Ginger + Amazing anti-inflammatory properties

Try to buy organic fruits and veggies. As you are eating raw ingredients.
You can add whatever you like: spinach, bananas( I use a lot), cabbage, kiwi, almonds(presoaked), coconut oil, strawberries...
Nutritional info is based on my own learning over the years. But you can do your own research.

The ingredients with plus sign are always in there. It is the base for every one of my shakes. It feeds my body with everything I need. The abundance of vitamins, and minerals, healthy fats, anti-oxidants, and protein. Plant power at its best. I remember how worried I was about protein intake when I became vegetarian. Everybody was saying I will lose weight and all my muscles. Only to realize plants have more than enough protein to maintain my muscles and supply me with enough energy to go through 2 basketball practices a day, and still have the energy to write some posts for Steemit. Plant power all the way. If I would get into other benefits I could write all day really. But, that is a subject for another post.

Preparation

  • Cut the veggies and avocado into small pieces
  • Squeeze the lemon and oranges
  • Soak the flax, chia, and goji berries in the lemon and orange juice for 10-15min.
  • Dump it all into to the blender.
  • Add the cinnamon and ginger( watch the amount of ginger as too much can create intestinal discomfort.)
    < I go with 1/2 teaspoon of each.
  • Add water to your liking.
  • Turn on the blender. Mix about 3-4 min.

I have a cheap 20 E blender and it works great for me for this kind of shakes. No need for a few hundred euros or dollars blenders.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (3).gif

Finishing it up.

Once it is all blended up nicely you can store or in a shaker or a plastic bottle. The choice is yours. I use the 1.5l plastic bottle. Usually, I add enough water to fill the entire 2l or 1.5l bottle. This is the only thing I "eat-drink" all day. Plus I drink additional water. Don't drink all at once. I take sips everytime I feel hungry throughout the entire day. Spread it out. The first time you do this it will be challenging mentally, but it gets much easier each time because the benefits for me are amazing. And depending on the state of your body cleansing can create little intestinal discomfort. Which is normal. Perosnally my body is used to it and I have no problems whatsoever. I believe it all depends in what kind of a state your body is right now. But jet again I am not a doctor or nutritionist. Just speaking from my personal experiences.

2018-01-02-13-01-12.jpg

I know.. I know.. It does not look so tasty.. lol But it is.. O well depending on your choice of ingredients. Not trying to discourage you here, but pick wisely. lol

This kind of mixture works wonders for me as I get lazy with cooking sometimes and I eat in restaurants or with my teammates. They eat a lot of bread and pasta in Italy. I mean a lot guys. Sometimes I think it is all they eat.lol It slows down my intestinal tract normal function and I can feel it. Plus I get sluggish and tired. So this is what I do to get me back on track. Even though I am pretty good at eating healthy, I do slip sometimes. But when I am consistent with my diet every morning I have a little veggie and fruit shake with main ingredients with a + sign. Of course, with less volume of ingredients. It is all about finding what works best for you.

So that is about it, my friends. I actually drank this today after the Christmas and New Year food feast here in Italy to clean my body, and take an energized step in 2018. Our second part of the basketball season starts with a home game on Sunday and I excited to start it back again. Again, guys, I am not a nutritionist. All I have is my 15-year experience of trying many diets and learning about nutrition on my own. As a professional basketball player nutrition plays a big part in my success on the court. No matter who you are and what you do in life having a proper diet plays a big part in having a good life. I will leave you with one of my original quotes:

"When your body fails you, it is usually to a fact you have failed your body first. Take care of your body, and your body will take care of you when you need it the most."

P.S I am not going to lie. You might end up going to the toilet couple of times in a day when the cleansing kicks in. lol

Thank you for reading, have an amazing day, much love,

dbjegovic

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

Sort:  

Absolutely going to try this tomorrow :D

I'll let you know how it goes

Awesome. Experiment with the ingredients. Find the taste you like and go for it. Looking forward hearing back from you :) . :)

hey man! what's it taste like? hahaha! love your quote at the end. how we should treat our body right :)

Mine actually tasted great. Even though it looked like something scooped up from a sewer. hehe lol

When I was on TSU my profile was all about fitness, exercising, and my original quotes. I have over 150 original quotes saved on my phone. I might start posting my exercise programs again and motivation to go with it. I am glad you like the quote.

Thank you for reading. Have an amazing day. :)

hahaha! the taste is a bonus ;)

you have 150 original quotes?! wow! I'll looking out for them. :)

If I start my fitness posts you are going to see them a lot. I actually posted some of them before. You can find them on my profile if you look little farther down. :)

Actually this looks like an inspiring combination. I might go dig around in the fridge and produce something like this!

haha that is actually what I do sometimes. But, I am always stacked with the main ingredients. The rest is what I find. hehe :)

I am so glad to see you participating again Durko.....good jump to 2018 with FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY.

Your information on nutrition is always right on with sound advice. Thank you so much for this wonderful entry and good luck 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

PS: your teammates are bad influence.......I could see that on Instagram, lol

One of my New Year Resolutions is to get way more active on here and to participate in this amazing healthy challenge every Monday. If I miss one I'll have to punish myself with Canolli. lol

Wait wait that is not even a punishment. Canolli are delicious. :P Anyways, I will figure some kind of punishment for sure. :)

Good to be back participating again. Thank you for a warm welcome back message. Have an amazing day, my amazing friend. XOXO

PS: You are absolutely right. I need to ditch them and just show up for the games. lolol :)

I love shakes too.

I have recently started adding organic Maca powder to mine too. Have you tried Maca - I think it does some good.

Personally, I have not tried it, but I heard it is amazing for your body. Might have to look into buying and trying it out. I am always open to trying things which can benefit my body.

Thanks for the idea. Have an amazing day. :)

I believe it has helped give me more energy... but it is hard to say if it is just the Maca.

I am sure it did with a combination of everything else. No matter what it is all that matters is that you have more energy and feel better. :)

Thank you for sharing this cleansing recipe. I try to add in flax and chia seeds when I am cooking. I can definitely use some Vitamin C as I am getting over an air virus that caught my family and I am feeling so weak. I still have to learn to get over all the pulp that’s in these blended drinks. Sometimes I do okay with it then other days I can’t shake it. We have a Bullet and it usually chops the fruit and veggies up pretty nicely.

Why don't you just squeeze the juice out and don't put the pulp in your shake? That is actually what I do every time as it can get thick and hard to consume if you put a lot of ingredients with pulp in there.

I see so many people around me in this past week with flu, bad stomach, colds... It is strange it happened all around the world at the same time. It makes me think how is this possible?

Bullet sure does do a good job. Some of my friends have it. But, just make you put more juicy stuff in there to make it more watery and easier to drink. I always add water to my shakes. :)

Thank you for a great comment. I hope you and your family feel better very soon. Have an amazing day. :)

It’s funny you say that because at first I was doing just that. I would drain the juice and leave the pulp. I was challenged by my husband to leave the pulp in because of all the nutrients in there and it would help me get over this virus quicker. Hey I’ve done that enough lol. I think I’m going to go back to draining the juices for awhile in order to get it in my system.

I use water too and sometimes orange juice as well. Yes I always think it’s strange how everyone all over the world catches the “same” virus. Hmmmmm maybe chem trails? I don’t think it’s coincidence.

Thanks so much for your advive! You have an amazing day as well :)

hehe you go, girl. lol Time for some straight up juice. If your husband like the pulp squeeze the juice and let him deal with the pulp. lol Jk

The virus catching all around the world is one topic which should spark some interest with people. But, very few actually question it. Actually, I posted the post after this going a little bit into this subject. I did not write about chem trails, but for the ones who know what they are looking at the picture I posted explains it all. :)

Thank you for another amazing comment. Enjoyed it. :)

Haa!!! That’s hilarious! I told him that too. He can chuck it down like nothing so I’ll let him enjoy it lol!

Yes I don’t think it’s coincidence how everyone got sick as soon as the New Year hit. I know so many people think chem trails and government experiments are conspiracy theory but they better wake up and realize this stuff is very real. As soon as we stepped outside it seemed to slowly attack us.

Thank you for your replies, I’ve enjoyed reading them as well :)

Well, he is a pulp eating machine then.. hehe :)

Very strange "coincidence" indeed. Very strange... And, like you, I believe it is very real. People ignore them but the evidence is there in front of your eyes.

Thank you for the amazing comments. Enjoyed replying. Have an amazing day back to only juice lady. :) lol

Lol yes he is!!! He knows how to chuck it down without tasting it I guess lol!

Yes people tend to ignore the evidence that is right in front of them.

Lol yes back to juice only :D

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #7 (1/4/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

I'm going to eat an apple.

LOL! Why complicate things right?

True. I ended up eating a granola bar, cornbread and rice.

lol An apple is a good start no doubt.

i like. Wow amazing friend ... New year, make new changes. hopefully more successful.This news and information is all I need.

Thank you, my friend. Glad you find the information useful. Have a great day :)

I really have to start going back into this again. I gained 2.5kg from all the party food (and my housemate's farewell food) and now my knees are killing me. So it is really time to start healthy food again.

You probably did not gain any real weight. Just need to kick-start your metabolism to kick it all out. I am sure if you start getting back to healthy stuff it will wash off very fast. :)

Now don't make me make you go to the store tomorrow and buy some healthy food. lol Trust me don't make me.. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42