My fourth crochet project: Amigurumi Han Solo

in #crochet5 years ago

IMG_5715.JPG

For the next project in my series of amigurumi Star Wars characters from the instructions from the Star Wars Crochet craft kit I decided to make the Han Solo.

IMG_5646.JPG

As I suspected after my last figure, this turned out to be some good practice with more color transitions. I'm pretty sure I got the hair pattern closer to the intended design on this one. The biggest headache I had here wasn't related to patterns or crochet technique, but for some reason I had a really hard time getting the center-pulls started on my yarn skeins so the yarn was a bit of hassle to deal with.

IMG_5648.JPG

IMG_5649.JPG

IMG_5650.JPG

Due to the “vest” element of the design there were a lot more horizontal color transitions on this one than in my previous projects, and I think they worked out reasonably well (I may have gone one stitch to far with one of the white sections near the bottom, or maybe it's just not the smoothest crossover).

IMG_5674.JPG

The instructions for this one called for embroidering the mouth on after the torso was already crocheted, but I found that to be pretty difficult, I wanted to be able to more easily access the back of the face. To avoid a similar issue with the red stripe on his pants I decided to do that a little earlier in the process than the instructions call for, while the bottom of the “cone” was still fully open. I think that made getting the red line on a bit easier, but I didn't quite get them aligned on the sides of his legs perfectly, they're a little far back. C'est la vie.

IMG_5694.JPG

IMG_5701.JPG

IMG_5702.JPG

IMG_5703.JPG

I also tried experimenting with my approach to vertical color transitions with the belt area. Previously I've mostly been trying to crochet over the tails, but with the belt I didn't do that, I left them loose and wove them in behind later. I think crocheting over the tails looks like it gives nicer blocks of color, so I'm probably going to stick with that in the future, even though it makes things a bit fiddly.

I also noticed that I have a bit of a “twist” in the overall flow of the stitches. The torso doesn't have any increases or decreases so I suspect the stitches are all supposed to line up above each other and get nice vertical lines for the sides of the vest/shirt area, but mine are a bit slanted. I can see how that might be an element of technique, like maybe pulling the stitches too tight so the next round ends being a tiny bit offset relative to the previous round. It's not a huge deal, but maybe points to some more areas where I can keep improving.

IMG_5704.JPG

IMG_5705.JPG

Overall I was pretty satisfied with the results. I think I improved on the skills I was hoping to improve on, and I'm still seeing where I can use some more practice. Overall this was fun once I got it started, for some reason I was in a bit of a funk earlier in the week and had a hard time convincing myself to get started, but once I did it went pretty smoothly. Here's Han standing with the rest of the ever-growing collection.

IMG_5719.JPG

The part that gave me the biggest kick is that my Luke is indeed noticeably shorter than Han. I don't know how much of that is the result of the designs embedded in the patterns and how much is due to the individual variations in my implementation working out that way, but Luke, unlike Han, really is a little short to be a stormtrooper.

IMG_5722.JPG

What's next?

I haven't completely decided on my next project. I might do the Princess Leia, to complete the set of human-looking characters from the set. I could also go for the R2D2. I've ambivalent about trying those because they call for using “silver gray” yarn and the I think the gray yarn I have is a little darker than that. And from skimming the patterns it looks like the Boba Fett has some more complex techniques in it, so that would probably be the most educational, but matching his colors would be difficult with the yarn I have. I'm still enjoying the process and like the results I've been getting (and the feeling that my skills are improving), so I'm almost certainly going to do another one.

Sort:  

Another great edition to the collection! With needlework we definitely learn as we go. The twist result you were speaking of is most likely based off of the joining process. A lot of times if we join in different stitches after finishing a round it can result in a twisted look.

You’ll start getting a better feel of this the more you crochet. You might even stray away from the patterns and begin joining where you see that it will have a better outcome. For instance some patterns tell us to join in the chain stitches that started that round and others tell us to join in the first stitch from that round. I have found in most my projects joining in the first stitch ends up looking neater and coming together better. Either way, doing the exact same thing for each round should result in a vertical outcome/even stitches. Also counting your stitches and making sure you’re not skipping over any might help. But all is trial and error ;)

Thank you for sharing with us this week, I have really been enjoying seeing your collection grow!

Han turned out great, even with the slight diagonal twist. You certainly are learning a lot from doing these! I vote for the Leia next!

Go for princess Leia! :) That would be so nice to see. And it would an amazing addition to your collection :) which I must say is going very nicely and I also see that you're progressing because in this post you talk less about the mistakes than in the last one :) That is a good sign.

Have a great Tuesday!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 210 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Love lovelove it @needleworkmonday members Will love it too

This kind of works is starting to become very famous. I tag a my friend Who likes this.
Congratulations and thank you to share this kind of content with us!!!
Steem on!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @danmaruschak! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's @NeedleWorkMonday Featured Posts! Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

NWMlogo.jpg

#NeedleWorkMonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the needlework community while inspiring the Steemit blockchain. You can read more about us here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86