Craft Adventures: Bamboo Natural Fiber Half Double Crochet Giant Dread Hat

in #crochet6 years ago

I've been wanting to get my hands on some natural fibers to crochet with since I first started honestly. I started with acrylic which I suggest everyone do because it's cheap and easy to use. The drawback is it's itchy and doesn't look very nice which is where other fibers come in. John purchased me a bunch of black and white bamboo yarn which I intend to dye as needed for projects with natural dyes, making for a better product. Not only that but this yarn is the softest yarn. I just finished this hat for John, although I intend to dye it very soon.

I got a few photos of the process. I adapted the same pattern I used to make my hat. It was different in several regards requiring more rows despite being the same size as the hat that I made. This is due to the fact that the diameter of the yarn is small, which is partially why I used both black and white. Soon I will make a more breathable hat with just one, likely the white so I can dye it.

Everything I've learned has come from youtube or pinterest, so thanks to all the people putting the free patterns out there. I'm sure I'll be one soon.

For those who understand what I am talking about, this was done doing the half double crochet stitch. I ended up using around 100 grams of my bamboo yarn yielding a thick and soft hat I'm a bit envious of. I am in the process of making a black and white headband I intend to dye with yellow to compensate.

So my first attempt was this, which was done with a smaller needle and wasn't turning out as expected. I decided to pull it all out learning that bamboo yarn is easy to untangle in the process.

It's adapted to be extra large to accommodate for his giant hair. A neighbour asked the price and thought I was kidding when I told him 600 pesos. Between the time and materials involved that's actually a great price, something he saw a little once I explained that it took more then ten hours to make.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Craft Adventures: Change Purse Crochet Tutorial
Craft Adventures: My First Dread Hat
5 Lessons Learned While Learning to Crochet

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Funny Story About Honesty Featuring @dragonanarchist
Lessons Learned Farming Birds
How to Make Raw Overnight Oats

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Good instructions. Thanks for all the pictures, they make it easier to follow.
_ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _
Want a few smiles and laughs? Check out @puddlejumper for new jokes each day!

Wow. You are so talented.
I love the hat and it looks good on John.
You should sell these.

I likely will, especially on request.

You're right, at 600 pesos you'd be giving him a great deal. Selling yourself short almost at that price...considering how long it took to make and what it's made of. I love how it turned out and cannot wait to see it dyed! Sending love ♡

It is interesting how we have to adjust our expectations when in Mexico lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49