Oct 16 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

For an animal that is supposed to be aloof and independent, my cats really tend to be rather clingy and big sucks most of the time. This morning I awoke to find my oldest cat, Dawn, laying across my pillow at an upside down angle, the top of her head resting on the pillow and apparently watching me.

I watched her in silence for a few moments. She starred back at me and then made a whimpering sort of meow. Clearly she was waiting for me to wake up to feed her.

Anyone who has recently received notice from me that they have been included in my Ramble has actually seen Dawn. She’s the cat in the picture who endorses my selection. I was asked recently if Dawn was my name, it’s hers.

I’m listening to day 3 of the Steemit Hackathon as I work on the Ramble today. Interesting and informative. While you wont be able to catch it live, you can scan through it to catch the presentations.

Onward to today’s rambling

Announcing: Golden Steem Awards @ Steemfest

Okay, ladies and gents, it’s time to put forth your favourites in the areas of: photography, original art, original fiction, life advice and undiscovered author. I’ll be posting this for a few days to give you a chance to have a look and make your nominations.

The Game - Part 1 (My Original Short Stories)

If you’re looking for a good short story, you may want to read this one. The only drawback is, we have to wait for part two on the edge of our seats. @ezzy has written a short thriller, I can’t wait to see the second part.

"Why am I getting less Steem Dollars and more Steem ?" SBD_PRINT_RATE - What it is, how to check it, how you can help [100% SP]

Have you noticed that your payouts are being paid with more Steem than Steem Dollars? There is a reason for that and it is related to the drop in the value of Steem. @ausbitbank provides a very clear explanation of what is going on and why. He also talks about how to take some of the pressure of the system.

Cultivating An Attitude Of Gratitude

@positivesteem writes about the importance of focusing energy on what we have to be grateful for in life. We seem to have a natural tendency to focus on the dark spots in life. They drain our energy and when we’re too heavily focused on the dark spots, each one that comes along drains us even further. By purposely focusing on what we have to be grateful for, it’s like building up our mental energy to better weather the dark spots.

Homelessness, being ignored, acting crazy, and the power of humanity

@churdtzu writes a strong post about our mental health and how it contributes to homelessness. It’s a growing problem in a society where there is enough abundance for all and one we can’t ignore. I’m going to put my SteemTrail curation hat on for a moment @churdtzu, you should cite your photo sources.

YOU PLAY THE HAND YOUR DEALT...

@macksby writes a beautiful story about playing the hand we’re dealt with in life rather than whining about it. The end result can be more than we ever dreamed about.

White Charcoal Original Puppy Drawing-Part 5-Final Result

I’ve never seen this sort of work done before. Sketching with white on black background but I don’t spend much time around artwork so it could be old hat to some. Either way I think this is a great post by @edgarsart showing the evolution of his first work using the technique. I love the end result.

Tutorial: How to use the Blocktrades.us exchange? (English/German)

A very straightforward tutorial on how to move STEEM or SBD to your wallet or the wallet of an exchange. Most of the tutorials I see deal with specific wallets or exchanges which seems to muddy the waters a bit for me so @future24 made it really simply to follow for me.

WaterSeer: Harvest Water Directly From the Air

@getonthetrain writes about the WaterSeer system that works to take water out of the atmosphere, condense it and then deliver clean water for use. This technology could have amazing possibilities for delivering clean water to everyone on the planet. It’s an essential part of life and becoming very much in danger of becoming scarce.

My Problem with the "Customer is Always Right" Culture

Interesting post by @schattenjaeger written from the perspective of someone who works in customer service about the age old adage of “the customer is always right”. I tend to agree with him that taking that too literally breeds ill-mannered and ugly customers.

300 followers!!!

Another talented artist I just came across. Not because of his art did I find @nekromarinist but because he posted about reaching 300 followers, a milestone I’m working on closing into. Congratulations @nekromarinist and keep up the great art work.

Blazing A SteemTrail - I Am A Curator For The SteemTrail Project For The Music Gardening Story And Travel Tags

And to close out today comes this announcement from @luzcypher that he’s starting to work with the SteemTrail team to curate posts the topics: gardening, music, travel and story. There is a growing number of people coming on board and room for more. Stop by the SteemTrail channel on Steem Chat.

Wrap-up on Day 37

WOW, really enjoyed the variety of posts I was able to find today. Some great writing and work there. Hope you find some posts to enjoy on the list. I’ll be doing some curating the feed for my SteemTrail topics in a bit but will likely post them separately.

Wont be long the team will be able to meet in our respective channels and discuss further how we’re going to work on building community around our topics. An exciting time.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

This post has also been linked to from Reddit.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

A good collection of posts. Thanks for including mine

Many have looked.
Continue to I did not miss something interesting. :)

cool.
I missed the thing about water when it first come out.

yeah found it very interesting

Very cool post. I like many of the same posts you've featured and thanks for including me in your selections.

thank you @luzcypher ... you're very kind

Another great list. Should keep me busy for a while... :)

thank you .. kept me busy for a while... your turn :)

Cheers for the mention, I'm going to check out some of the other posts you mentioned too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11