Amish vs the FDA?

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Amish farm2.jpg

Hey folks!
I was reading a great post by the amazing @papa-pepper about going
to the annual Spring Planting Festival which is held in Mansfield MS
every year, it's all about using Heirloom seeds and plants. In other
words non-engineered food.

That reminded me about the Amish and how they have thrived for
generations by working with nature and not fooling around with
hybrid seeds and such but I remembered some of them being
harassed by the FDA so I looked it up.

The feds have made things difficult for different members of the
Amish around the U.S. which always gets me riled up but in
Kentucky a federal judge actually sentenced an Amish man to
6 years in federal prison for growing and selling herbal remedies.

Of course that's a big problem with the feds because he didn't
go through the FDA for approval. Another problem is that the
judge didn't like him because he "is stubborn." In other words
he refused to fall down at the feet of the feds and FDA.

I was thinking "my God, if he don't like stubborn don't come to
Texas!" He never met stubborn until he meets Texas stubborn.

Anyway this photo is the best I've ever seen illustrating the food
supply situation in the U.S. The top photo is what we all want
and the bottom is what corporate agriculture like Mansanto want.
Big Food is what I call that consortium.
Amish vs FDA.jpg
Natural News had this photo on their site dealing with another
case where the FDA forced an Amish farmer to stop his raw milk
business. I guess he wasn't as stubborn so he shut it down. God
only knows what would have happened if he'd refused.

Amish milk delivery.jpg

I know this is depressing stuff but there is good news! Things are changing
and there is a growing movement among the citizens to push back against
Big Food. The festival that I mentioned at the top is one of the ways that
regular people are pushing back... growing their own real food with no
chemicals, toxic pesticides or herbicides.

There are also groups which are becoming very powerful especially when
they work together. Two of them are The Center For Food Safety and
Vani Hari AKA the Food Babe at foodbabe.com.

I think it's fascinating that even with Big Food working hand in hand with
Congress and multimillion dollar lobbyists pressuring Congressmen
that corporate ag is still being forced to start making changes.

The organic foods movement is huge and people are demanding cleaner,
less toxic food and additives. Major companies are being forced to change
ingredients in their products. Check out this list of companies which
Vani Hari and her army has forced to make healthy changes:

  1. Subway
  2. Kraft Foods
  3. General Mills
  4. Chick-Fil-A
  5. Chipotle
  6. Panera Bread
  7. Anheuser-Busch
  8. Miller Coors
  9. Whitewave
  10. Starbucks
  11. In-N-Out Burger

Details are available on her site as to what as to what she and her army
did to force changes and what those changes are.

Most campaigns are through social media and are extremely effective
because companies hate bad publicity.. so there is alot to be hopeful
about my friends. I have faith in the people and I believe we are going
to force even the corporate giants to go organic and clean. It's an
uphill battle but I think we are already winning.

Thanks for reading my friends!
-jonboy Texas

ps- you might be a redneck if:

that jar of hair gel on your bathroom sink is a can of axle grease!

field.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful article, sir! Monsatan is my least favorite company ever...right up there with GM, Bechtel, Halliburton, Starbucks, and XE Corp (military "contractors".)

Monsatan had been suing farmers that neighbor their GMO-farming fools for "drift," i.e. for "growing" Monsatan's crops when a few seeds would wind-drift over into their organic fields--and they've typically won! To me, nothing shows the incestuous relationship between Big Ag and the corrupt swamp court system than that! Of course, the same can be said of Big Pharma, most big military contractors, etc.

so true. I'm not familiar with Bechtel though, are they Ag or military?
"Monsatan!" lol that's funny but unfortunately it fits. I had forgotten about the insane suing of innocent farmers who aren't with them and about the hybrid plants and all, that name really does fit.

Military. Tightly connected to the neocon elite, just like Halliburton.

Congratulations @janton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

thank you @steemitboard much appreciated!
my vote is recharging at the moment.

Congratulations @janton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

First upvote in three days for ya, my friend. It did take it up to $.02 from$.01, so I must have gotten a little power back. At least this thread has a chance of not getting "dusted" now....lol....

P.S. I had a mini-whale like my poem this morning, so it could turn out to be a good day on steemit for yours truly too!

thank you sir! some Northerners DO have hearts!
I hope we get more upvotes as we grow because it don't seem like we have
many to help others with, I need about 50 a day!

LOL...we'll get there. Keep on steeming on, my friend.

(Just don't quit your day job.)

@janton On behalf of the #steemitbloggers, I would like to offer my support on this post as a part of the recently launched #steemitbloggerssupport initiative.

thank you Ma'am! @jaynie the work you are doing to help minnows is SO
important to the platform and to us minnows, I love the concept and will
be a tireless supporter of your group.

On behalf of the #steemitbloggers family I've upvoted your post because I consider this to be Quality Content. Here I was of the opinion that as per the news I received from my cousin's mother's trip to Atlanta that the food over there is better than India in Quality. Looks like that's out of the window.

howdy @amarbir! thanks so much for the vote, I see you are from India..what a great nation with such importance in the world as well as great food and wonderful people who have been such good allies of the United States and we are thankful for her. As for as our food, sadly it is in very poor condition nutritionally and the soil is seriously contaminated with toxic chemicals like Glysophates which cause cancer, I'm getting ready to do a post on that subject. Most supplement companies which I buy from have their farms in other countries because they can't find farms in the U.S. which are not poisoned. Our disease rates are skyrocketing and that's one reason why. thank you so much and God bless you!

God bless India as well America then?

howdy back @amarbir! sorry it took so long, I was outside most of the day working on our property and I got behind. but to answer your question Yes! God wants to bless all nations and wants to see all people live in peace and prosperity.

Yup. But if we the people don't take the necessary RESPONSIBILITY for making things happen then God's blessings will be of no use to us at all.

howdy @amarbir! Yes we can't live anyway we want and receive God's blessing but is our responsibility to receive what He has already done for us. Thanks so much for replying!

Your Welcome and Happy Mother's Day to your mom from my end.

thank you and God bless you and your family as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33