Launching #STEEMSENIORS. We Can Buy SP and Help Emptying Facebook :-)

in #steemseniors8 years ago (edited)

 I would like to foster the Steemit sub-community of users older than “Millennials”, so I will launch a dedicated chat channel (as soon as I figure out how to do it…please help), and tag #steemseniors

   Image Credit 

Based on a broadly accepted definition of Millennials (Price Waterhouse Coopers, London Business School, TIME magazine,…) , I am calling steemseniors the people born before 1980.       

Why bother with this? 

Ok, let me start with a disclosure: I am 53 years old. Is age relevant in the Steemit context? Well, I believe it is, and not just because we type slower than you kids on smartphones :-) 

Generally speaking, Steemseniors are experienced people who are still curious and with a taste for innovation. We are not afraid of being newbies in a context where the big shots could be our children! 

Steemseniors could be instrumental for Steemit’s growth in three ways:  

  1. Some of us are likely to have the resources and the right attitude to invest in STEEM/SP, supporting STEEM price and the ecosystem at large; 
  2. In my age group, people have done lots of things in life, so they can bring to Steemit very diverse (sometimes high-quality) content. I am talking about e.g. business angels who grew up in the Old Economy, senior scientists, teachers, established writers, …  
  3. Before joining Steemit, many of us were spending an awful lot of time on Facebook. I understand that these days, young people are no longer hooked to FB, while their parents (and grandparents) just love it!  So, if Steemseniors who are still also on FB all decide to share systematically their Steemit content on FB, and promote this place amongst their contacts, I think we stand a good chance to take advantage of the size of the FB community in order to grow Steemit...!  

Thoughts and comments (from any age group) and resteeming highly appreciated!    

Sort:  

yes - I support that name - being one those.

I Have No Silver Hair
I Still Look Young, Not To Brag
I Like The Words
Maturity
Mature
I Am A Gen Xer
Not Even 50 Yet

Wonder if I should be happy not to be referred to as a "senior" (born 1983) - or sad not to be able to take part in that group ;)
Got my upvote, though. Good luck with your channel!

Yeah, gen xers are not going to want to identify with the term senior. Great initiative but I suggest a name change. Keep it up!

My name reveals my age. Yes, I'm a senior, a real senior! near 900 months! with an open and youthful spirit but with some experience of life.

Hi @claudiop63, I'm just stopping back to let you know you were one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included you in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about you here.

I am in and fit that senior genre 😳

I Am A Gen Xer,
I'm Not Even 50 Yet
I Would Like To Join
But, Can We Find A better Name Than Seniors
Like
Steemmaturity
Mature
Matured
Help Me Think Steemians!
:))

What about SilverSurfers, as proposed by @twinner ?

I Have No Silver Hair
I Tend To Attract Younger Men
I'm Sorry , But, I Don't Like That One
Silver= Luster
Senior= Active
Mature=Full
Luster, Active, Or Full?
How About "Before80"?
Maybe,
Vision
Visions
Spec
Specs
Voices?
I Do Want To Thank-You
And Compliment You For Doing This!
You Found A New Follower, Me!
Steem On!
:))

Add me on FB 😐haha ! Silvie Iluh Cempaka and join our "we love steemit " group

@mammasitta
Is That Your Name On Facebook?

Silvie Iluh Cempaka . Please add me ❣️

Ok, it sounds like people support the initiative but not the name...Perhaps I should launch a name poll...

I love the idea but for pete's sake people... what is wrong with being a senior?

Reminds me of a well meaning acquaintance making a suggestion to me when I got my hair cut next I should consider a colour rinse. When I asked why her response was "to cover the gray"... my response was.. "it's mine and I earned it thank you"..

so I'm a senior and I earned it. :)

Hi folks, I'm 58 and I feel adressed with this post, although I never spent time on facebook.
Upvoted. Resteemed. Followed.

I am a seasoned steemian.

Great idea. This would enrich Steemit a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94