Shout Out To The Old Dog And His Contests

in #contest5 years ago

I am something of a steemit flake. I try to post, do a few comments, stay a little active but I admit it, my heart is just not in it these days. It is not just steemit, I am sick, sick, sick of knowing that every keystroke is recorded and fed into a giant googlemind AI humanity devouring fustercluck of surveillance. It galls me to know my hard earned money is stolen by government goons and then spent on tracking my every thought and move, partly so they can figure out how to sell more shit to me but mostly so they can figure out how to control me. It kinda takes the fun out of the whole "internet experience" for me any more.

When I started on steemit I could not figure out what to do, so I started entering contests. I still think the people sponsoring contests are doing more to help minnows get rolling than all the discord groups combined. The contests are HERE, on steemit, discord is over there... Some of us are overwhelmed enough by steemit, discord is just too much to digest, at least in the learning phase. Contests help generate ideas for posts, they help you meet a few steemians, they put a little crypto in your wallet. What is not to love?

Today, I came on to read through my feed. I posted yesterday, something that was pretty hard to write and then one person read it, it got a few autovotes, and now it is off to the dustbin of steemit obscurity. So it goes. Still, I did not really feel like posting again today. But I saw in my feed that there was a new contest. one started by an "old friend" - someone who was doing contests back when I was a total newbie, someone who is still at it. And the contest gave me an excuse to post some fun photos that I took last year. The theme is "Disturbing Sculpture" photos. I can do that!

You will have to go here to see my entries and to enter the contest yourself if you have some creepy sculpture photos to share! You may enter two photos, so of course there were three that I could not choose between. I did a roll of the dice, and posted two of them in the contest comments. This was the one that did not make the cut:


From the New Orleans outdoor sculpture exhibit at the Art Museum in the City Park, photo taken with whatever cell phone I had back then... lol! It is a very interesting piece, I think. What does it make you think of?
www.kizoa.com_DSCF2345.JPG
I would name it "I'm From The Government, I'm Here To Help."

THANK YOU to "The Old Dog" (@kus-knee) for this great contest, and for YEARS of great contests on steemit!

Sort:  

You are describing exactly why @pifc is trying to help bloggers get a little extra attention. People put in effort and they don't see engagement which can be discouraging. Hope some of the proposed changes for the next HF will encourage more actual content consumption which should increase engagement (if the intended results happen).


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 64. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Thank you! I will check into getting involved!

That is one very strange sculpture...

Anyway, I hear you about the nature of engagement here on STEEM. You can spend ages writing something and get no engagement and then a little post about something relatively shallow gets you so much more?!?!!!.... I do hear you about the Discord problem/solution... it starts to take so much time keeping up with it. Contests I find are a nice way to try and get people interested in your blog... plus going out and commenting on other people's posts (that's how you got me!).

I have featured you and this post for a Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforward-week64entry-l73zwyzk6d

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-64-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

Wow! Thank you so much! I will check into pfic, as soon as the grandkids go home lol! I have about ten minutes to use my own computer today...

My pleasure, it is nice to get around and feature other people!

Thanks for the heads up about the contest and I can understand your feeling on thise holding contest! Don't think I have anything to enter but I will say I love the Reagan quote for the name of the one you did not pick. Thanks for sharing!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for stopping by!

That's a weird one alright. I see it's called Karma but I can't really see why. To me, it says something like we are blind to and blinded by layer upon layer of control. But that might just be my paranoia talking;)

It was one of my favorites, and there were some really fun sculptures. There is also, for me, a hint of "see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil" gone awry... A good piece to ponder!

I don't think you are paranoid! You know I feel the same as you! 😆

Hahaha, that's only because you're paranoid too;)

Great and intelligent comments, as always, and Eeeky photo, my friend. Always good to see your posts, though like you, I am not here as often as before. But I know you will always keep on keeping on...

I don't auto vote, one I probably couldn't figure out how to, two, for me giving out auto votes wouldn't mean much. I read everything I run across that you post, probably because I've been following you on here since shortly after signing up and I've always had an interest for small town historic feels which a great deal of your post have been about. That last post was some deep psychological stuff, some I had mixed emotions about, I just thought it better to step back out of that one.

Thank you - you sort of blew my mind there...

What a great post and what awesome art! Now that I'm back on Steemit full time I must make myself read more posts! I will definately be popping into your feed more regularly and when I can get back into my autovoter I will make sure I add you! Keep up your good work! 😃

Thank you! Your kind words put a big smile on my face today!!

Hi @fishyculture. I am sorry I am late to the party 😔 This is actually a great post. I go through the same things and have been through the same thing. I refused for a while to use Discord. I barely had enough time to try and read all I could. Comment, upvote with my little fluff of dust which seems to be in vain.

PS.. I upvoted your most recent post since I did not get to this one on time.

As for our wonderful government, I usually tell them to fuck off once a day via my echo. I did not/do not want it. My mom got it for me. Strange I can be in the other room, no noise and poof music will start playing or Alexa will start talking. So, I talk back. It's only nice to be able to say play music when you're doing dishes and your hands are submersed in dishwater. If my life is so freaking interesting to them that they have nothing better to do than to see what keys I hit on my keyboard, what song I am listening to or better yet my trip to the bathroom and need to discuss bowel movements. It's great someone out there sees me as a threat to something LOL.

I agree about the contests too. It is the best of all worlds as far a Steemit goes. It gives you something to post some of the time, but it always requires engagement. That is how I got involved with @pifc. It allowed me to explore Steemit with a purpose. Help others like me who seem/seemed to be stuck in the murky depths. Most of all it gave me support and friendship. Perfect title for the statue too.

You were featured in week 64 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @bengy. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your features.

Thank you! I have to get myself a new routine, get steem back into it. I love the concept of @pfic I just have to knuckle down and get involved. It is crazy busy time of year for me now, but even 15 minutes in the morning, every morning, I could do that.

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 56000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 57000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54