Dec 14 - 18 -- Steemit Ramble #49 -- Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

Christmas can be a great time to see the good in people. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I chair the committee which looks after Christmas hampers of food and toys for the low income members of our community. I get to see some really great responses from people, in addition to those who just take take take.

I had a call from a community about 40 miles from here about a family in this area in tough straights who wont ask for help. The caller told me the husband works but it’s not steady or decent pay, the wife can’t work due to health issues and there is a 10 year old in the house. To make matters worse, there is no hydro (electricity)in the house and hasn’t been for two years. They have a feed but it’s not a safe feed.

I did some checking with local sources and confirmed the situation. I then started talking to some people. We’ll prepare a food hamper for the family, a local group is going to get them warm clothing and someone else is providing an upgrade to their feed. I didn’t have to actually ask, just to explain the situation and the offers followed. It’s a great time of year to see the goodness in people’s hearts.

Onward to today’s rambling

THE VARYING STEEMIT PAYOUT METHODS AND WHY I ENJOY THE VARIETY

If you’ve been a bit unsure about the various payout methods and how they can benefit you, @papa-pepper explains them very effectively. He posts some great material and this is no exception.

Idea: Upvotes from the highest bidding advertiser

An interesting suggestion about introducing advertising on the site. This suggestion would give each author the opportunity to opt into ads being displayed and which ad would show up and the author would received rewards for displaying them.

There has been a lot of talk over on SteemSpeak about the possibility of ads being added as a revenue generator. This is one of the more interesting ideas on how to implement ads that I’ve seen

5 Ways Steemit Vastly Improved My Life

@klye writes about how Steemit has changed his life for the better. I think most of us who have embraced the potential of Steemit are finding positive changes in our lives. I haven’t taken on near the efforts that @klye has but I’m finding a greater motivation to write on a regular basis rather than when I feel like it. The extra bit of income I’ve earned is a great incentive.

STEEM - A Crypto Currency That ACTUALLY Has Female Users!

@klye has been a busy lad the last few days. In this post he writes about the fact that women are becoming more engaged in the crypto world thanks to STEEM. We come for the writing and stay for the crypto fun, sort of :)

Content Crusaders: The Fight to Save Steemit Will Fail

@ats-david writes about the discussion around the success of SteemSports. There are some who feel Steemsports success is a draw off the reward pool to those who create content, especially ‘quality’ content. If you look at the number of votes on the Steemsports posts you’ll see there are a lot of people who appreciate the posts and take part.

Actually, I take part. They are a bit of fun even though I am not a sports fanatic. Hanging around a Legion, sports comes up, I’m bound to absorb some of the discussions just like, if you let yourself, you could absorb some of the discussions on Steemit. Maybe we should be more interested in seeing content that generates activity than worrying about ‘quality content’ to raise my intellect.

Recent Steemit UI Changes

We don’t always realize that Steemit is a site that is constantly evolving. Catching @timcliff’s witness updates is a good way to keep up on what is going on that you may or may not have noticed. Several changes have been recently made to the user interface. Check them out.

Wanna Write A Book? Here's one thing I learned...um...ok, a few things.

@misfitwisdom writes about his experience writing three books and the ups and downs of publishing. It’s a brief post but gets the point across. Writing is a calling, we may feel called to write but we need to be realistic enough to know, fame, fortune and acclaim is a perk not inevitable. Even on Steemit :)

These creative snowmen will challenge your inner child!

@jacob-still joined Steemit in July. He’s finally made his first post and I think it is a great starter. Not that he’s not been active, he has been around voting and commenting. The snowmen pictures he found are fantastic. Have a look and I’d suggest, encourage @jacob-still to keep posting. I’m a little biased but I really love that he finished the pics of with one of a cat on a snowman.

Map of the Internet from 1973 Found, and it Fits on One Page

@krnel posted a map of the internet from 1973 along with others of different times including one from 1969. Amazing that it was into the 1980s before most of us even started hearing about the online world and into the 1990s before websites appeared.

Looking at the maps makes me think of Steemit, we’re starting small but we’re going to expand wildly in the year or two to come.

4.5 months on Steemit and 2500 posts!

Congratulations @steevc on 4.5 months on Steemit and your 2500SP, nice work. You’re one of the many who have stuck with Steemit even when the payouts were small and the appreciation thin. Well done.

Wrap-up on Day 49

Well, I started this post last Wednesday and only been able to get it wrapped up today. Busy, busy time of year. I had planned on a day of writing on Wednesday and then had a bar steward call in sick. The Bar Manager is on holiday, so I ended up filling in both Wednesday and Thursday. Then Friday we had an event on at the branch that I was looking after.

The Steward came to me and advised me that while she was scheduled to work Saturday, she had told the manager over a month ago she wasn’t available. So, yes, I worked Saturday. Went over today to do up cash reports and check that all was in order, and I’m now home. The first time in 9 days I’ve had several hours during the day at home. Time to do some Steeming :)

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

I appreciate your kind words and the mention!

As always thanks for keeping me up to date with post I may have missed! I'm not trying to self promote here, but check out this post I just made and let me know if its worthy of being posted by you. Thanks and have a great day!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@sirlunchthehost/steemit-sunday-morning-discussions-w-sirlunchthehost-are-we-really-social-butterflies-here-on-steemit

Thanks .. I've added the post to my reading queue .. since I have some time to do some reading today.

Thanks or sharing, I'm trying to engage in crypto but it's not clicking with me

it takes a bit of getting your head around it .. but I know they are working on breaking down some of the user barriers.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.42 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33