The Wisdom of the Amish?

in #culture6 years ago

buggy.jpg

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

Ya know I lived in Northeastern Ohio for a number of years and
one of the best things about my location was the fact that there
was a large Amish community about an hour South of us.

We thoroughly enjoyed going down into Amish country to shop
or just to see the beautiful countryside with rolling hills and all
the Amish farms.

amish place.jpg

One of our favorite trips was to visit Lehmans Hardware Store
in Kidron. It was the town that time forgot. It was like stepping
back 100 years into the past because it was in the middle of
Amish country.

kidron.jpg

When you enter the town on Main St there are horses and buggies
everywhere and both side of the street are full of parked buggies.
Hardware stores like Lehmans haven't changed much in the last
100 years except for modern refrigerators which run on propane.
It's the best place to buy new woodburning stoves.
parked.jpg

stove.jpg

I have alot of respect for the Amish because they don't let the
tech crazed world bother them too much. But is that wise and
are they foolish not to adopt major technology like the rest of
the world?

Amish hay baling.jpg

Do you know that the Amish are watching us? Yes it's true!
We're their guinea pigs. The Amish are not stupid and are not
"backwards" because of close-mindedness or stubbornness.

No. When new technology comes out they wait and see what
it does to our society and then discuss it among the leaders to
see if the result is negative or positive.

Amish planting.jpg

The two main technologies which they reject are cars and
television. Well when they saw that the teenage pregnancy
rate sky-rocketed because for the first time teens had an easy
way to get away from their parents...that didn't sit too well
with them, too damaging to the fiber of their society.

And television with all the junk being brought into their homes
from a lost and carnal world... you can understand why they
didn't want that pollution.

Amish farm.jpg

Both of these technologies tend to damage family and neighbors
in that they bring separation instead of keeping friends, family
and neighbors in a close bond. This is paramount to the Amish.

How many of your neighbors do you know? I guarantee you that
the Amish know all of theirs. I'm not saying that we need to but it
certainly works for them as one of their foundational principles
to live by.

Amish barn building.jpg

And they ain't changing anytime soon. Just look at these stats:
In the 1960s and 1970s, 75% of Amish children would decide to
become Amish adults. The most recent statistics show that’s up
to 95%.

Amish teens are allowed to go into the "English" world to see if
they like it or not, like getting a job at McDonalds for instance.
If they want to join the outside world they can and then are free
to come and go as they please as far as visiting family and
friends but they have to move out from their parents house.

Amish winter roads.jpg

But nowadays almost all of them are choosing to become Amish
adults and stay with the community full time. In other words they
go out, take a look at the way the English are living with all the
chaos and messed up values and they're saying NO THANKS!

The Amish are the most stable community group in America and
instead of looking foolish they make the rest of us look foolish!

thanks for stopping in folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- you might be a redneck if:

this is how you water ski!
redneck water skiing.jpg

Sort:  

Wanted to let you know that @headchange featured you in their Entry Post to Week 9 of the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

The Amish community is pretty amazing from what I have seen and the interactions I've had on various vacations. Sure some of their ways seem "odd" to most, but their commitment to their beliefs is beyond what most can ever claim to have.

you are so right about the Amish..especially when everyone is stressed to the max and want to live in peace all we have to do is look at the Amish to see how that is possible.
thanks for the headsup about @headchange..I saw that this morning, it was very kind of her. thanks so much @thedarkhorse and for your vote!

I was born in Reading, PA, and my brother in Lancaster. We grew up in Amish country, and I went to college in Warsaw, IN just a few miles west of Ft. Wayne. Now, the Amish have established two settlements within 15 miles of us here in Aroostook County since we moved here in the 90s...

If I had things to do over, I might even have converted back as a young man--I have that much respect for their ways and culture. I have some minor theological disagreements, but not enough to have not put those aside for the greater benefits of raising a family the way they do it.

wow @mepatriot that is so interesting. I am very familiar with the group in Indiana having lived in Bluffton.
What do you mean you might have converted back, you're saying you started out being Amish?
and it's such good news to hear that they are moving into your part of the country, they must be
spreading fairly fast to other areas because I was just told they were moving into Central Kentucky.

Converted "back when I was young."

I am Pennsylvania Dutch (i.e. German) on my mother's side, going back, but no Amish as far as I can tell.

Their pure food farming is what is going to save America's health, if anything can.

yes sir, I'm so glad they are spreading across the country. It's probably the only GOOD thing that is!
when we were in Ohio we were so spoiled because are favorite store was a health food store that got almost all of it's produce and meats from the Amish so it was all organic and the best quality! one of the few things that I miss. I need to find out if there are any here in TX, might be too hot for them.

I grew up in Northern Indiana. All my neighbors where Amish. They are amazing people and have wonderful communities. Great post

oh very good! I lived in Bluffton just South of Fort Wayne for several years and was familiar with the Amish in the area, they're the best in many ways! thanks and God bless you sir!

I know the Bluffton area well.

oh that's so cool, thank you!

They are starting to move into our area from PA and NY. And I don't mind one bit! Maybe I can learn something!

oh my gosh there is so much you can learn from them, the ultimate homesteaders! that's exciting to hear and I'm not even there. The only thing bad about them moving in is the road situation..because in so many rural areas of KY the roads are so narrow, more like paved paths. In Ohio with wide roads there were way too many tragic accidents where fast driving idiot English would cause fatal crashes, just heart-breaking so in parts of KY that would be a serious concern.

Our road is one of those one lane paved paths. I hope I never meet a buggy on our road! There's either a cliff or the creek. Yikes

oh my! well just drive like an old lady! thanks so much @thefarmerswife

This is great! I have a lifelong facination with the Amish. I believe there is much to be gained by the lifestyle. Good work ethic and simple living can be hard to come by these days.
Also your photos are amazing. I think I will add this to my Payitforward post this week.

@headchange howdy from Texas! where are you located?
thanks so much for your comment, I have a deep respect for the Amish as well, in case you are interested
I did another post about them and the FDA: https://steemit.com/food/@janton/amish-vs-the-fda
which has more great photos. I will post about them in the future because I had so much information that
I didn't use in order to make the post more readable. thanks again!😀

I will eventually read my way through your whole blog. Your posts are great, I think you will do well here for sure.
When I have time I love to read the blogs here. I already know I love yours.

@headchange you are too kind! You are a very good writer, I went to your blog and you are talented!
Will be interesting to see what you come up with..there are so many Red Pill topics to research.
Hey you are also in Redneck country, at least parts of VA are. I hope my redneck jokes aren't offensive, we laugh at each other
around here.
thanks again!

Thanks so much! Yes way too many Red Pill topics. Sometimes I get so busy reading I forget to write.
Oh yeah we are rocking the redneck theme around here. No offence at all I was actually just getting a laugh from your redneck hot tub.
I poke a bit of fun myself at times.
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@headchange/to-bee-or-not-to-bee-a-prepper-gift

howdy there @headchange! I checked out that post and saw @Beeyou and @Doomsdaychassis
and ya'll were rockin the comments wow! lol. I like what doomsdaychassis said about coyotes..
"I have shot the shit out of those horrible bastards." because I just wrote a post about coyotes!
you're really funny and a great writer so I hope you write more. did you see the joke about water
skiing? I probably shouldn't have put that in there because that's probably the way ya'll do it in VA!

I do hate those damn things. Let me find you a pic of my make shift pool heater. You will like it. My daughter wanted to go swimming in November in the midwest . Lol

Be right back.

ha! thank you doomsdaychassis so nice of you to stop by!

Found it. I think it was more late September actually.
Like red green says " if she doesn't find you handsome, she should at least find you handy. "
FB_IMG_1527649816893.jpg

lol! that is classic! see rednecks can always come up with a solution! thanks so much doomsdaychassis.

Hey I just noticed you forgot the handy dandy little link for photo credits. Better watch out the content police sometimes vote down your pay out if they think it is plagiarized.
Ok I am off to take snapshots of books

yeah sometimes I forget. one of the big guys that I follow
said those suck, no one cares and he never uses them so
I kind of relaxed after that but I probably should more often,
I don't even know how to use the photo credit link!
it's a redneck way of doing posts.

There are a few more people who will be dropping in.
Just thought I would mention it. Causing you trouble is the opposite if my intention

oh thank you @headchange! what trouble could that be?
hey here is another "redneck repairs" post that I did in case
you need some laughs sometime. Not quite as good as the other
one and I messed up on the length of my sentences so it got all
jumbled but it's an early one so...
https://steemit.com/funny/@janton/i-done-fixed-it-like-new

I used to live near a large Mennonite and Amish community here in the state of Michigan and one time I came across a barn raising. People will pull over on the side of the road and just watch the event. It was literally amazing to see how the community came together and worked.

Every so often we'd see Amish wagons on the roads on Sunday mornings heading to their church (which if I'm not mistaken is a new location every week)

howdy @goldendawne and thank you for reading. It seems like there is an Amish settlement in every state. well maybe not
in California! Hey your comment reminds me of that great Harrison Ford movie where he goes to live with the Amish for
awhile, it was called Witness, did you ever see that one? If you haven't it's the most accurate depiction of their lifestyle
found in a movie, as far as I know, and they have a famous barn-building scene in the movie. anyway they are the ultimate
Homesteaders...thanks again. God bless you!

Interesting article and surprising statistics. I didn't think there'd be anything like 95% opting to stay in the community.

yes Ma'am I was surprised too! I thought the kids would be so rebellious and they did used to be much more so, this is a surprising trend. well they all have internet and cell phones so I guess it's not totally primitive.

(Pro defo calling...)
I couldn't help but notice the Zapf Chancery Bold Font on the "Welcome to Kidron" plate! Then, I've made a virtual visit to the place, and it seems that Amish LOVE typography that harmoniously blends with the aesthetical and meaningful "purpose" of brands and places. The plates are not to be seen "in clusters," and this adds so much more to the pleasure that one can perceive from the design... Thank you for sharing! ∜mp

howdy @me422us! thanks so much for commenting but I must confess you lost me in the part of the description which says "the plates are not to be seen in clusters" what does that mean? In fact what does "Pro defo calling" mean? you are a language expert? thanks so much me422us I'm confused but fascinated!

Hi, @janton, and thank you for your time! We are strategic assistants in written communication. "Pro defo calling" means that in design and typography, altering the distance to get noticeable "appreciation" of how good, bad or insufficient it is, is added to a specific skill set and helps us measure how to improve or to make s.th. stand out of the rest. This village takes into account the distance in a rare 360°, and that they have managed to organize it in a non-competitive way is worthy of our admiration. A clustered design refers to "randomized/chaotic visualizations." Like in writing, controlling the "saturation" in product management is a proof for a well-developed analytical capacity to bring value to either the message, the longevity/transcendence of it or both... ∜mp

thank you for the explanation @me422us!
what do you do with the specialized knowledge which you possess?
Yes the Amish are not competitive in a cut-throat manner which is indeed admirable.

@janton, we are limited to "language structures"—almost always providing writing solutions, editorial work, and web development. Currently, we are working on ways of bridging intercultural cohesion through much of the same, and steemit is a platform for our "coffee breaks" since we also need those :) ∜mp

so you are good guys doing good work!
that's my Redneck interpretation.
very valuable work it seems to me. do us a favor and take ALOT
of coffee breaks!

I love these photos. The Amish have always fascinated me, but I've never lived anywhere close to them...as far as I know. Interesting that bit about them watching us and evaluating our technology.

thank you so much for commenting @ginnyannette...yes the Amish are very wise to study the results of technology on society and only adapt that which can improve their lives but enable them to maintain their culture and community. I will be doing more posts on the Amish with interesting photos and more in depth about their ways because we can learn alot from them. God bless you!

They have a very large group just East of here, Good people! :)

The Amish did something I really respected this last election. They voted for the first time in History, in numbers large enough to deliver Penn; against Hillary.

The MSM asked one of their elders why. He told them that Hillary was the spirit of Anti-Christ...on live TV; ROFLOL! Watch what you ask, you might not get the answer you expect.

oh that is so interesting and didn't know about that! yes I've never heard of them voting before. and I didn't know they were in OK either, very good.

First time it ever happened! They registered 70,000 new voters, and Trump won by 40,000! No wonder she was pissed, ROFLOL!

Yes they are just east of Tulsa in an area calle Mazie landing. They have one large farmhouse that serves food (by gaslight) to about 100 people twice a weekend. They bring the food in by buggy, and use the money to buy more land for their kids to farm. The food is simple, and excellent! :)

They bring the food in by buggy, and use the money to buy more land for their kids to farm. The food is simple, and excellent! :)

GENIUS!

thank you sir for commenting and for the resteem @baah!

Yes, the church buys the land, so no taxes. The newlyweds are given a farm, house, barn and everything they need to succeed. Their only payment, is to bring their excess to the farm / restaurant to help the next couple!

These are Not stupid people! :)

These people shame all the wannabe anarchists that claim that label but still support the state under the premise that "Taxation is theft and I am forced to pay them".

They have definately removed themselves from the system!

That was one of the reasons I was so impressed that they voted in Pa last election. That was a massive endevor! :)

ha! I was just going to say that their church is their bank in most communities and like @baah said ..that is brilliant.
yeah they know how to make great food, I've eaten at 3 different restaurants that they own and run and it's wonderful. especially if you're trying to gain weight because it's not exactly low cal or sugar free!

Yes, when you come in, you enter through a store to sit down. When you leave, you exit through the same store. The shelves you didn't notice coming in; are covered with home made goodies you just filled up on!

They have a LOT of secondary sales as people leave. They tell the people waiting to leave, that there is plenty, so not to worry (but think about what you want to buy, LOL) there will be plenty when you get there. It is legal.... :)

@smithlabs I think they are a great role model for the rest of us and we
need to support their efforts or duplicate them as far as helping others.

Yes, they live their faith! They set up as a Church, a canning line to make food for their Missionaries to distribute over seas. An Engineer I used to work with helped them about every other month. They used pressure cookers, and filled hundreds of metal cans. In the winter, they canned meats. :)

oh this is something I didn't know about them! you're saying they send missionaries overseas? I wonder where..and by "canning" are you talking about jars or metal cans?
you're just full of information @smithlabs!

I do not know where the missionaries go. Yes they actually put the food in CANS, not bottles. Ships better.

I AM full of something, Just ask my wife! :)

lol! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46