Star Wars Crochet: Amigurumi R2-D2

in #crochet5 years ago

IMG_6024.JPG

For the next project in my series of of amigurumi Star Wars characters from the instructions from the Star Wars Crochet craft kit, I decided to make the R2-D2.

IMG_5938.JPG

One of the little details in this pattern is that it calls for using the plastic safety eyes and corresponding connectors as the joints between the body and the legs.

IMG_5937.JPG

IMG_5962.JPG

IMG_5964.JPG

One of the reasons I picked this project was because it called for sewing on more external details, which was something that gave me trouble on the last one so I thought I'd be able to practice more here. On the positive side my prediction about this being important on this one was correct, on the negative side I still find this frustrating and I'm still not great at it.

IMG_5968.JPG

IMG_5969.JPG

IMG_5971.JPG

My yarn colors weren't an ideal match for R2, I think he's a lighter blue and the gray could be a bit lighter, but it's not too bad. Slightly more frustrating was that I used up the batch of white yarn that I was using with the legs so I had to switch to some different white yarn for the body (the stuff that came with the kit, which I originally used with the stormtrooper). This yarn was stiffer and had a bit more friction than the stuff I had been using, so the end of the project was a little bit aggravating.

IMG_5979.JPG

IMG_5995.JPG

IMG_6007.JPG

IMG_6008.JPG

Since my patience had been wearing a bit thin I reminded myself to follow a “'good enough' is good enough” standard for the final external details. I still find it tricky to figure out where to poke through with the needle when going from the inside to the outside since it's hard to use visual cues. I much prefer it when the details are “built in” to the crochet pattern since I feel like I have more reliable reference points for how to do things there.

IMG_6014.JPG

IMG_6015.JPG

When I attached the side-legs I worried that I might have made them a bit too wide, but it's hard for me to tell if that's due to how I positioned the “eye” connectors or just how I stuffed the legs, or if I'm just being neurotic.

IMG_6016.JPG

IMG_6017.JPG

With the body stuffed I was able to finish up the pattern, with the bottom of his cylindrical body that then extends out again to form R2's third foot that he uses when he's moving.

IMG_6019.JPG

IMG_6023.JPG

I was in a somewhat bad mood last week for other reasons, so in retrospect it may not have been the best idea to pick a project that would have elements I would find frustrating. Still, I think I learned some things (I realized I may have been doing something backwards, which may explain a few things that I've found consistently puzzling, I'll have to explore in a bit more depth on my next project). Still, even with the frustrations and the bad mood I still think this was an overall positive experience. Here's the whole current collection:

IMG_6027.JPG

What's next?

I haven't decided what project I'm going to do next yet. It would be nice to do R2's companion C-3PO but I think the yarn colors I have would be a real stretch for 3PO. I could also try another experimental side-project, like my Amigurumi Thing.

Sort:  

Yay for learning more and figuring things out! I really like your collection of figurines, was the kit beginner level? Did it have good instructions for someone who has never crocheted?

I don't know if I'd say it's beginner-level or not (I don't really have a basis for a comparison), but I think I'm a beginner and it's working for me. The instructions for the stitches themselves were a little hard for me to follow without looking up videos to see people actually doing them, but once you know the building blocks of the stitches and other techniques I find the instructions for each figure to be pretty good.

Thanks, that is good to know! I may have to pick up a kit someday.

That's good. I'd put a woven rope on them and leave it as a key ring. Are there any more kits (books) of other characters? Like the superheroes here in Venezuela I haven't seen any of that, and well if there are any, they're sure to be very expensive.

Since I had never considered doing this until I got this kit as a gift, I wasn't sure what else was out there. But I thought it was an interesting question so I looked up the publisher from the information on the box. Apparently they produce several kits like this.

Me gustaron varios kit como el del zafarí, el de las princesas y los superhéroes.. bueno todos me encantan.. pero no los puedo comprar :( .. Ese seria para mi el mejor regalo que me darían.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I think he turned out great! I'm so impressed by amigurumi.

Posted using Partiko Android

What an amazing work!!!
I am a great fun of Star Wars and I like it.
Congratulations and Steem on!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91