Introducing the Reblog Button

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Reblogging (or, in Twitter parlance, retweeting) is the mechanism in blogging which allows users to repost the content of another user's post with an indication that the source is another user.

Steemit recently rolled out a new feature that allows users to share blogs they find with those who follow them. This change implemented entirely outside the blockchain consensus which means that reblogging does not create a new post, it merely shares an existing post with people who follow you.

Benefits of Reblogging

As a curator, you want as many people to see a post after you upvote. When you build a large audience of followers you can earn more curation rewards by reblogging a post after you upvote it. This will dramatically increase the visibility of a post and help content go viral. It is very possible that popular content could end up in almost everyone's feed.

Build more Followers

Those who are unable to write every day can still build a solid set of followers by reblogging quality content you discover while browsing steemit.com. When you finally do decide to write an article it will have an audience ready and waiting to upvote your article.

Be Careful what you Reblog

Abusing the reblog button may cause you to lose followers. Please be considerate of your audience and carefully curate content you believe they want to see. This will be the best way to maximize your own reputation and curation rewards.

Future Changes

We have many plans for enhancing the reblog feature. These enhancements include:

  1. Renaming to to resteem
  2. Keeping track of resteem count
  3. Updating reputation algorithm to factor in followers and resteem rates
  4. Allowing users to see everyone who resteemed an article.
  5. Ability to remove a reblog
  6. Ability to separate your content from "reblogged content"

We have many features in the work. Most of these new features will first appear and be discussed as issues on github. Our team will be creating milestones and tags to organize major features and let people know when they may be brought about.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I think that the way it cam in wasnt the best possible way...

Not only it absolutly spams the feed, now new users will reblog each other like crazy. Same posts will appear over and over under the feed button. (already ive heard of peopel paying each other to reblog)

It defeats the point of having a feed button at all.... unless it has its own tab!

More so, It might be an idea to make the reblog button count like a "submit story" towards the reblogger, that way it will go wowards the 4 post count per day of the one who reblogs

Edit - an un-blog button is a must too

hey @serejandmyself!

I have been frustrated about this too, even nine months later...so frustrated I wrote a nifty little chrome plugin to let you toggle resteems being displayed on people's profiles. Check it out, and let me know if you find it helpful.

I completely disagree. This will help users not earning grow their base. And that is very necessary.

Yeah, I agree with @thedashguy. If people you are following are reblogging too much crap, you can always unfollow them.

This was communicated very very badly and even this answers almost no questions.
Will this count towards the 4-post count? can we un re-blog? Will you make a separate tab for it or it's mashed into our blog [ which frankly, is not cool]?.
You guys need a PR team and really really try to communicate with us. I feel that blindsiding us with this new feature is not the way to act in respect to us, the loyal steemers.
Thank you for reading.
later edit: good comments and answers thanks everyone!!

The loyal steemers are not going to be the new steemers. We need to provide EVERYONE a place to earn and this is a step int he right direction IMO. Not just cater to the elite crowd.

sure, respect for everyone. nothing wrong with that :)

can we un re-blog? Will you make a separate tab for it or it's mashed into our blog [ which frankly, is not cool]?.

Both of these were addressed in the post as features they are planning to add.

Ever get the impression commenters aren't always reading the entire post before spouting off?

No time to read.. Just comment!
:)

Those fingers start twitchin' before the eyes are done with their business.

I can tell you it doesnt count as a post. I check the post site, and it doesnt add to it.

See danthemans comment about it being included in bandwidt limit

Personally, I like the idea, and already have seen at least two users reblogging my posts.

@dantheman - is there anyway we could get a "confirm clear" safety check when we hit the "clear" button on a post that we are submitting?

It would be a simple improvement that would save many users a lot of time in case of an accident. I've accidentally lost posts that way before.

Thanks!

This needs to be attributed as it has also happened to me.

I just use google drive to edit in google docs which saves automatically

Yes I use Google Drive for many things as well but I think it would always be better if you have it already integrated within the app itself ,a place save something I've been working on should i have to step away for a while.

Yes! This needs to happen. I lost a post today when I did that.

Use StackEdit.io as your post editor, then when you're happy with it, copy to steemit. StackEdit will keep a local cache of the document (at least in Chrome) you are creating and can save to the cloud if you wish. Even if the computer crashes, as long as you can reaccess in the same browser you will have all of your document there. No need to use Stackit as the editor.

Yeah, I also pre make a lot of them in Word, but I'll get to editing or tweaking or adding something and then accidentally bump the clear button and lose everything, so I was thinking it would be a simple addition to streamline steemit and avoid having to go through extra processes like the one you mentioned. Thank you.

That's what I try to avoid, if I have something to tweak I do it on StackEdit.io and repaste on stackit, it takes a little discipline but it makes things easier to keep track of, and that way I also have a complete copy of all my posts in case I need to copy or quote things from one post to a new one. I do agree that a confirm for clear would be desirable as well, but in the meantime, no editing in stackit for me.

I've been using MarkdownPad2 to make my posts, then copy and pasting to Steemit.

Also a nice Markdown editor, but you would need to have the pro version to have the full markdown capabilities, for the moment StackEdit.io is free and though its online you can work offline with it as well.

I would like to make a suggestion.....
Can we please not have a "reblogged" blog to appear on our blog? I don't want the "reblogs" to mix with my original content....

We could have a separate tab on our blog page to achieve this.

This is listed as one of the improvements they are planning to make.

6 - Ability to separate your content from "reblogged content"

yup, it wasn't there when I commented this :)
maybe he added it after reading my comment ;) :D

Right on ;)

Do you feel like god was surveying you and taking notes?

Awesome, that will definitely be very beneficial.

Totally agree with you, I would like to have my own posts and a reblogged tab with content I like.
This is just because I don't like the idea of confusing my followers with others' content mixed with mine.

exactly! anybody looking at my blog page would have to "search" for my posts within my own blog! that's not intuitive at all!

youu can not use it though.until they add that function...which you should use in my opinion supporting minnions will build you more followers as well. just make sure you reblogg good quality since that is all that really matters here. :)

Yes, it does seem the personalized feed option is off the table with this new feature.

Exactly my thought!

I'm totally with you!

I'd also like a separate tab from the main feed. I'm finding that I may be unfollowing some users who reblog a lot of posts that I have no interest in.

Request "Comment on Reblog" a place you can say read this because...whatever.

I think this may help actualize the 30 day payout option.

People, please cool down a little bit. Try this new feature for a week or two. And then start asking questions and proposing new stuff. We can't judge on first day.

can you un-reblog?

Not yet, but they said they are planning to add that ability.

It's outside the blockchain, so probably it will be possible to un-reblog (if they will add this feature)

What i've always wanted. Thanks @dantheman

Have you considered adding an option to mute reblogged articles for those who only want to see posts written by their followers?

I was going to suggest a separate tab called "reblogged" or something.

I think that's an excellent idea!

This actually might be a better idea than a separate tab! Good thinking!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66