Fractal Writing Contest #4, and winners of the previous one.

in #contest6 years ago



The THIRD Fractal Writing Contest is over. There were six (or seven, one entry was ambiguous...) contestants, with short stories, poems, pictures but no haiku this time. Most entries were themed after depressing situations and doomed scenarios -- only one entry was light & humorous. With just 3 lines, @bryarose23 managed to address a very interesting idea, of evil parasites and their affection for their mother figure:

@bryarose23 is the winner, for this entry.

The contest post expired with a reward of 1.529 SBD, so @bryarose23 gets the minimum of 1 SBD. The rest 0.529, I'd like to offer as a prize to another great entry, a dark poem by @julietisrael.

Congratulations to all participants and a big thank you to all upvoters. I'd like to see more participation in these contests and have a bigger reward pool to distribute, so spread the word -- the more participants, the better for everyone! If there are enough SBDs made by the contest post, I will try to reward a 2nd- and 3rd- place winner, as well.


This week, the fourth installment of the Fractal Writing Contest will run.

The Contest

Each post in this contest series will contain a fractal, a 2-dimensional representation of a complex mathematical formula. The participants have to post a comment with something inspired by the fractal, be it just a title, a haiku, a story, whatever.

Rules

  • You have to reply with a comment in the contest post.
  • The reply must be inspired by the fractal, but no explanation needed.
  • Any kind of content is acceptable: just a title, a haiku, a poem, a short story, a painting, a photo, a video, a doodle, whatever. The content must be yours, no links to other people's work accepted.
  • I will pick the best reply, when the post expires (1 week after posting it).
  • The winner gets half the SBD made in the post, minimum 1 SBD. If there are enough SBDs made by the contest post, I will try to reward a 2nd- and 3rd- place winner, as well.
  • Upvotes and resteems are welcomed, but not necessary to participate.

Fractal for Contest #4:

right-click -> "open in new tab" for detailed view

by @nyarlathotep


A fractal made in JWildFire
(right-click -> "open in new tab" for detailed view)

Sort:  

Haiku:

A gateway to new dimension
Promises new life
More than time machine offers


This is a fun contest! Keep it up and I hope to join every round of Fractal writing :)

Yes, another lovely haiku to grace this contest! Journeying to a new dimension might be better than going back in time, indeed... Thanks for joining, hope to see you again in the next round :)

My haiku

Mother Earth
an endless torMENt of abUSE
recycle.reduce.reuse

Thanks, this is the only haiku so far -- violation of our environment is a very important issue, especially in these troubled times.

Waves of purple circles of gold
Bioilogical hazard between us all

Yeah, I also saw waves and water in the picture -- and the Biohazard symbol is indeed hidden in there, now that you mentioned it! Thanks for your entry.

And when Diamintica had told him that, no she would not be carrying his child to term, he despaired. That moment of release, that brilliant mind numbing flash that had engulfed them both, he was sure had created the next Messiah. “No,” Diamintica had told him, “just another offering to the toilet gods.”

heh, that "offering" ought to bring him back down to earth with a big bang!

It sure did! But at least he got to experience bliss, right?

Yeah, but happiness is always short-lived :(

But the beauty makes it worth it! That's what I thought of when I saw your fractal, just a moment of pure bliss to intricate to comprehend fully but lovely all the same. I would rather experience it for a moment than never at all.

Our world is bigger than what we see or imagine! The only way to understand the whole picture of it is to be awaken. All of these worlds are interconnected, but unless we have the proper balance between light and darkness, we will never see this truth!

The Fire Within:

The fire within is no longer the fire without.
contained only by the waters of the womb, where it grows strong
as it feeds itself on humanly pain, fear and doubt,
So that it can be birthed to wage the war against the destruction.

Burning a clear path to a constructive tomorrow,
Blazing through the ruins of yesterday
destroying the decaying flesh of our harbored hatred and sorrow,
With the birth of the fire within, that is no longer without.

https://steemit.com/contest/@breezin/the-fire-within-entry-fractal-writing-contest-4

Thank you for a great entry; it's about a savior if I got that right?! This time, there are so many good entries that I feel guilty that I'll have to pick just one or two...

Well in a way yes, it is about our own burning desire to right our wrongs, and our own awakening.

I hear you, good luck with that.
Have a great eve!

Congratulations, you are the 2nd WINNER of this contest! Check out the new one here:
https://steemit.com/contest/@nyarlathotep/fractal-writing-contest-5-and-winners-of-the-previous-one

Hey there, wow. I am so chuffed! Thank you!
And I am already on it :)

The ghosts of my past failures surrounding me in my dark moments.

Hi


The dancing light rushes in a group to form a star. It is beautiful by nature. It is necessary to contemplate it from a distance.

Hey, this sounds like words coming from a wise man, a hermit savant, experiencing reality in his own special way! Could be a haiku, in extended form. Thanks for posting!

Gracias a ti por el concurso

Have you done tutorials on how to make these fractals?
Would love to learn

Well, not very details tutorials, but I have documented some steps of the process in several posts. Genrally, exploring fractals is a learn-as-you-go thing for me, I experiment with different effects and settings and in this way I understand what works for my style and preferences. Here are some of the posts, from a quick search on my blog:
https://steemit.com/fractal/@nyarlathotep/fractalizing-with-jwildfire
https://steemit.com/fractal/@nyarlathotep/cosmic-checkers-with-detailed-process
https://steemit.com/art/@nyarlathotep/flower-tentacles-a-fractal-with-bits-of-the-process
https://steemit.com/fractal/@nyarlathotep/bloody-fractals-from-outer-space

Here is a new post that you might find useful. Not a detailed tutorial, but has some tips about rendering fractals.
https://steemit.com/fractal/@nyarlathotep/rendering-quality-in-jwildfire-tutorial

The eye of the sun.

I soar dead centre in the epileptic space of nothingness. My roaming eyes all seeing and all knowing watching other planes of existence. My light transmitting waves in patterns only I can interpret. Surrounded by the Moons who dare not shine fully in my innermost sphere of existence. Who am I you ask?

I am the sun. 🌞

Great entry, I love that writing style, like automatic-writing, just writing down words as they come into existence in your mind... every phrase you wrote can be found in the picture, especially this one:

My light transmitting waves in patterns only I can interpret.

thanks for participating!

Awwn. Thank you too for creating the contest
😊 and for this wonderful comment. The size of my head acknowledges it🙈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94