Star Wars Crochet: Amigurumi Boba Fett

in #crochet5 years ago

IMG_6704.JPG

Continuing my series of amigurumi Star Wars characters from the instructions from the Star Wars Crochet craft kit, I decided to make Boba Fett.

IMG_6575.JPG

I had been interested in making this one for a while, but I felt that I didn't have the right colors of yarn to make it work, especially the sage green and light gray that make up the bulk of the figure. But after I picked up some new yarn I got started on it.

IMG_6576.JPG

IMG_6580.JPG

IMG_6581.JPG

The red might be a little brighter than is ideal, as is the yellow that gets incorporated a bit later, but since they're mostly highlight colors I think it works OK, and the main green and gray seem like good fits to me. One of the reasons I was excited to try this project was because it introduced a technique I hadn't learned before, pulling loops through existing crochet to form new slip stitches on top of it. It's used here for the vertical part of the red outline on Boba Fett's helmet.

IMG_6585.JPG

IMG_6586.JPG

IMG_6597.JPG

I'm not sure if I've ever paid a ton of attention to all of the elements of Boba Fett's design, but he wears a belt with a lot of pouches. This design incorporates that via bobble stitches. I think you can sort of make it out, although maybe I should have popped them out a bit farther, or made a bubblier bobble.

IMG_6660.JPG

Similarly, I'm not sure I ever noticed that he has yellow knee and shoulder pads, but when I compared the design to reference photos from the movies he does.

IMG_6681.JPG

IMG_6682.JPG

IMG_6685.JPG

IMG_6686.JPG

The pattern calls for gray pieces to be crocheted separately and attached to the head to form some of the helmet details. I tried following the pattern exactly but the gray pieces on the side were turning out too short for me, so I made them a few stitches longer than the pattern called for.

IMG_6688.JPG

IMG_6689.JPG

The last part of the design from the pattern is the cape/sash thing that hangs from his left shoulder.

IMG_6699.JPG

IMG_6700.JPG

And he's done!

IMG_6701.JPG

IMG_6702.JPG

I believe my crochet technique has been improving somewhat, although there are a few elements here and there that I could still improve. On the R2-D2 project I realized that I was doing some things backwards from the way the book expected them to be done (basically I had been going from the inside out, but now I realize I should have been going from the outside in), so I think this likely makes the color transitions work better. Adding the extra lines of slip stitches to the helmet detail was really interesting to me, before this project I hadn't even realized something like that would be possible. I'm not sure exactly what I would use it for yet, but it seems like it could be a powerful technique since I think it could serve as the base for additional structural elements rather than just being purely decorative like in this particular project.

And here's my whole collection so far:

IMG_6705.JPG

What's next?

I'm not sure what my next project will be. I would like to try to design some more of my own, like with my Thing or my leprechaun, but I also feel like I want to develop a better way to visualize the designs before I start working on them so I can get details like hairlines or superhero logos to work more smoothly. I might also try another of the Star Wars projects, although I might need more yarn colors. One possibility I'm considering is revisiting one I've already done, such as the stormtrooper, to try applying the things I've learned and skills I've (hopefully?) improved to see if that makes a difference.

Sort:  

It is so fun to read your crochet journey with this one Star Wars kit @danmarushak. And you pretty much will have a full set of characters which you can keep as a collector's item and probably sell them at a high price in later years :) Does the kit include sample colour yarn or do you need to source them yourself?

The kit included a few different colors of yarn, enough for the first few figures, but beyond that you need to find your own.

Outstanding work as usual, @danmaruschak. I've read a few of the Star Wars characters you've created, and they always turn out impressive, despite whatever setback or obstacle there may be. I would say you've been learning a lot in the doing.

Boba Fett turned out great, and I think the shade choice of colors works well, along with the different details like the cape.

Just out of curiosity, any idea how long this one took to put together, and have you seen a reduction in the time that it takes to put together one now, as opposed to when you first started?

Congratulations on the curie and the blocktrades upvotes. Well deserved.

Just out of curiosity, any idea how long this one took to put together

I'm not sure, I haven't been keeping close track. This one took a while because I wasn't focusing on it as consistently as I wanted to.

What a great Boba Fett! And isn't it great learning new techniques?

I admire your patience to work amigurumi :-D I love the little figures but I am much too nervous with a small hook and a tiny creature. Your Boba Fett is amazing.

Excelente amigo.. saludos desde Venezuela.

Excellent work @danmaruschak, also I knit and I know the great work and the detail and ingenuity that it is necessary to have to elaborate small amigurumi.

votogif.gif

I truly admire you for being able and have the patience for this. I used to crochet when I was younger and I know how hard it is to work on a small project like this. You have the advantage of having everything written down for you but even so, it's still hard work, you need a lot of patience to do it. You already have a nice collection. Good luck to you :)

Hi danmaruschak,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

It's amazing to see the progress on each photos! Great job!

I'd like to give you an invite on another platform built on the steem blockchain. You may want to share your crafts with us at ntopaz. Please check out the links below.

Any questions, you can contact us.

[nTOPAZ Coordinator]

Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99