Wanna Write A Book? Here's one thing I learned...um...ok, a few things.

in #history8 years ago

Everybody at some point in their lives wants to write a book. Because we all feel we have a story to tell that may be of interest to everyone, or, we want to make a lot of money having a best seller.

Usually....that's not gonna happen.

BUT.................

Here's what I learned after writing three books. Hope it helps ya.

  1. Write about what you have a passion about. You'll enjoy writing much more.

  2. Don't write thinking you're going to have a best seller. Write thinking that IF you DO have a best seller.......WOW!

  3. Give up on sending your manuscript to ANY mainstream publisher. They're all idiots and want a sure thing which is why they cater to well known writers or celebrities or someone with an inside connection.

  4. Self publish your book from anywhere between $800 and $1,200 depending on who you chose to print your book and the number of pages and photos. (I chose Amazon's "Create Space" because they are affordable, work with you all the way, design your cover based on what YOU want, promote your book for free on Amazon and are just great people to work with)

  5. DO NOT be scammed by any company that promises you to publish your book for zip and asks you to sign a contract unless they are a very well known established publisher. Beware, for one, "American Star Books."

Finally, historic events, autobiographies of personalities, and expose's sell the best.

Examples. My first book. "I Could Have Been Famous But Sex, Love and Life Got In The Way" (my personal autobiography of my years in radio broadcasting was rewarding to write but a non seller) Nice to have for my family however. And my ego.

My second book, a mystery novel, "The Covert Chamber" was a huge disaster. I went with that publisher (mentioned above) that promised to publish my book for zip, then they priced it so high nobody in their right mind would buy it, plus, they, to this day, want to promote my book......for a fee of course.

My last book, "Forgotten" was a success. I went with "Create Space" again, priced it at a reasonable price and because it was a documented story of a real life event that took place, the interest and sales were great. It's still selling today after a year.

AND.......it was my most enjoyable effort as I researched the story for a year, spoke to a lot of people involved in the story, recorded hours of interviews (recording is a must) and to this day still make live presentations at various venues speaking about my book and the story.

So, there ya have it. Some tips that may or may not be of use to you.

Tread carefully.

Tifsim

Sort:  

great tips. I been thinking about writing 2 books here for awhile. One on my independent music experiences and another a fantasy space novel. These are great tips, I will def self publish and release if these do come to pass, as you said, alot of us think of writing books and never seem to find the time... but here to hope. much love upvoted and followed

Nice input misfit :) I chose to self publish but only in ebook so I was able to do so for free which is cool. :) Hope you continue writing.


Hi @misfitwisdom, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today/yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71