Steemit Writing Contests - January 26, 2018

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

contests.jpg

There are an increasing number of writing contests here on Steemit, and some have excellent prizes that are well worth going after.

With the number of contests increasing I noticed one problem I was having - keeping track of all the contests and the submission deadlines.

So I thought it would be helpful to simply track them as I find them, so I can be sure not to miss any of them.

And then I thought it might be even more helpful to the writing community here on Steemit if I share my daily results, saving everyone the time and effort of actively tracking down writing contests.

So, here is my first effort at curating writing contests here on Steemit. I know there must be some contests I've missed, so if you know of any please share them in the comments. I will get better as my curation skills improve, so you might want to follow me so you can go one-stop-shopping for contest links every day!

Note that I've tried to put them in descending order based on the submission date, and some aren't truly writing contests, but are still suited to writers (in my opinion).

moneyinfant-Separator.png

Sponsored Writing Contest: Lympo
Deadline: 23:59 GMT/UTC January 27, 2018
Description: Write an article about how Lympo will change the industry of health and wellness!
Prizes: 120 STEEM + Submission Bonuses
Sponsor: Lympo @originalworks

5 SBD Flash Writing Contest
Deadline: 20:27 GMT/UTC January 29, 2018 (This is 18 hours before the expiration of the contest post)
Description: Respond to an image prompt in exactly 150 words, no more no less.
Prize: 5 SBD
Sponsors: Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write

Extrinsic And Intrinsic Motivation - Read My Story, Share Yours And Win 5 SBD's
Deadline: 12:25 GMT/UTC January 30, 2018
Description: I would love to hear your stories, how you get motivated, what sources give you the maximum power of motivation and how do you feel after that?
Prize: 5 SBD
Sponsor: @ghulammujtaba

To Tell a Tale of a Picture Contest #5
Deadline: 11:27 GMT/UTC February 1, 2018
Description: Write a story of 30-100 words based on the picture provided in the contest post.
Prize: Total payout in SBD received from the contest post will be distributed as follows: Winner - 50% of total SBD Payout and Great Story - 25% of total SBD Payout
Sponsor: @dpatcher

GMUXX Art Prompt Writing Contest
Deadline: Midnight GMT/UTC February 1, 2018
Description: Use an amusing piece of artwork to write a story of 500-1500 words, but can go up to 2,000 words.
Prize: 20 STEEM + payout from the contest announcement post. 3 runners-up will receive 5 STEEM
Sponsor: @gmuxx

The Most Epic Love Story Ever
Deadline: Submissions open February 11, 2018 and close February 14, 2018
Description: Write an epic love story of any length that focuses on psychological depths and believability.
Prizes: 1st place - 20 SBD + SBD payout from the contest post. 2nd place - 20 SBD. Two runner-ups 5 SBD each
Sponsor: @josie2214

Document Z Zombie Survival Writing Contest
Deadline: Currently in Pre-registration
Description: Document Z is an interactive Zombie survival story. Like many contests the writers will receive a prompt on what to write about. The complete contest consists of multiple parts, with each part building on what’s come before.
Prize: Minimum 4.22 SBD
Sponsor: @writers-edge @lucy-and-dan @zakludick

GIVING BACK: 5SBD Payout for Best Comment Weekly
Deadline: Ongoing weekly – Monday through Sunday
Description: Prize is being offered for the best comment made on either @nat5an OR @shawnamawna during the course of the week.
Prize: 5 SBD (May be split between several winners)
Sponsor: @shawnamawna

Explain the Poem Contest
Deadline: 08:30 GMT/UTC February 2, 2018
Description: The contest is a simple one. Simply read the poem supplied in the post and write a detailed explanation of what you understand.
Prize: First prize is 3 SBD, second prize is 2 SBD, and the third prize is 1 SBD
Sponsor: @detoye

Image Credit

moneyinfant-Separator.png

If you got at least 0.001 STEEM worth of value from this post please upvote below and resteem so others will see the post too.

If you really like what you've read consider following @moneyinfant - I'd love to have you join me.

Sort:  

Thanks for the list @moneyinfant! I have shared it with my readers/writers ;)

Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 12.27.13 PM.pngvotes.png

Thanks for sharing it @heimdallr. I'm glad you found it useful.

How to join this?

This is just a listing of currently active writing contests.

Each contest has its own rules. You need to click the links and visit the contest page to find out how to join and what they require.

nice compilation, it is hard to locate these in the ocean of posts out there.

really helpful to guys like me.

It was hard for me to keep track of them too, so I thought I would share it because I figured other people were probably having problems finding/tracking all the writing contests. I'm glad it's useful to you. I plan on keeping it updated so feel free to follow me if you want to keep on top of all the writing contests out there.

Thank you so much for the mention @moneyinfant!

I am the Writer of DozumentZ(writing prompts and putting the posts together). I am excited to see the movement and support.

In the future there may be even more to blog about regarding this contest.

The list is an ongoing project, so I'll be keeping an eye on your writing contest ;)
and updating things here when changes occur. Thanks for making something valuable for the writing community on Steemit @zakludick.

My pleasure.

We have about half the minimum requirement registered participants for Season 1, Episode 1. So if this post catches the eye of anyone else looking for something new and fun to try out, please let us know!

Great list!! Today, we are having a contest of sorts for a change. Maybe you want to include it in your next post.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-100-freewrite-history-and-a-contest-of-sorts

Thanks for the compliment. The 100th day freewrite contest has already been added to the work-in-progress post ;)

You''ll likely see it in a few hours as I have some more scouring of feeds to do as well as getting some writing for these contests done myself!

Thank for compiling this list. I just started my own Writing Contest today, based on a music prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@fireawaymarmot/5-min-writing-prompt-sunset-freewrite-chapter-fourteen

You're welcome. I hope it's useful to you and your tribe.

Thanks for letting me know about your contest. It will be in tomorrow's listings.

good writing
i am interest about this type of contest of fiction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63