The Inbox Runneth Over -- Issue #10 -- a curated list of casual pieces, fun features and other tidbits and treats

in #curation7 years ago

TIROcover010.png

The Inbox Runneth Over

is a private curation project begun by @enchantedspirit to honor the exceptional posts she finds in her Steemit travels. The content here will feature a good number of posts from The Steem Engine group in Discord. Their customary post is titled The Daily Whistle Stops.

@enchantedspirit is the curator there, and in that work she finds quite a few posts that are casual, interesting, well-written, helpful or just fun to experience (sometimes writers, sometimes musicians, sometimes artists), but because they are up against such stiff competition that day in submissions to The Steem Engine they can't be included in The Daily Whistle Stops. They also tend to be short, easy to read, easy to digest ... or maybe they just offer something special.

So, she brings them here and finds them a home -- because they deserve more than just a quiet decline and death ... an experience that is already all too common in Steemit. (I know I don't need to tell you that, but it's true!) Sometimes, there may be outside content, too ... from other intriguing people she follows. Sweet little "feature story" experiences and fun artistic moments of all kinds have their place in life -- and on Steemit, too. Please stop in and visit these guys ... and if you enjoy their work, show them you care.

I ... and they ... thank you more than you'll ever know.

You can find The Daily Whistle Stops at @thesteemengine -- and there is information there and here at the bottom of this post telling you how to apply to join. There is also another curation project run by both @enchantedspirit and @catweasel on his blog. It's called The Magnificent Seven and it, too, features exceptional content we find on our Steemit journey. Each of these projects has its own theme, tone and focus. You will find things in both that are worth your time and effort -- and excellent new people to follow. I offer all these suggestions with pride. I know they will enrich your day.

break1.gif

I'm one of those annoying souls who knows exactly how other people should raise their kids, but I keep my advice to myself. That's why virtually all of my friends are and were childless. (But you should hear the conversations I conduct inside my head.)

DQmWJBpa3PiPDbTMwDCUszCatEGwabqM2qtSgdJcETW9Yqb.jpg
Image Source

Parenting #1
My 3 Unfulfilled Goals

@calebleejl

cws.gif

Who doesn't want life to be easier?? (I do!! I do!!) Here's some tools that can help that happen.

U5dtqa2zx3YxDgCo3pxx6zLC3uqgWa8_1680x8400.png

Productivity tools that
made my life a whole lot easier
(and it should for you too!)

@deborism

cws.gif

Time for some more words from that Old Philosopher, @sultnpapper. He and his young daughters are still not over the loss of their sweet little guinea pig, Percy. And like many of us, he's second-guessing himself about what they should have done. There are no easy answers to this one.

Only one vet ... in all the ones I've taken my pets to in my life ... ever sent me a condolence card after losing one. I have to admit it made me feel more kindly toward him. (His office is miles and miles away from where we live.) Fortunately for me, his motives were never ones I had to question.

DQmT6BPEwp7evdAK8i7MBAiHup19bLCe6aGoRHRRCSv98hN.png

Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/25/18
Compassion or Investment -- You make the call

@sultnpapper

cws.gif

There are all kinds of approaches to learning ... and there are all kinds of teachers. Some are fabulous. Most are not. This is a shame. This alone can make a difference in how students progress and perform.

The same can be said for a university's attitude and culture. @kokuryo talks about this some. It's interesting to read.
`

U5dtoaaZVxmc6NCV8UWe38AA8SuP2uN_1680x8400.jpg
Image Source

How does education system
affect fresh graduates?

@kokuryo

cws.gif

Did all this SP and SBD and Steem stuff confuse the daylights out of you when you arrived? Maybe it still does. @ironshield tries to straighten out the thinking some. See if what he wrote can help you?

U5dsXJKZLRYmwVNKoAjXAGsAjYcuKnM_1680x8400.png

Something on Steemit that Confuses New Users
@ironshield

cws.gif

Well, we had kind of a dustup in our Discord server (Interesting name. I always thought so.) over this very topic this morning. One of the people in that conversation could have used the advice in this article. According to him though, he couldn't find anything to read from our members that "interested him."

All the articles in Inbox are taken from exactly the stream of submissions he was able to investigate. Maybe you agree with him. Maybe not. Anyway ... he's gone. So when you find "interesting stuff," be a more "interesting commenter." @bozz, one of our newest members, has some thoughts on that to share.

DQmNfsgXUeKXcsX1Wjzj9i6K8AYHAScexMT8tTiTVzPSXHW.jpg

Building a Good Comment
@bozz

cws.gif

Proof of Brain. Man, do some people need a way to demonstrate that. Proof of brain. Proof of pulse. I could build quite a list. Meanwhile, have you considered ... where is your niche?

U5druLS1j8AeLQjCTHVjKpxqMo4m6TN_1680x8400.png

Proof of Brain
@mineopoly

cws.gif

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Do you dream of a world powered by Steem? @karinzdailygrind does. I think hers is a lot closer to coming true. YMMV.

DQmdZxuJjryDjjN7TEkoQ8BRM6w7j5q3G1ZXMLNJHWPke2j_1680x8400.jpg

A World Powered By Steem
@karinzdailygrind

cws.gif

Patriotism, of all things, has become a controversial topic in our country. @daodesam has some thoughts on this sad and widening divide. I enjoyed reading his opinions.

DQmdVKKoxK8wb37eLoReKQKYzAFSUgTW5NQhZNq4WnW7Wsu.jpg

Why I Stand, Place my Hand over my Heart,
and Recite the Pledge of Allegiance Every Morning

@daodesam

cws.gif

@eonwarped's dog, Opal, takes her parents on an excursion ... with coffee and bagels and a squirrel chase to make the day complete. Dad didn't film that part though. Paying too much attention to his coffee, I guess. She may leave him home next time.

DQmenXpdsJsro7cRJkL81tgXLrGz1rtaFcDRv8d7kC9pYPq.jpg

Opal in the Park
@eonwarped

cws.gif

Arts and Culture
Art, crafts, photography, cultural attractions,
food, travel, customs, special interests

Go on. Admit it. You wish you could sit down at the piano and do something like this. Am I right?

DQmebdy2mnsanebY4aZWaypLQ5oZV4nU1umm9FYCayRwufN.png

GOOFING AROUND ON A BRAND
NEW YAMAHA YDP-181 PIANO

@klynic

cws.gif

If you're looking for other quality posts to read,
these are links to other worthwhile curation projects.

  • @catweasel and @enchantedspirit do a project very similar to this one called The Magnificent Seven. It is published every couple of days or so on his blog. There are about 15 of them so far.

  • @mitneb devotes her efforts to The @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report. She focuses on finding newcomers to Steemit whose first language is not English. She finds some interesting people. She also includes some of her own "most interesting articles" at the end of her posts.

  • @ethandsmith is doing podcasts about other pieces he enjoyed from The Steem Engine's membership. Look for ones like this ---> The STEEM Engine Express Episode 3 There are (obviously) two previous ones as I write this.

  • The Daily Whistle Stops -- found at the @thesteemengine account publishes one of the best general audience curation collections on Steemit if I do say so myself. Go ahead, ask me about it. I'll be happy to say it again. There are about 18 posts to enjoy at the moment. The group itself is astonishingly new for the amount of raw talent assembled there. If you create exceptionally fine content and especially if you consider it undervalued, check this out. It could change your whole Steemit adventure!

  • @goldendawne is the head writer for The Daily Qurator. Again, if you're a producer of quality content on Steemit, you might want to join @qurator ... if you haven't already. They make it worth your while and they're a lot easier than I am to get along with.

  • Finally, @shadowspub does the redoubtable grandmother of all curation efforts on Steemit, The Steemit Ramble. You can find plenty of issues from it on her blog. She also hosts a Thursday discord feature (twice every Thursday, so you have a chance to catch at least one) Pimp Your Post Thursday. You can find out more about it also on her blog

break1.gif

The author of this list of curated posts by members of The STEEM Engine is @enchantedspirit whose mostly metaphysical writing can be found on her own blog.

cws.gif

steemengineBanner.png

cws.gif

Sort:  

Hey! Can't leave the filmographer behind! Someone's got to catch the Opal. Although my wife would probably take better videos anyway. I should nab some of those too.

Thanks kindly for the mention.

Well, next time there's a squirrel, you'd jolly well better catch the action, then. That's why she pays you the big bucks, you know. At least that's what she told me. (I think she may have her own account. So, if you're ever missing any crypto ... look there.)

thanks so much for featuring! I dropped by at @klynic's post as well. looks like you had a very good time. and I echo what @enchantedspirit said - "it's way too short!" :)

It is way too short!! And like with yours, I've had to listen to it several times. Maybe gonna wear it out if I keep this up. Thank you for shouting encouragement at him. Musicians, like all artists, have to stick together.

Once again thank you so much @enchantedspirit for featuring my post. I wrote a fun post out of boredom, imagining what the future would be like if everything was paid for by Steem or SBD. With one burger joint already accepting Steem here, we hope to see more merchants that will make this happen soon in Malaysia. Have an awesome week!

Thanks for noticing my post. I'm honored to be mentioned here. Maybe my meanderings can be helpful to other Steemians. I will take a look at some of these other posts as well.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.57$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56