Sept. 19 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

Another Monday and start of another week. This is going to be a busy week. Meeting tomorrow night will take a lot of preparation for and then meetings on Wednesday. Anniversary dinner on Friday evening to celebrate the branch’s 85th Anniversary.

In between all that, I want to get some posts accomplished. Should be interesting.

Onward to Day 17th’s reading

Hard Work vs Genius

Interesting post by @natord discussing if we’re born with innate ability to develop or we can develop ability in anything we’re willing to do the work to learn and develop.

Money Saving Homemade Laundry Detergent

Yes I know I posted a laundry detergent recipe yesterday. @tanata has pointed out in her post that the soap base Fels Naptha can be hard on some people’s skin. That is something I tend to be a bit sensitive to (no pun intended) as my skin is very sensitive. So, this recipe is for those who find they need to be careful of what is in their detergent.

I gave up a lucrative side hustle – here’s why

@niviyavas writes a brutally honest post about learning the hard way that hard work and commitment needs to find balance with the rest of our life. What good is making a lot of money if you run your health into the ground and separate yourself from the people in your life that matter? None at all for the most part.

How to draw landscapes with Doodles!

@poeticsnake has written a neat post showing how to create a landscape with just doodles. Even doodling can be productive it seems. Enjoy.

Is Education Ever Really Over?

@doitvoluntarily writes a post about how education and curiousity should never end. It should be part of our life always.

Dear Society, Stop Trusting Me Just Because I'm White

@business writes about white privilege from the perspective of a white guy. The difference situations where people will standby and watch him do things like break into a car and never be questioned if he owns the vehicle. While a non-white would likely have had the cops called.

Introducing the Reblog Button

Part way through the day I found my blog page wouldn’t load. I inquired in one or two of the chat channels and was told that it likely had something to do with the implementation of the new ‘reblog’ feature.

So, I went looking for more information and found @dantheman’s post introducing it. I’m going to hold any opinion of what I think of the change until I see how things develop.

Beautifully Broken

@michelleh82 shares a beautiful sketching she has done. Well worth having a look at and giving it some support.

The War Funnel...

@macksby writes about the explosions over the weekend in New York City and reflects.. That actually may be more like vented about the corruption on the police force when his dad was serving. From there he talks about the security avenues that have been created to accommodate terrorism.

The Shakeout of Creators in Steem's Early Phase of Evolution

@l0k1 writes an interesting thesis on how he sees the evolution of Steemit going and how the whales of tomorrow will develop. Interesting reading.

Psych 101: The Temptation to Project in Cyberspace

@psych101 writes an interesting post about projection. It is particularly common online as we form often mental pictures of what a person is like. Lacking body language to use, we form our own ideas from the communication we have that often doesn’t come close to what the person really is like. Interesting reading.

What really causes heart issues?

@andrewawerdna writes a very straightforward post about the real causes of heart issues. He hasn’t tried to factor in genetic issues, he’s stuck to the general population mostly. From the reading that I’ve done, I agree with the post. Sugar and processed foods is one of the major causes of ill-health and yet few doctors seem to recognize this or just give up trying to tell patients who listen more to ads than to them.

Beautiful Northern Ontario Wildlife

@mlialen has taken some great wildlife shots in Northern Ontario. Well worth taking a look at and giving him an upvote.

Wrap-up for Day 17

I think I found some neat posts today. I also wrote a second post that is already up on Steemit. It’s about my first 45 days or so on the site. Have a look and see what you think.

Tomorrow could be tough getting a post out, I’ll do my best. I have a volunteer shift on the bar tomorrow and then tomorrow evening is the branch’s monthly meetings, executive followed by the membership meeting. There is some issues going on that I have to complete some preparations for and run minutes off. I’ll do my best.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post and your work!

you're welcome and thank you... I do have fun doing it.

some good 1s here!

thank you @doitvoluntarily.. glad you enjoyed

excellent thank you very much

you're welcome, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you @shadowspub looking forward to reading some of these :)

hope you enjoy them as much as I did

I did very much and found more to follow. You offer a good variety to discover, always appreciated!

You nailed it @shadowspub -- I really needed to vent!

we all need that at times ... been there myself a few times recently

Well thank you very much! I am glad you like my work.

you're welcome ... I thought you laid out your material rather well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28