Cook With Us #32: @adollaraday Pot Luck {Vegan Butternut Mac 'N Cheez}

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181123_100001762_HDR.jpg

Hey there friends! Thanksgiving may have come and gone already, but the delicious leftovers sometimes last for days. For some people I know that is their favorite part of the holiday. I decided to make a dish for this week's special version of @cookwithus that definitely holds over well and sometimes tastes even better the next day. I might have just had a bowl for second breakfast...

This week's contest is more about the spirit of giving than about competition. The @cookwithus crew of @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart are putting the prizes towards @pennsif's fantastic @adollaraday charity. How cool is that? In the spirit of giving I've added @adollaraday as the full beneficiary of the post proceeds for my entry. Thanks to @steempeak for making it super easy to add that in right as I type up my post.

IMG_20181122_170358632.jpg

I told the gang I was going to bring a side dish to the communal table for my pot luck contribution. This is actually a dish I brought yesterday for my family meal. I may have been taking a risk making up a new recipe to bring to a holiday dinner, but I enjoy mixing it up and trying out new things to share with my family. I put together the first part of it in my house before heading over to finish it off. I think I might change a few things and have a slightly better result making it at home without 3 other things in the oven at the same time, but it turned out well enough to share with you all!

Macaroni and cheese is a fairly common dish on the Thanksgiving table, at least here in the South. Luckily there are any number of ways to make this comforting dish vegan. I opted to come up with my own butternut squash cheezy sauce after cooking up a huge squash to also use in my dessert (I'll share the rest of the meal in another post). The squash adds some of that typical cheese color, but keeps the nutritional profile a whole lot healthier! I also made my own nut milk out of pecans since that is another traditional Thanksgiving addition. You could easily use any other plant-based milk.

IMG_20181121_145212144.jpg

Nutritional yeast is generally the key ingredient in really getting that cheesy flavor, so of course I added some of that into my sauce. My fresh sage plant is doing well enough in the garden to include some of it for an extra level of flavor. It pairs really well with winter squash and smells so deliciously aromatic when cooking. I was really happy with that part of the recipe and how creamy the sauce came out. There really isn't anything that you can't make vegan with a little ingenuity and creativity! I rarely use the processed vegan cheezes, but my mom had bought a bag for me to use at our soup swap so I didn't want to waste any food. I figure using it once a year for a holiday meal won't hurt. 😉

IMG_20181122_151329023.jpg

Vegan Butternut Mac 'N Cheez

Makes 10-12 servings

  • 2 cups cooked & mashed butternut squash
  • 1 1/2 cups pecan or other plant-based milk
  • 5 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons white miso
  • 1 tablespoon chickpea flour (can sub another flour to help thicken the sauce)
  • 3 sprigs fresh sage leaves or 1/2 teaspoon dried
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1 (12-ounce) package macaroni pasta (I used brown rice pasta & they only had fusilli which works, too)
  • 1/4 cup each vegan cheddar cheese shreds & bread crumbs to top (if you want to keep it healthier you can omit)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Make your cheezy sauce first by placing the squash through the pepper in a high speed blender. Blend on high until smooth and creamy. Taste and adjust the seasonings to your liking.

Next cook your pasta in boiling water for a few minutes less than the package directions. You want to keep your pasta slightly underdone so it does not over cook in the oven.

Drain the pasta then mix together with your sauce. Pour out evenly into a 9x12 inch casserole dish. Sprinkle with a little bit of vegan cheese and bread crumbs if you like for a nice crust on top. Place in the oven uncovered and cook for 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

IMG_20181123_095851079_HDR.jpg

As far as the changes I think I would make next time, I would either bump up the amount of sauce a little bit or cut down on the pasta to make it creamier. The cozy taste and overall feel was fantastic, but to make it really decadent the extra sauce would put it over the top. It was also tough to get the bread crumbs to really toast up since my mom also had a few other things in the oven going making it hard to keep the temperature even. I suppose I could have finished it off under the broiler for a minute or two, but we were hungry! When eating some leftovers today I just added a few splashes of the extra pecan milk to keep it moist. Definitely just as good the next day. 😋

IMG_20181123_095947389_HDR.jpg

Thanks to the team for making this Thanksgiving even more special. I am very grateful to have this wonderful online community! Can't wait to see the rest of the pot luck meal!

SB_new.png


Sort:  

@plantstoplanks wow my mouth is watering already! Thanks for sharing this with us! 😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Always happy to have that effect. So glad you like it! 😊

Would you believe I’ve never tried vegan macaroni and cheese before. This looks ridiculous 😋. I know it had to be delicious with all of that sweet potato up in there. One of these days I’ll have to try it out. Your a side dish killer, @plantstoplanks. Haha… glad you got good food on your holiday. Cheers!

What?? Well whenever you are able to add some of this back in, I highly recommend it. If you leave off the bread crumbs this one would even have been gluten-free. I actually don't make it very often, but figured it would make for a very satisfying addition to my healthy plant-based holiday plate. Gotta have something a little richer. 😋 I'll definitely share the rest of my plate maybe for my null Monday entry as the broccoli & Brussels salad I made came out pretty darn delish, as well!

🤤 mmmmm, broccoli and Brussels salad… that sounds so good right now! Love where your heads at :) See you Monday friend!

Wow, another delicious vegan dish. I like how you used butternut squash for this mac and cheese. It is quite moist and purees up very saucy. The yeast, mustard, miso, smoked paprika and sage must of given this dish a super savory taste. Thanks so much for contributing to @cookwithus and @adollaraday!

Butternut squash really is a powerhouse! There's so much you can do with it. I'm glad the vegan mac was a hit with everyone. Looks like we put together quite a delicious meal all around! It was fun to see what you all contributed for once, too. :)

I never understood what was such a big fuss about Mac and Cheese, but I would love to have a bowl of yours Katie. So flavorful and gourmet looking 💖😍💖

I think Mac and Cheese was the first thing I learned how to cook on my own as a kid--granted it was from a box back then! Yikes. Definitely another culinary area I am very glad to have progressed to a higher form, haha! I used to eat it a lot when I was younger because it was so easy to make, so I think it hits that comfort food note for sure. It is not often that I make it now, but it's nice to have this up my sleeve when I do!

Well, I know how this Mac in box is popular here, lol. But we didn't have anything like that when I was growing up in Slovakia. My grandmother was making macaroni with other things of course not vegan. But, what I was pretty good at making were crepes and oven roasted potatoes.

Thank you so much for participating and thank you for donating the proceeds of this post to @adollaraday - may you be blessed 100fold and well done on getting the @curie upvote

Thank you all for facilitating! I am so thankful for a little @curie bump to be able to have some value to go to @adollaraday!

That looks very tasty @plantstoplanks.

Thank you for entering this fundraising event, and thank for you for setting @adollaraday as a beneficiary for this post.


The A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thanks! I'm happy to be able to bring a little something to the table in more ways than one. 😊

This is really creative using pecan milk, adding miso and dijon mustard to the butternut squash cheese sauce. I'm going to have to try this one. I'm always looking for alternative cheese sauces that does not use all nuts as the base. Thank you for sharing @plantstoplanks.

Thanks @loveself! I was really happy with how the sauce came out. I don't mind using nuts some, but they can get expensive so I was pleased the squash worked out so well!

I love your inventiveness - mac and cheese is one of my favourites, and this sounds even better than standard! Fresh sage leaves yes please! Pecan milk sounds interesting too.

Thanks for inspiring me to be more creative in the kitchen :D

Aww, I appreciate that. The sage really was a nice flavor. You see it a lot in butternut squash recipes, so I thought it would work with it in this format, as well! The pecan milk was a good additive to the sauce, but I am not liking it quite as much as homemade cashew milk for daily use. I think next up I want to try walnut milk... So much fun to be had in the kitchen! 😉

Glad you like this one, too, babe!

Yep, I may have some more with dinner, too. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57877.75
ETH 3163.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26