October 9 -- Steemit Ramble #127 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

I love the sound of rain in the background when I’m writing or reading. It has a relaxing effect. As hard as it is to believe, I have actually had the windows open here over the weekend. I can’t remember a Canadian Thanksgiving when it was warm enough to have windows open.

According to my weather source, the rain we’re currently getting is what is left of hurricane Nate as it wanders off into the meteorological sunset. We’ve had a few chilly days in September. Chilly enough I had a heater on where I work in the house to take the chill off.

I’ve been doing some changes on the Steemit Ramble Discord. Most of them taking advantage of the categories setup discord has released. I’m considering having some voice chat hangouts there, like a Pimp Your Post evening where you could present your most recent post and talk about it. Let me know in the comments if you’re interested in doing something like this.

Coffee Time Meditation

Onward to today’s rambling

Introducing the Steem Upvote Bot Tracker!

@yabapmatt has created a tool for tracking the various voting bots, or at least some of them, and provide guidance on how best to use them to get the greatest return on investment. His last paragraph caught my attention as well. More about that in my next selection.

Utopian: The Begin of a New, Shared, Meritocratic Economy.

As just mentioned, @yabapmatt’s last paragraph sent me down a rabbit hole. Not a deep one though. User @elear has released a new site directed toward those on Steemit involved in Open Source projects. They can write on their projects, post on the Utopian site and earn STEEM rewards. For you and I, that means we can find out about new projects underway by visiting the site. Nice work.

Steemy - EP. 27: Steem Tag Search to analyze all used categories from one user

@flauwy writes a great post on the tool Steemit Tag SearchBe sure to watch the video, it’s only just over 3 minutes. I love the animated character, reminds me of paperclip who used to show up on the MS Office Help.

Steemit Tag Search informs you what tags any user uses and you can also search for a list of posts under a tag. Another neat tool.

Churches in Milford

There is some beautiful architecture displayed in church buildings. @tattoodjay has done a great job of showing up the beauty of some of the local churches where he is. Very nice.

Sneaky Ninja Voting Bot Update!! He is Now Officially Available for all Steemit Users!!

@sneaky-ninja is going public. When first developed this upvote bot was only available for members of thealliance It is a very minnow friendly bot in that it is not expensive to use.

Jenny's Art Contest Week #3 & Winners Announced from last week

@topkpop has announced the new art contest for this week. She’s also announced the winners from last week. Some really excellent work there. Worth having a look at what has been submitted and giving an entry of your own a try if you feel artistic.

The Alliance - A Thousand Words: The General

@steemitcomics’s ongoing saga of thealliance continues with the arrival of the General. If you have missed the previous segments, you can catch up at the bottom of the post.

How to transfer SBD/STEEM to BITTREX

@roykie17 has done a great tutorial on how to transfer STEEM from Steemit to Bittrex. Bittrex is one of the more popular exchanges for trading cryptocurrencies. Poloniex is another one but, it has had some challenges in the last several months which leaves Bittrex as one of the more stable exchanges.

Steemit is Under Attack, Here's Why..

@goldenarms put his creative bent to work in this post gathering up the conspiracy theories on the outages the Steemit site experienced recently.

Veterans on Steemit Daily Highlights - 06 Oct 2017

@guiltyparties is one of the people involved in building up a veterans community on Steemit. It’s great to see and would certainly hope that you’ll support as many of their posts as you can.

In My Sacred Space

@starangel brings an interesting perspective to healing and new beginnings. I often appreciate posts which make me pause and consider.

Spy With Me: Bank Robbery

In the category of let’s put a series of unconnected photos together to build a scenario .. Is that even a category… well, okay it is now. @dumar022 has built his case for the suspects in this robbery and how it was accomplished. Good read.

🗞 Daily Crypto News, October 9th

Readers may remember, one of the complaints I’ve had about some posts is the poster thinking that sticking a title and an external link was something to be paid for on a post. Now, @vlemon does a beautiful job of linking to external sources. @vlemon writes a synopsis of the external link and has brought several related links together. Great job on this initiative.

Getting Shite Done – Why I Don’t Feel Any Better

@paulag does a great job of sharing a story with us about her tax return and the foibles of doing other peoples, which is why she doesn’t AND promoting @markymark’s contest. Don’t forget to check out the link to the contest she shares. Don’t you love the rabbit holes we can fall into on Steemit?

Wrap-up on Day 127

Well, I started this post on Monday. Didn’t get through reviewing the posts I wanted to and figured I’d get it done and uploaded before I went for surgery yesterday morning. There was connection issues of both mine and Steemit’s so, I didn’t get it done. When I returned yesterday afternoon I was pretty lethargic from the sedation still so, I made dinner (had fasted all day) and went to bed.

So, a day late and a dollar short, here is Monday’s post. Yes, the surgery went fine. I’m good, or should be good, until the spring.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

This is NOT an invite to SPAM!

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

Thank you for posting @shadowspub.

Very interesting write up.

Thought to come have a look at your site.....lots going on....lovely.

Some awesome tools, thanks guy!

interesting curation format / new follower.... @paulag sent me here /peace

Well welcome to the Steemit Ramble.. glad you stopped by @clumsysilverdad

Utopian.io Rewards Open Source Contributors

Thank you so much @shadowspub for the mention of Utopian. I just want to point out that everyone can contribute to Open Source projects via Utopian.

My nomination is for @yabapmatt. He made a great job with the bot tracker and he introducted this great tool via Utopian.
https://utopian.io

Thank you

anyone on any topic @elear can contribute to Utopian?

The nominations are made through the Steemit Ramble discord so I don't lose track of them and usually best to nominate a post you particularly like.

Having said all that, @yabapmatt was in the same Ramble as you. It was through his post I found you.

On any topic that is about a contribution made for an Open Source project. I just wanted to say that you don't have to be a developer for contributing :)

cool, thank you for the contribution

Woah!!! Thank you so much @shadowspub for including me in your featured post! I appreciate it very much! :) 💚

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Thanks for the feature truly appreciated to be included with all the other excellent posts

my pleasure @tattoodjay... always nice to share great work like yours.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ShadowsPub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

thanks for including my post @shadowspub. I don't normally write about me and my life experiences, so it is awesome that I got this response. Thank you

coming from someone who also doesn't do much in that way ... maybe you should do more :)

hmmmm then everyone would get to know me :-)

Thank you for the mention, I truly appreciate it!
I am glad that you like it. It is not so easy to pick the "interesting" news in all these crypto news ^^.
See you !

I can believe that, it's like finding the jewels on Steemit. I'm sure we miss many but get what we can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49