Where do you store your crypto? Hardware , Software , Exchange?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow steemians,

I have just a question for you this time.

Where do you store your cryptocurrencies?


  • do you use a Hardware wallet like Ledger Nano S, Trezor
  • do you use a software wallet like Exodus, Electrum, Jaxx
  • do you only put your crypto on exchanges? Coinbase, Kraken, Binance

I personally use only sofware wallets and exchanges

I know it is not the best idea to do but half of my portfolio is still on exchanges.
I would like to spread it around on software wallets mainly or perhaps on a Hardware wallet.

My personal favourite software wallet is Exodus because it is just so easy to use and the GUI is very appealing.
Another benefit is that it can handle multiple cryptocurrencies.
Backup can be done via a phrase seed and you can also generate an email backup link.
This last one I find a bit dangerous especially when your email gets hacked. (you never know)
I would have loved it if there was 2FA but still they haven't implemented it.
The transaction fees using the network for sending crypto are very reasonable and I even think they are one of the cheapest out there.

Schermafdruk van 2018-12-12 09-48-02.png

exodus.jpg

The rest of my portfolio is spread across 2 exchanges Kraken and smaller amount on BTCPOP (for lending investing)
I also use Cryptopia for smaller trades and stuff but I don't store anything long term there.

I am thinking about a Hardware wallet but not sure if it is really worth the investment.
If you back up everything and have a couple of places where you store your keys and seedphrases things will be fine I guess.
Off course if anyone finds those keys and seedphrases you are screwed.

Where do you store your valuable crypto's?
Comment beneath thx for your effort!

giphy (1).gif


PREVIOUS POSTS
BITCOIN ALTCOIN DOWN THE DRAIN
HOW MUCH VOTING POWER YOU NEED TO HAVE
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 4
BITCOIN WILL HAVE THAT POWER
BOUGHT MYSELF A GAMING PRESENT CRYPTO WINTERSLEEP
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 3
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 2
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 1
PLATFORMS AND FAUCETS I USE FOR GROWING MY ACCOUNT


My Crypto Referal Page
Best Crypto earning site
Cointiply
Best Investing – Loan – Staking site
BTC Pop Faucet
Interesting ICO
ASK permission token GET 250 coins

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I will only ever trust hardware wallets, if you don't have the private key you don't have crypto!

And which one do you use then? You have a private key in the Exodus wallet you have to go to developper mode to retrieve it. Off course the seed phrase is actually your master key pasword.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59991.95
ETH 2664.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45