I did something that will actually benefit me.

in #disabled8 years ago

Being disabled has changed my life so much, Its taken over my life and stopped me from living. I have found doing things have been 10 x harder so I stopped doing a lot. I stopped going out as I hated being seen as if I was struggling.
I did gymnastics, I could do everything and anything I wanted then bang one wrong move or Jump and my whole life changes for the worst.

Living with a disability is hard to do, you don't know what you have lost until you can't use it and boy did I get a shock. I still tried to work but had to constantly take time of for operations and Dr's appointments or weeks on the sick because my Knee had given way. The Dr told me it was never going to get better there will always be a weakness.

My last job I worked as Manager of a well known health shop in Newcastle, I had a great position with lots of chances of promotion.

THIS WAS ME TELLING MY STAFF TO GET BACK TO WORK

ME HIDING, HATED MY PICTURE TAKEN

Going from this to not being able to walk is so hard to adjust too, I have decided to hide myself away then I haven't got to here peoples questions or anyone feeling sorry for me. Even going shopping is so difficult, walking around the store hanging onto a trolley for 20 minutes just so I can get out of the house.

WELL TODAY I DID SOMETHING DIFFERENT

I went to the information desk at Asda and asked how I use the mobility trolleys, My stomach was churning dreading to think about being seen using one. I had to swallow my pride and go ahead using it. My hubby pushed the trolley around whilst I used the electric trolley. I got around the shop a lot easier without want to cry in pain. I got my shopping done without knocking any over or Knocking displays over.

I did it, I did something for myself

ME IN THE ELECTRIC TROLLEY

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

Fantastic!! Well done Karen, So proud of you :) x

Thanlk you. I've made the first move :)

You Do What You Gotta Do

WTG Karen, I hope it hlps you get out more and stop hiding in the house. xx

It was only the trolleys that the supermarket let you use to go around the shop BUT it was a massive move on my part xx

I can understand it being a massive thing for you to do, and i hope you are feeling very proud of yourself for taking the leap.

I am very proud of myself. I look like a massive whale driving a electric buggy but got through the shopping without being in agony

What a cool story! Reading about your disability makes me think that sometimes when I find myself being "forced" to hold the baby when I really need to accomplish something that takes both hands, I kind of feel temporarily disabled. Next time that happens (probably later today LOL), I'm going to think about you and other people who actually feel that way all the time and pray for you all. I can put the baby down and I get all my mobility back instantly, plus the baby will grow up. But you live with this 24/7.

When I was still pregnant with Baby, I was in a lot of pain in the last month or so. Walking was hard for that reason. One time I went to Sam's Club to run a quick errand, and as I'm slowly walking in, I saw the mobile shopping cart, and it suddenly dawned on me that right then, I was the reason those carts exist. I got on one, and tried it out. I think I may have asked the associate to show me how to work it. Anyway, it was so much fun! I could get around the store easily and pain free. Now I can walk just fine, but I think at that time I was less than a week away from giving birth.

Its hard adjusting from being able bodied to disabled, losing the use of my legs has been a massive change to my life. I am considering buying a mobility scooter so I can get myself out more, this is a massive step for me

Maybe you can get it painted in a cool design. I once read a post where an artist painted a little girl's wheelchair to look like the Batmobile, and really made her day :)

I'm going to buy myself my own scooter this was the supermarkets. I'm going to get mine jazzed up to reflect the real me :)

You go girl (but not too fast on that)!!

I am so glad it didn't go fast or I think I might have jumped off lol kept putting my good leg down to so haha thought i was on a bike

Owo !!!!well done!!!I feel so proud of you!!!!
One step at the time and before you know it you will be completely independed!!!!

That's the way I am heading. full steem ahead lol thank you

oops
button blasted
Life Takes So Many twists and turns
Keep on steemin

Thank you :)

hi @karenb54 - just dropped by to let you know that this post was one of my favourite reads today. I blogged about it here: https://steemit.com/curation/@shadowspub/wednesday-ramble-through-steemit-notes-on-my-favourite-reads-sept-7th

I really respect the grit you showed in doing what you had to do even when it was hard.

Thank you so much that means alot and I appreciate you coming to tell me :)

So sad to hear about your experiences. There is no reason for you to feel ashamed to ask questions about something so important. Glad you got over your fear.

It has took me years to take that one step now I feel i can Take a few more. Thank you for your kind words

You're welcome:)

Hey, if you take pride out of the equation, then you've got mobility! You know, there's a saying here: Florida: home of the newlyweds and nearly-deads. I see people on scooters and trollies and motorized chairs and they just roll on down the street. Actually saw a group of disabled men at the supermarket having a pow-wow in the beer aisle to keep cool. LOL
You do what you have to do...and WHO CARES what other people think?!? They're not living in your skin, are they? :)

No there not but looking at me you would think there was 3 there put on do much weight o could double as a duo lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34