Sept 28 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Plagiarism

After I finished yesterday’s Ramble I came across some posts related to plagiarism and a high reputation member of Steemit. Our reputations are supposed to indicate someone who uses the site faithfully and can be trusted on their posts. It’s always disappointing to learn a foundation is built on sand.

The people who volunteer their time in the steemitabuse-classic channel on SteemChat do some good work finding and exposing plagiarism. Sometimes they get a bit carried away but there is a counterbalance which allows people to appeal the decisions.

Their discovery yesterday sparked some posts on the matter. I’m going to share the links to them today starting with the one from @steemcleaners on the topic of plagiarism. It’s instructive reading and one we all need to take note of.

Whenever I discover a comment from @steemcleaners on a post cautioning about copy/pasting (plagiarism) I don’t share the link no matter how much I liked the work. I’d rather take the chance of passing by a legitimate work that has been tagged by mistake than passing around the link to one that has been plagiarized.

Onward to today’s rambling

Plagiarism Guide

@steemcleaners provides an excellent guide on what is and isn’t plagiarism and how they usually respond when it is found.

Plagiarism on Steemit. A Look at @jpiper20

@pfunk wrote one of two posts exposing the plagiarism.

STEEM WHISTLEBLOWER: High Reputation Account Caught Plagiarizing!

@klye wrote the second post (not necessarily in order of posting) also exposing the plagiarism. It’s of interest to read the comments on both of the posts.

An Apology For The Plagiarizing I Have Done.

The perpetrator @jpiper20, posted an apology for his conduct. The post seems contrite and honest, it’s largely up to each of us to decide how we feel on it. There are a lot of comments both supportive and not.

He asked that no one upvote the post, some felt moved to do so, and I see one downvoted, probably to offset the upvotes. I would say it is a spot none of us should want to find ourselves in and we can make sure we don’t end up there by not using other people’s work as our own or without giving credit.

Thoughts on @jpiper20’s Plagiarism: Forgiveness Restores Relationship But Only Trust Can Restore Reputation

I think this is a very important subject. We all need to be aware not only how the community feels about it but the consequences of taking part in plagiarism. @jasonstaggers raises some interesting points and some of the commenters as well.

STEEMIT BLOWS MY MIND AGAIN! - Plagiarism, Repentance, and Forgiveness

I’m going to let this be the last link I’m going to provide for this subject. @papa-pepper makes some good points about how this whole matter is a illustration of the powers of redemption. Like @papa-pepper I had never followed @jpiper20 but I have now. Will I upvote him as readily as others? Maybe not for a while but I’m curious what he does post and how things develop.

Whales, followers, authors and other good people

The whole plagiarism thing getting you down? Let @tanata bring you back up with a great post on the good things about Steemit. She’s created some lovely graphics to accompany her post.

Life of a Minnow - And Why You Should Care - Part 2

I included Part 1 of this post yesterday so I thought I’d bring you Part 2 if you’ve not already seen it.

The Science of Addiction - How Addiction Hijacks the Brain.

How many of us find ourselves addicted to this site? We get up and check our profile and then what others have posted. Then we think about what we’re going to write. We might even get our coffee and start our day then. Sound familiar?

@masonmiler writes about addiction, how it affects our body and actions. Sometimes you need to understand the problem to fix the problem. Oh wait, I never said my Steemit addiction was a problem. Did I?

Wrap-up of Day 23

Well, I’m approaching day 30 of my 30 day challenge. Had someone ask me last night what I was going to do when it was over. I’m thinking I’ll continue to do the Steemit Ramble. Not sure if I will shoot for every day or break it up with other subjects. I will definitely be continuing to write on here.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Hi @shadowspub - as you know I think you do a great job curating :)

I just gave you a shout-out in my latest post. Hopefully it gets you a few more followers :)

Hey shadowspub, you and @steemtalk are my two new favorite places to go for finding quality content. Would you mind telling me what time you post everyday so I can immediately read your latest Steemit ramble?

unfortunately @jasonbarnette with my offline activities I don't have a specific posting time. You could join my mailing list and be sent an email when I post. Thank you for your kind words :)

Thanks for reading and featuring my addiction post in your blog.
Keep rambling

Thanks for the shout out :)

I hadn't followed jpiper so this is the first I heard of it. I hope you don't stop your ramblings though!

thank you for your kind words @getonthetrain ... I will do the Rambles but may have to adjust the frequency

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27