Oct. 7 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

DAY 30 of my 30 day challenge has arrived. I did it. It started out as a writing discipline and has become something I really enjoy doing. It will continue dear readers, just may not be every day. That will be especially true between now and the end of December.

Offline life is getting very busy during that time. I will try to manage to at least post a few links in the evening on my real busy days.

Onward to today’s rambling

RELATING

It’s not often an art post catches my attention. Too often I look at them and it’s just the picture, no commentary from the artist. @elewarne has posted the picture and then some interpretive text along with it. Makes for a very interesting post. She makes some interesting points on how we relate, or not, in this the information age.

QUALITY TIME WITH MY SON - The Official 600+ Follower Post From @papa-pepper

@papa-pepper celebrates his 600th follower. Well done @papa-pepper. His post is not about Steemit or his time on it but it’s about time away from it. Spending some really great quality time with his young son. He’s documented the time with pictures and commentary of a time I’m sure his lad will treasure.

By the Power of the Steem-Whales, I reached my next milestones!

Speaking of milestones, @future24 hit 500 followers and 1,000 steempower. Reaching 500 followers is not done overnight, it takes steady persist effort and @future24 does that. Well done and congratulations.

SteemCharity ; A Project set up to support Charities, allowing any Individual to Raise Awareness for a Good Cause through Steemit.com

If you’ve read any of my work, you’ll know pretty quick I do a lot of volunteering locally. I’m a strong believer in the giving of time and talent if not treasure by many to make a community strong. @steemcharity is trying to bring that philosophy here to Steemit.

Charities can be great things or they can be a drain on the good faith of others. @steemcharity is working towards the former. Let’s see how things develop.

Burning Bridges

I think many, if not a lot of us, can relate to @perspective’s post on burning bridges, when the need to terminate a relationship comes up. If we’re people with feeling, that is a difficult decision to make.

In the last year, I’ve had to end a 20+ year friendship, or rather what I thought was a friendship. I came to realize the other person is a master at deception, so I’m not sure if the friendship was ever real.

It takes me a very long time to trust enough to call someone a friend rather than an acquaintance, so it left me kicking myself for being duped.

Positivity Challenge #2 Update 06/10/2016

@positivity’s update includes five more entries in this week’s positivity challenge. Check them out and give them an upvote to support their participation.

TIPS FOR POSTING ON STEEMIT [Updated]

@senseiteekay provides an excellent post on how to post on Steemit including a very good summary of how to use Markdown. While it can be a bit intimidating at first, it really is very easy to write and add Markdown at the same time. The post isn’t just about writing a post, it is a very comprehensive list of elements that go into creating and promoting your posts. Well worth the read.

Launching #STEEMSENIORS. We Can Buy SP and Help Emptying Facebook :-)

@claudiop63 post about wanting to form a chat channel for seniors. She defines seniors as anyone born before the 1980s. I think it’s a great idea and will be watching for it to form.

The comment section on the post is a bit of a hoot for me. The number of people who get their knickers in a knot over the term ‘senior’. I view being a senior as something I’ve earned and should enjoy. I don’t think of it as the end of my life.

Likely because my grandparents lived long lives (89, 97, 99 & 101) in an era when longevity wasn’t expected. My parents both died of cancer but, I have an uncle who is turning 95 in November and is on Facebook, so life doesn’t stop when you become a senior, unless you want it to.

Secrets to Become a Great Speaker

@funnyman writes a post with tips on being a public speaker. Not everyone is cut out for public speaking but it is something you can learn if you really want to. I’ve had to learn over the years and have been fortunate to have received some very positive feedback from unexpected sources.

Making a change One step at a time.

My hat is always off to someone who overcomes adversity to live life the best they can. Even more so when the person is able to be positive while doing so. @karenb54 tackles overcoming her challenges and getting out for a haircut in her positivity challenge entry.

[Guest Signups] Beyond Bitcoin Hangout #177 - 10/14/16 - (RSVP to Friday's Hangout - Guest Speakers Reward Payouts Inside!)

@intelliguy brought this to my attention in his comments on yesterday’s Steemit. New stuff to learn, that keeps our brain cells firing eh? I’ve downloaded the mumble client and installed it. That was pretty easy and straightforward. I wasn’t around for the Friday night hangout but I’ll do what I can to get in there next week and see what’s happening. In the meantime, you may want to have a look for yourself and take part.

Looks to me like @officialfuzzy has an interesting concept running there.

Wrap-up on Day

Well, today was an interesting ramble around Steemit. Who needs cutesy memes and political attacks when you can find such a diversity of topics and perspectives here on Steemit?

I took time out to look after the door at our monthly roast beef dinner and then had a dinner myself. There are some great people attend those dinners and they help support our branch when they do so.

This is a long weekend in Canada, our Thanksgiving. The harvest has come to an end and we give thanks for it’s bounty. With the level of drought we had in parts of the country, we really need to give thanks this year.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Awesome man , appreciate what you're trying to do here! It would be smart of getting Charities to join Steemit. Raise Awareness and help each others out! , i followed you!

part of community is helping each other out. :)

Thanks, and well said.

I like what you wrote.

I appreciate what you do for the community. Big thanks @shadowspub.

thank you :)

Thank you :) means alot

Thank you very much for the mention and commendation @shadowspub!

Awesome man @shadowspub Keep doing what you are doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85