Contest: "The Muse of March"

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

 

Use the unfinished charcoal drawing featured above as inspiration to create a work of speculative fiction.

Feel free to use, modify, or incorporate the artwork itself.

By "speculative fiction" I refer generally to the genres of fantasy and science fiction. However, the judges - a group of writers, editors, and educators in Berkeley and San Rafael - are open to a broad interpretation of this definition and are concerned primarily with quality and impact, not with technicalities. We favor prose, however your piece can be poetry, something in between, or even something that lives somewhere at the fringes. Impress us.

Note: The judges are "classical liberals." We do not identify as political left or right. We are inclusive. We are open-minded. We do not think half of America is dumb. It is not in your interest to attempt to appeal to an agenda. We live in the greater San Francisco area and we have had quite enough of that. Whether it be horror, dramatic, romantic, or humorous, we value strong clear writing that delivers on a visceral level. Nothing else matters to us. Focus on the writing.


There will be one winner: 10 SBD

There will be one runner-up: 5 SBD


SBD transferred to this account with the memo "The Muse of March" will be added to the contest rewards and split between the winner and runner-up 50/50.

The judging process will take several days or more once the contest is closed since all of us have many demands upon our time. We will try to get the judging done as soon as possible.


CONTEST RULES

Entries must be written in English (the only language all the judges share).

Only one entry for each individual.

This contest is intended to promote the STEEMIT platform, which we all believe in and wish to see flourish. Therefore, your entry must be posted on your Steemit blog and linked from there to the comments section below.

This contest runs until the end of the month. Anything submitted later than March 2018 will be disqualified.

While we do appreciate resteems and upvotes, they are NOT requirements. We want to encourage the best talent to this contest and some writers are understandingly unwilling to fill their blogs with contest spam.

There are NO requirements as far as tags and NO requirements to refer to this contest in your entry post, though all such references are, naturally, well appreciated.

The winning entry will be the one which the judges feel most effectively and powerfully evokes the visual prompt. This being my contest, I will break any ties which occur during judging.


Good luck!


Sort:  

Hello! My entry for the Muse of March contest can be found here - https://steemit.com/fiction/@kaelci/moonlit-masquerade-the-muse-of-march

Thank you for hosting the contest, and good luck to all entrants! :D

Hm a contest huh? Not sure if entry is still open, but here's a story whether it is or not! enjoy! https://steemit.com/fiction/@matthewmunseyart/a-debt-unpaid

Yes, the contest is open until March ends.

Sounds interesting. I'll look in to it or sleep on it that is

Writers aren't allowed to sleep.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This looks fun. Time permitting, I would like to have a go at it. That image is ripe for interpretation. I've found it difficult to find the will to post on Steemit the last couple weeks. Few people seem interested in actually reading things, to busy rushing off to make that next sbd. The idea of having a group actually interested in reading works is appealing.

There are some very good groups on discord that read and discuss literature, fantasy, sci-fi, poetry, and other topics. They might be worth taking a look at. There is Poets United, Isle of Write, The Writers Block, just to name a few. Of course you can always do it through the comments sections of specific writers. Very rarely will you find a writer who doesnt like talking about writing :)

I would agree, I suppose what I meant to say, was reading the works of others, and more specifically my writing. :) I'm a part of TWB a wonderful group of people. But in order to effectively utilize their services one need to use google docs. You see, me and google have a love hate relationship. They love to collect my private details and I hate to use their services. So submitting things for them is rather difficult for me. I really enjoy the interactions with the group although. I may look into some of the other groups as well. Thanks for the info. I have a few idea's from the picture for a short story but, just not quite formed yet. I was about to start writing for my ongoing Sci-fi/fantasy Steemit novel again, but this could be a nice pallet cleanser. It's hard as I have to stay up rather late to get the "uninterrupted time" required to visualize and write down a story.

Good contest idea! I am looking forward to future iterations. :)

Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/writing/@dennis.bacchus/en-algol-demon-light

Love this piece. I love the picture this writer was trying to paint with words.

hey, you are from my neck of the woods. I was born and raised in SF. your group sounds fun! i dont mind libs. LOL
maybe i will try to write, i don't know ... i can barely make out the photo. :p

I know, the scan resolution is low. It is a very old scan from back when they all looked like that.

Can you put the links around the photo to enlarge it? It will then pop out in a separate window and possibly have more detail.

https://steemit.com/blog/@juliank/happy-tuesday-steemit-share-your-landscape-photography

I see you favor prose so I was considering putting my "How to Fly" here but I have that spread throughout multiple posts so I left my favorite poem that I have written. Thanks for the opportunity!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@danbiohackingman/child-of-earth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52