Wednesday Ramble Through Steemit -- Notes On My Favourite Reads Sept. 7th

in #curation8 years ago

Breaking news! I passed 100 followers today… now back to the start. 

Dawn is just breaking as I start writing on this fifth day of my thirty day challenge to write notes on my favourite reads on Steemit. My cats, Dawn and Fawnya, are fed and laying quietly nearby as my coffee finishes brewing. I’ll soon have cup in hand and will be starting my reading. 

While I was reading last night I peeked into the chat channels and opened some posts to start with this morning. So, I have 15 posts open to start. 


A Tribute to Snail Mail

@donkeypong has written an excellent post about snail mail. He’s explored its origins and development as well as the important part it has played in our lives throughout history. He’s right in that much of the importance of snail mail has given way to the speed of electronic mail online. 

I used to pick up a pension check from the post office which gave me a reason to go to there once a month. When Canada Post was threatening once again to go on strike this summer, I had that switched to automatic deposit. Family and friends have been known to message me to tell me to pick up mail if they mail me something. 

It’s Raining!!

It’s been a very dry summer in my part of the world. I’m hearing rain outside right now. That wasn’t forecast but it sure is welcome. I hope it keeps up for a few hours but that would surprise me if it did. The actual forecast for today is high heat with a risk of thunderstorms. More coffee and back to reading with the lovely sound of rain falling in the background. 


Microsoft Wants to Dominate Blockchain Business

@mrosenquist writes about Microsoft’s efforts to become part of building blockchain infrastructure. While the average netizen doesn’t know or understand what blockchain technology is, it’s becoming increasingly clear we’re going to be hearing a lot more about it in the future. 

I can remember the days when I would talk to people about the web and websites. I’d enthuse about their potential and how I thought they would change how we think, work and act. People would look at me with a bemused look and nod. Now they are using the web and not thinking twice about it. Blockchain’s day is coming. 


An epic classroom shot that went viral and an important lesson in content rights (currently being ignored by most Steemit users)

@wadepaterson lays out a well developed post about the use of copyrighted material on your Steemit posts. Just because you cite the source, that doesn’t get you off the hook when it comes to copyright issues. I usually use stock photos from sites where I can use them without issues. There are lots of sites around. 


The Mysterious Statue : IR Photography

It’s not often that I look at photographic posts but this one caught my eye. Umm.. no pun intended. I’m glad it did. @thecryptofiend took some really great shots here and if you read the comments you’ll learn more about this unusual statue. 


The unshakable faith in happy future for the disabled or how to become independent in spite of the limited possibilities

@fiona777 has written a very inspiring introductory post. She’s from the Ukraine, born with a physical disability she’s known struggle all her life yet she’s able to appreciate the beauty in the world around her. There are some lovely photos and photos of her sketches in this post. She dreams of coming to Canada, pursue your dream @fiona777


#22KILL 22 Push-ups for 22 Days - Raising awareness for Veteran Suicide through Steemit [Day 4]

Yes, I know I posted about this project yesterday. I also was pretty clear I will do what I can to support this project. As of today, @senseiteekay has donated about $61 to 22KILL from the proceeds of the three previous posts. So, give his Day 4 post some upvote luv please. 

Break Time 

I just finished my third cup of coffee, added 10 links to my reading queue from my Facebook Steem groups and now I need to take a break. I need to head over to the branch to do yesterday’s paperwork and sign this week’s cheques the bookkeeper prepared yesterday. I have another 24 links open waiting for my return. 

Wow, that has got really hot and humid out there. I fired up the AC before I went out as the cats seemed to showing signs of discomfort. The house felt a bit humid but I suspect they were sensing the steambath outside. We've had a hot summer but not sure I've felt as much humidity so early in the day as I did today. 

Back to reading. 


What would happen if the Nazis won the WWII? (Featuring @infinitor as author)

@dragonslayer109 has featured @infinitor who has written an interesting piece about what the world might be like had the Nazi’s had won WW2. He’s reference the book “The Man in the High Castle”. I saw the series by the same name but haven’t yet read the book. The series was very interesting portrayal of how the world might have looked. 


9 ways to cool Spicy Food mouth burn - including non-dairy ways

@incomemonthly has written a brief post about ways to cut the heat when eating spicy food. I usually avoid spicy even though I know that it can help to stimulate the metabolism. This is helpful information to have. 


Motivation And Your Personal Vision An Unbeatable Force

@jelloducky has written a beautiful piece here on the synergy between vision and motivation. Very inspiring. 


Dealing With Loss

@naquoya has written a beautiful, well developed piece on dealing with loss. We all experience loss in our life. Whether it is someone or something, loss is painful. It can also be a time for growth and insight if we give ourself a chance to experience it. 


Original Fiction: The Anarchist's Almanac

@markrmorrisjr is a writer who I’ve been noticing on Steemit for a while now. He sees to be making his mark with original fiction. I started reading The Anarchist Almanac and am taking the time today to share links to the first nine episodes. If you enjoy the read, I suggest you follow @markrmorrisjr and watch for more of his work. 

Episode 1           Episode 2          Episode 3          Episode 4          Episode 5          Episode 6

Episode 7          Episode 8          Episode 9

100 Followers 

Oh cool, I just looked at my blog and saw that I have hit 100 followers today. I’m really feel like I’m making some progress. That is great inspiration to keep going on my 30 day challenge of sharing my favourite reads. 

A few more links to have a look at and I’ll wrap up today’s ramble. 


I did something that will actually benefit me.

@karenb54 popped up in the comments of one of my rambles. I noticed this post from her today and I am glad I did. She wrote a very honest and straightforward post about the struggle of going from able-bodied to less-abled and how hard it is to accept the limitations attached to the change. Not to spoil the story but she succeeded! :) 


5 ways to realize your dreams

@jelloducky wrote a piece up above about the synergy between vision and motivation. @kalipo has written a piece here about 5 ways to turn dreams into reality. They are all related. Just saying :) 


So that’s a wrap of my fifth day of my 30-day challenge to write notes about my favourite reads that I discover every day. Please don't forget to upvote when you visit the links. A comment wouldn't hurt either. 

I should actually be attending a meeting right now but I want to get this post done and up. Hopefully someone will brief me on what happens at the meeting later. 

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post. 

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile 

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, just sign up here

Sort:  

Great post. Thanks for the shout out and thanks for highlighting the sadly neglected introduction from @fiona777 - that really deserved more attention.

I agree.. I thought she wrote a great piece with a lot of raw honesty. Don't know if it is fit but I just posted it in the Robinhoodwhale-links channel... hope it helps.

Thank you for the mention and now you have another follower, I look forward to reading more of your post. Stupid me I Am already a follower. Brain fog

I often have to look to make sure I'm a follower too :)

Its hard to keep up or its my age slowing me down lol

age is just a number. Lot of data to take in most days.

Thanks for the share! I really appreciate it, and more than that, I am glad you are enjoying my stories. That means a lot. Thanks!

Well, I don't normally draw towards science fiction but you have a way of pulling the reader in, so well done to you.

Thanks, I just try to tell the best story I can, whatever the genre.

Nicely curated! Very organized. Keep it up.

thank you @mrosenquist, I'm shooting for 30 days but by then it will likely be a habit and need to be fed :)

Thanks for the inclusion @shadowspub, I feel honoured to have been included in such lofty company! Some excellent reads here, well written and presented article.

thank you @naquoya .. there is some great material to read on the site. Some of it needs some extra attention to be noticed. I'll do what I can.

And your efforts to share your finds and help others find these hidden articles is appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65181.06
ETH 3405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48