My first crochet project: Amigurumi Yoda

in #crochet5 years ago

AmigurumiYoda

I tried to get into knitting a few years ago to see if it would be a hobby that would help me relax (it didn't work for me), but I had never tried crochet. One of the presents I got for my birthday late last year was a “Star Wars Crochet” craft kit, with a book of Star Wars character crochet patterns by Lucy Collin and some yarn to make some of the characters (it was a thrift-store buy so the original crochet hook was missing). After my birthday I got busy with the hustle and bustle of the holidays so I didn't have a chance to try it, but over the past week I set aside some time and gave the first project a shot: Yoda.

IMG_5115.JPG

I couldn't quite figure out from the book how to do the basic crochet stitches, but watching some YouTube videos got me started. I practiced the basic stitches with some old yarn I had lying around and a crochet hook sized for typical yarn, and then once I felt I was getting the hang of it I started in with the thin yarn included in the kit and a small crochet hook I picked up at the store. At first the smaller hook and yarn was quite frustrating, but over the course of the project I think I eventually got the hang of it.

IMG_4879.JPG

IMG_4880.JPG

IMG_4881.JPG

IMG_4907.JPG

IMG_4910.JPG

Although there were aggravations involved with learning how to do things, and messing things up and having to back up or start over, overall I found it to be fun. And once I absorbed the basics it was cool to see how the individual stitches are used like a menu of parts that are utilized to achieve different effects. For example, I found it kind of delightful that the feet were done as sets of three popcorn stitches that poke out from the round rather than being separate parts to be sewn on.

IMG_4913.JPG

I'm still getting the hang of a lot of things. Changing colors is still something I'm not 100% sure about, and I don't feel I have a complete handle on weaving in ends or stitching parts together, but I think I did pretty well for my first effort.

IMG_5004.JPG

IMG_5083.JPG

IMG_5095.JPG

I've been working on it in small chunks over the past week and finished it yesterday. Things came together surprisingly quickly in the end, probably partly because my skills were improving as time went on and partly because the core figure is the biggest part and so the later parts had less stitching per part and therefore took less work to complete.

IMG_5096.JPG

IMG_5097.JPG

IMG_5099.JPG

IMG_5100.JPG

IMG_5102.JPG

I really liked this project. I think crochet, or at least crocheting amigurumi things, works much better for me than knitting did. For one thing I don't really care about making clothes very much, but making cool little characters gets me far more emotionally engaged. For another thing I was comfortably able to do it all standing at my desk (one of the issues I had with knitting was that it led me to sit in one position for a long time, which would cause my back muscles to cramp up). I also found it a lot easier to start and stop, and easier to keep track of where I was without losing count while working on the individual steps. I'm probably going to make the next project in the book, and maybe get the yarn to do some more. It seems like each of the projects have some different nuances, such as more complex color changes, etc., so I think following the book will probably be a good way for me to learn and practice. If the projects continue to be fun I might even try to get into the craft deeply enough to try making my own patterns – it seems like that could be really interesting.

Sort:  

I have seen that box in stores before and I was so tempted to buy. Cooool! You did it! Love your Yoda. It looks so cute and just like the real one. Love the Jedi robe :)
I too prefer crochet over knitting because I feel I have better control with crochet in terms of tension and the ease to fix things. Knitting, I like it too but I haven't been able to knit well enough yet.
Which character will you be crocheting next? :)

The next one is a stormtrooper. I started last night and am a few rounds into it.

aaaaaawww so cute. May the force be with you ... made me want to try crochet. It looks very easy to do. or at least you make it look very easy. well done. the Jedi would be proud LOL

Great job for your first crochet piece! He turned out so cute!

Ha! howdy from Texas danmaruschak! Look at that cute little Yoda, that is too cool! I think this is a great job especially for your first one! You must have alot of patience!

He is very cute - glad you enjoyed making him!

That is the coolest step by step post EVER!!! OMYODA!! :" I saw a little man sittin on a log and in a raspy voice he turned and looked at me and said his name was crochet YODA Y. O. D. A. YODA.... laaalallaaa" I want to make too!

Wow this is your first crochet project?! Good job... yo da man! XD XD XD
                   
And congrats for the curie vote ^_^.

I love Star Wars and your yoda character! It’s amazing that you were able to do this as your first crochet project. Great job.

It isn't too late for a birthday wish, is it? Happy birthday!🎉

This piece looks really cute, I really wouldn't mind having that. I wonder how much more cute it will look in other colors (maybe more vibrant ones?)🤔. It amazing how you made this and it came out beautifully, on your first try.

I learned those basic stitches since when I was a kid and I will do them over and over again, I never learned more... Then, I grew and I guess I grew out of the hobby at the same time, I never will be able to do those cool styles you did though, or maybe its because I didn't give it a try? Now, I wonder if I can still do those basic stitches🤔. Lol! I never learned knitting too, I didn't get the hang of it.

I am sure you will do even better with practice!👍

Hahaha. That was awesome. Even non-star war fans would be amused, if not impressed. Hope you complete the whole universe of characters one day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85