Bloody Fractals from Outer Space!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fractal7 years ago

Yeah, I know I said it would be a long time before I post fractals again, but I think this one is worthy of a post, since it came from outer space! Read on to find out how it was made.

Bloody Fractals!

Blood Sputter 800x600.png

So, how did I get there?

This story starts with me trying to do fractal galaxies & nebulas, for my good friend @harrycane who is into such out-of-space things :-) I did a couple of renders and I was having good fun with images like these below:

Swirling Galaxy

Nebula-03 (spiral) 7000 detail.png

Kite Nebula

Nebula-05 800x600.png

Hmmm... that last one looked promising, so I started experimenting with colors. Soon, the background was changed, initially to total white, then to gradients. In the process screenshot below you can still see the fractal from the "Kite Nebula" - only this time the color palette has changed from space tints to reds, with some colors erased.
Blood Sputter - process2.png

As soon as I saw that red splatter on my screen, I tasted blood! Just earlier today I had found out how to change the background in JWildFire. I found several stock photos of old walls on the internet and picked one to import as background; the render was quick on low-res, no need for details in this case since I wanted some "realism", not infinite details.
Blood Sputter - process1.png

I enjoyed making this one very much, because in my opinion, this is the beauty of fractals: you never know what you will end up with!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66