Sourdough Pasta Part Two

sourdough pasta.png

Yesterday was a wonderful community building day with @wwf and @carey-page. Carey invited me over to make sourdough pasta. Once upon a time, I used to teach cooking classes (baking mostly) including pasta making…but never did I think to make sourdough pasta. I have been completely enamored with sourdough since I FINALLY got my first loaf to turn out beautifully so I was very excited at the invitation. The pasta making adventure was lovely. We drank some chicory coffee, ate some of Carey’s fantastic sour dough cookies and muffins, and chatted about the amazing plant and fungi medicines that we are blessed to have access to. Leaving our pasta making visit, I was excited to make a batch.

Although I am going to use Carey’s recipe, I am going to make different types of pasta to share with you some other options than the spaghetti and linguine that we made yesterday. You can read Carey's post about our day and see pictures here...

https://steemit.com/cooking/@carey-page/sourdough-pasta

She shares her wonderful recipe there also.

The recipe is very basic…flour, eggs, and sourdough starter. I mixed all of the ingredients until well combined then covered them with a thick, reusable plastic covering then covered the bowl with a towel and let it rest overnight.

20180210_005033.jpg

In the morning, I floured my counter lightly and rolled it out using a regular rolling pin. When you are first starting out with making pasta it is wise to cut off a chunk of pasta dough and work only a small amount at a time (returning the rest to the bowl and covering) so it doesn't dry out as you work with it.

20180210_090327.jpg

I am trying to get the dough quite thin and have dusted with flour a few times to help prevent sticking.

20180210_090852.jpg

I cut the rolled dough into thick strips about 1 inch wide. I then cut these strips again to about 2 inches long. I then added a few drops of water right in the middle and pinched the pasta to create a bow shape.

20180210_091450.jpg

20180210_091629.jpg

These pasta are left to dry on a kitchen towel for a few hours. They can then be stored in a container in the freezer or fridge. Boil like you would any dry pasts (these cook faster though).

20180210_100858.jpg

There you have it! A second way to prepare sourdough pasta!

Thank-you again so much to @carey-page and @wwf for the beautiful visit and the inspiration to try out a new pasta recipe.

This pasta requires only basic ingredients and minimal equipment. I hope you feel inspired to give it a try!

From my home fire to yours, hai hai.

Harvard to Homestead.png

Sort:  

Yes..@harvardhomestead. Yesterday I read this... And I was expecting it to be delicious.
The way of brewing the dough, we still use it for baking, because my family doesn't buy bread.
you did a good job because you put your personal mark on this original recipe (Carey’s recipe) ... although it is simple but we can say that it is creativity

Thank-you :) I love community cooking opportunities as we all bring something different to the table and have our own spin on the same recipe. I am excited to have this past for dinner tonight with some home made spicy Italian sausages from pigs that we raised this year.

Amazing. I've never seen anyone make bowtie pasta at home. Looks great! I have sourdough starter. I might give it a go!

Its so easy...definitely give it a go! I only did half of the recipe that @carey-page posted as it does take a bit longer so the dough tends to dry out a bit. It is a great activity for two people to do over conversation!

Sounds good! I'm sure my kids would love to help out :)

Bowtie pasta! Cute. I have made pasta by hand and then dried it on my counters and hung them (thick long egg noodles) over my clothes drying rack. I only made them once, though, because it was a lot of work and my Italian mother-in-law said that homemade pasta tasted just like store bought pasta. Ha!

I like the smaller pasta idea. Thank you @harvardhomestead!

Hehehe...oh those mamas. I used to make pasta all the time as my daughters were reacting to store bought wheat products (until we started being more selective on where we get our wheat products and then starting making them ourselves). We don't actually eat pasta often anymore...It's more like a treat as it does take longer than other starches...but its soooooo good when we do :)

This is so unique. I've come across several sour dough breads, but never tried with pasta. Looks and sounds delicious, I've got to file this away to try at some point in the future.

Tell me how it goes if you ever do! I'm excited to eat some tonight. @carey-page and I are going to try out some other sourdough variations too...more adventures to come!

I love those! They are so cute. Now I want to make some. Wow you went right home and got to work. Now that is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

I made the mistake of taking a nap when I got back from your house...so I was wide awake until 3 am and decided that's the perfect time to get cooking lol

lol yes I guess so.

This sounds like such a good idea. Sourdough everything!

I think sourdough gives everything so much flavour...and is so much healthier too. I'm excited to try out other sourdough recipes!

I wouldn't have thought to do sourdough pasta! Thanks for sharing...upvoted, resteem and following

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept and am grateful that is has caught attention :) Thanks for all that you do @goldendawne !

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-58

That is so lovely! Woo-hoo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55