The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #11. (1/8/18)

in #curation6 years ago

~~~~~~~~~~~

Cover_011.png

The Daily Whistle Stops is a curation post brought to you by @thesteemengine! This post features the best posts from our members selected by our master curator @enchantedspirit!

All of these posts were submitted in our Discord server's post-promotion channel, and have been hand picked to receive a full upvote from our group account! If you'd like to see your post featured here, simply submit it in The STEEM Engine Discord server! Not a member of The STEEM Engine initiative? Check out our intro post for more information about our group!

cws.gif

The Curator's Choices

Man, @awakentolife and I are so on the same page here I don't dare say much for fear I'll get us both in trouble. So, let me say just as calmly as I can ... your health is your responsibility. Be careful what you put in your body, especially if it is essentially nothing but man-made chemicals.

This goes for food, over-the-counter medicine and any sort of drug ... prescription and the other kind. You have to live in that body, and as far as I'm concerned now, Big Pharma -- the drug industry world-wide -- sees you as nothing but a walking cash register for them. Be aware. Be responsible. Be healthy. Be informed.

DQmZxkETQ53SULRcihT12QqATrf6A9YjPhrLEa2KieY5e5T_1680x8400.png

My Life's Journey
Sometimes people just don't make sense
Health controversy

@awakentolife

cws.gif

@mountainwashere takes up the subject of the human-caused extinction now facing vast numbers of species that presently share Planet Earth. As long as it's "somebody else's problem," we don't seem to take much notice. But we are poisoning our own home planet with our irresponsible, profit-driven behavior. Sooner rather than later, this will become our problem.

We are the ones who can fix it ... and we need to start yesterday. The same advice I just gave above applies here, too. Be aware. Be responsible. Be healthy. Be informed. Profit-driven corporations world-wide are not acting in any best interests other than their own. They are certainly not acting in yours. There are a ton of links in this post to other pieces of reading material on the subject. Open a few of them.

U5dtgVjiQ6MzEhE4KYfLT35nQHkPtfb_1680x8400.png
Image Source

The Holocene Extinction Part 1
Death by Human

@mountainwashere

cws.gif

I have visited the Great Salt Lake several times. The first time when I was a child, they would actually let you wade and swim in part of it. The mineral content was so heavy you couldn't sink. I don't remember this awful smell from that trip. But I was about 7 years old!!

I saw it again about 25 years ago ... and nobody would want to step into that muck. And @eaglespirit is right about the smell. It's horrific. I don't even want to imagine what it's like today. It had a desolate, almost evil feel to it back then, so if you go (because your curiosity gets the best of you ... or you're some kind of masochist) ... just be prepared. Take our word for it ... it's "memorable."

U5dsi8e3YKcHbC61W9wF45Gw7rwLCmo_1680x8400.jpg

Great Salt Lake
@eaglespirit

cws.gif

Well, I sold Girl Scout cookies myself, back in the days of my wasted youth, when going door-to-door and talking to strangers wasn't considered dangerous. Back in my day, these cookies came in two flavors -- both in the same box. A chocolate cookie kind and a vanilla cookie kind and they were kind of like Oreos ... which I can't stand. But these were pretty good -- and each Girl Scout had a sales quota to make for the troop. It was like a contest for the common good, and I could really get into that!

Through the years, the cookie quality has improved a lot. I actually look forward to some of them. My oldest and best friend who lives in Florida sends me her Girl Scout cookie purchases each year so she isn't tempted to eat them. So now, The Weasel eats them. I can't even say this is his act to help the suffering of the world ... because, as noted, the cookies are pretty good. They disappear fast.

DQmT6BPEwp7evdAK8i7MBAiHup19bLCe6aGoRHRRCSv98hN.png

Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/07/18
It is that time of year again ... got milk?

@sultnpapper

cws.gif

I wish I were more interested in money -- but I'm not. I know it's an important part of life. I just don't care. At another point in my wasted youth I was a supervisor at Telco ... the telephone company credit union in Phoenix. It was my first job out of college. It didn't have one thing to do with either of my majors. It paid the bills for a while. That was enough for me. Don't ask my opinion of the financial world and banking industry today. You will learn some new words.

@catweasel -- that old Weasel I married -- said this is a pretty good article. I'll take his word for that. So in case it interests you, here it is. I leave that all to him. I know there is a revolution brewing in the way we deal with commerce world-wide. I know this from my studies in other subjects. This is not one bit surprising to me.

Fasten your seatbelts, everybody. Life is going to change. This is part of it. @fknmayhem is right. Not just for his name, but as a comment on the future.

U5dspFJmrPyER71Ap8B9Q4f59z9o8nd_1680x8400.png

Decentralized Banking Is Not
A Dream Anymore but is Actually Happening

@fknmayhem

cws.gif

Here's another glimpse into our changing world. This is starting to feel like today's theme for The Daily Whistle Stops is "science fiction becomes science fact." If you live as long as I have, you start to understand ... it works that way.

U5ds7xV4xKUryBYsFwara4B9xBzmoqk_1680x8400.jpg

My Very Important Open Letter To Elon Musk
I'd Like to Steal Your Idea

@penston

cws.gif

More, more, more!! See why it's an exciting time to be alive! Man, I love this group.

DQmRhBDfQKMpgHLCj7cuk2zjx8XRfGE2kZq2ad567135NXX_1680x8400.png

Every second car sell in Norway
is an electric car or a hybrid

@kobusu

cws.gif

Hey, @mountainwashere!! You've got competition. Or a colleague and companion, however you want to look at it. The rest of us have a second source when we need our science-y fix on rocks and stuff. (Love this picture below!!)

DQmfCcsFioKy6nQHghpSACXQvD5uB3hTChX9YFKQFxTCwi8_1680x8400.png

Geological Survey:
Accretion in the Marin Headlands
of the San Francisco Bay Area

@keephy

cws.gif

And let's not forget @mitneb is still on the job helping new Steemians get started. So drop her effort a few extra upvotes from time to time, ok? Remember she's helping insure our future. (Hey, @mitneb ... you've got rewards to collect there, girl. Power up!!)

DQmU38vYGFgCduQTAT4hbSPT9afCvE2Vqr5zAhw5CxWNp9H_1680x8400.png
Image Source

The @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report
06 JAN 2018

@mitneb

cws.gif

Ok, let's take a quick trip through a foreign land and then get ready to quit for the day. I'm getting hungry and I bet you are, too. (We're gonna lead off with a post tomorrow that will make you hungry from the start. You might want to bring a snack along while you read, ok?)

U5drtzGnY9d5SV6LA4DrMDJ7F5Xu6N8_1680x8400.jpg

Don't travel with me series #8 Vietnam
Nha Trang & Hon Ba

@pibyk

cws.gif

Arts and Culture
Art, crafts, photography, cultural attractions,
food, travel, customs, special interests

Yeah, we need something really pretty before we go. How about this?

U5duCnaMJ3r7sN3P7JA43xcY9BAoga2_1680x8400.jpg

The Manhattan Bridge
@tattoodjay

cws.gif

The Playground
Games, contests, puzzles, quizes,
entertainment, hobbies and leisure

And now it's time for games. Until next time ... be good, have fun, stay safe. And as Duro always says ... @awakentolife!!!

DQmeAVG6k8qEFF7TWxxBPiufq6VX67V9v8oXEKmUoFvByg3.jpg
Image Source

FORCES OF FREEDOM, EARLY ACCESS
ANDRIOD OS REVIEW

@tfame3865

cws.gif

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The STEEM Engine is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png

cws.gif

Sort:  

glad to see the return of the best curation post commentary on steemit! ;) Nice picks today!

I am not able to post or upvote on any steemit post, every time I am getting this error.

image

Can anyone help me in resolving this error I will be really thankful.

Hi. This issue is because your held STEEM power is lower than the allowed threshold for any account. You need to have at least 30 SP to be able to cast a vote. You may remedy this by powering up more STEEM.

A great selection and thanks for including mine 😎

Great New Issue. Has Been a Pleasure Reading it. :P Keep the train steeming guys. God Bless.

Great curated posts!

Got my reading material set for the day :)

I love all these selections. Thank you for your encouragement, support, and confidence. xx

Thanks so much, @thesteemengine for doing such a great job curating these articles, and providing such a great service to people on this platform.

And thanks for including my Curation Trail Project Daily Report in this new Issue. I really appreciate it, and I love your encouragement!

I have upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my curation trail daily post promotions. This curation article will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Daily Report for 08 JAN 2018.

Cheers!

Thanks for including me, and glad to see descriptions are back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73