9 ways to cool Spicy Food mouth burn - including non-dairy ways

in #food8 years ago

I've been trying to cut dairy from my diet but milk has been my go to when eating spicy food because it does cut the burning sensation. Garlic is something I really love but if I don't have milk then I get massive burning pains in my stomach. So I was looking for alternative and here is a list of options including dairy and non-dairy things you can try.

Most spicy food contains capsaicin which triggers the heat sensation and using just water only spreads the capsaicin around. Ideally, you need a fat loving compound like milk which has casein which binds with spicy capsaicin oil to help wash it away. But there are alternatives that can help cut down on the spice to continue burning for a long time.

  1. Milk - the more the fat content the better for stopping the burning because the protein casein will break up the capsaicin.

  2. Starchy Foods - Breads, rice, tortillas, and potatoes can help to absorb some of the stinging pain and creates a barrier between your mouth and the capsaicin.

  3. Sugar - Putting a spoonful of sugar in your mouth and letting it sit for awhile before swallowing or spitting out can also help.

  4. Honey - Same idea as sugar with putting a spoonful in the mouth to coat the tongue. Waiting for a bit and then swallow or spit it out.

  5. Peanut butter - Another way to coat your tongue is to put on some peanut butter. And after letting it sit for a little while then decided whether to eat it or spit it out.

  6. Lemon or Lime - The acid in these fruit can help neutralize some of the capsaicin which is alkaline.

  7. Avocados / Bananas - these both have a creamy texture and taste which can help offset the burning sensation.

  8. Other Dairy - Here are some examples - Sour cream, butter, cottage cheese, and ice cream. I've use yogurt mixed into the Indian biryani rice dish after my buddy showed me that's how to keep the burn down.

  9. Other Acidic Foods - Some ideas are tomato based foods, oranges, pineapples, and other citrus.

If you are stuck for options, you can try putting warm water in your mouth to swish around and spit out to try to remove some of the spices from your tongue.

So I'm going to have spicy food with friends this coming weekend, so I'm going to try some of these alternatives to dairy. But I'm nervous so I'm going to go slow and steady. Because I love spicy foods but they don't love me at all.

Sort:  

hi @incomemonthly - just dropped back by to let you know that this post was one of my favourite reads today. I blogged about it here: https://steemit.com/curation/@shadowspub/wednesday-ramble-through-steemit-notes-on-my-favourite-reads-sept-7th

even thought I know that some spicy foods can be good for stimulating the metabolism, I generally shy away from them. This is good information to have. Thank you

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Interesting @incomemonthly! I knew about milk and starchy foods but I never thought about sugar, honey and/or citrus fruits. I’ll give it a try soon because I love spicy food too. Curious to see if it works... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74