Cook With Us Week #26- Vegan Daikon "Scallops" with Parsnip Cauliflower Purée

in #cookwithus6 years ago

IMG_1048-1.JPG

I can't believe it's already season 3 for @cookwithus. Welcome back @offoodandart, @chefsteve and @pandamama. To kick off this season, the theme is root vegetables. There are so many root vegetables I enjoy to eating, I was having a hard time deciding what to make. When I was at the grocery store I spotted two of my favorite root vegetables side by side, I thought I would make daikon "scallops" with a parsnip and cauliflower puree.

IMG_1046.JPG

Daikon Scallops

serves 2

  • 1 medium daikon, peeled and cut into 1" thick coins
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp miso paste
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1 sprig of fresh thyme
  • 1/4 cup water
  • olive oil

Heat a saute pan with some olive oil and add the daikon coins. Sear the daikon coins and flip them over to color the other side. Remove the daikon and add in the sliced onions. Cook the onions until translucent. Add in the miso paste and dijon mustard and cook for another minute.

IMG_1021.JPG

Add in the daikon, maple syrup, water and sprig of thyme. Bring the mixture to a bowl and let the daikon simmer until tender.

IMG_1023.JPG

Remove the daikon and reduce the liquid until a sauce consistency.

Parsnip and Cauliflower Purée

  • 1 large parsnip, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1/2 head of small cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steam the cauliflower and parsnip in the microwave until soft. Place the ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth. Season with salt and pepper. I like the combination of parsnips and cauliflower because the parsnips add a touch of sweetness to the puree.

IMG_1047-1.JPG

I had some riced cabbage leftover from one of my meals so I added it to this dish. The cabbage added some crunch, the daikon was meaty and the purée was creamy. The miso added a depth of umami flavor. This was a perfect fall meal.

Sort:  

This is a great looking meal! I'm not too big on vegan cooking but I am really wondering what that "scallop" tastes like, I'm gonna have to give this one a try.Excellent post!

I like cooking with daikon because it's quite neutral in taste and it absorbs all the flavors. Thanks so much @slowcooking chef.

Absolutely stunning @loveself! From the daikon to the cauliflower puree...this made me very hungry! Beautiful presentation, you are a genius!

You are too kind @birdsinparadise. I've been on the hunt for some boniato after reading your incredible post.

Welcome back @loveself - I've missed your amazing recipes and beautiful photography. learning so much this week - have never heard of daikon before. Would love to be tasting your dish

Thank you @pandamama. It's a mild tasting long radish. If you can't find it, you can substitute using turnips.

Such a stunning entry! I would love to try this beautiful meal. Such a great idea to use the daikon that way, and all of the flavors sound like they would marry so well together!

I find daikon to be quite versatile and it really works well in braises. Thanks so much @plantstoplanks.

Lovely dish @loveself! When I saw the miso, I right away thought the same as you regarding the umami flavor. Yumm! The 'scallops' look great. I like that the exterior was caramelized to elevate its flavor and feel. The parsnip-cauliflower purée looks creamy and a perfect complement to the 'scallops'. Also love that you used leftover ingredients and repurposed it.

Yeah, this surely is a perfect fall meal!

I always try to sneak in some leftovers without my husband knowing since he has an aversion to leftovers unless it's lasagna, haha. Thank you for your feedback.

Haha! That's a great way to do it @loveself! Shhhhhh ...

Welcome back @loveself! What a clever idea to use daikon to make vegan scallops. Your cooking liquid for the daikon sounds like it would temper the daikon's strong favor and add a nice sweet and salty taste. The cabbage and the puree pair so well with the daikon and offer a texture contrast and additional sweet and savory flavors. Thanks so much for sharing this creative dish with us!

You sure do have a way to describe food @chefsteve. I wonder if you were to prepare your favorite root vegetable dish, what would that be? Thanks for your comment.

French Fries with spicy mayonnaise!

Looks fantastic! It looks very beautiful on the plate...I am sure I am not the only one who feel's hungry when looking at it :)

Thanks so much @digi-me. You always seem to spot the most interesting street art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65