Beautiful Northern Ontario Wildlife

in #photography8 years ago

One of the things I love about living in Northern Ontario is the abundance of wildlife. On a recent trip to Killarney Provincial park, we recently came face-to-face with some majestic animals and one of the most annoying critters in Northern Ontario.

First up, we got up close and personal with a moose. I was able to get fairly close to him before he made a mad dash towards the deep forest. I was lucky he didn't dash my way, moose are known to 'attack' if you get too close and they can do some serious damage.

Next, up was a black bear but in this case I did not press my luck, and kept my distance. Last thing I needed was to make the headlines: "Idiot man, gets mauled by bear attempting to get a great photo for the steemitphotochallenge". :)

Finally, near our campsite this little critter kept us up most of the night. Raccoons are a significant nuisance in Northern Ontario and can be vicious little things. This little guy seemed harmless enough...that is until we woke up to our garbage (which was hung in the tree...in a bear proof container) was all over our campsite!!! I think its revenge for taking his picture.

If ever you get a chance to visit Northern Ontario, I suggest you do. We have thousands of lakes, yes thousands, and a beautiful ecosystem.

Hope you enjoyed...please upvote and follow!

Sort:  

whoa.... that bear is scarily close enough. :-)

How did you get so close to the animals - did you use a zoom or is there some trick. I can understand not wanting to get too close to the bear but it looks like you were right next to him!

Yeah i definitely used my zoom. The moose was on the side of the road so i parked and got out and got as close as i could. The bear i nailed while quadding i didnt stay long lol!!

Hello @mlialen, I'm just stopping back to let you know that your post was one of my favourite reads today. I've included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Thanks!! Much appreciated

Wow, amazing pictures! Thanks for sharing it.

Were these pictures taken this spring? I see the antler buds.

They were taken in the beginning of June

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32