The Old Dog Presents: The Disturbing Sculpture Contest!

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

Art elicits emotions. They can be joyful, serene or even upsetting. I sometimes come across sculptures that leave me feeling disturbed.

Let me show you one that I saw last week in Cernobbio Italy and then we'll turn it into another interesting contest!

My Example of a Disturbing Sculpture!


How would you like to run into this guy in a dark alley? This bronze sculpture was placed here in memory of an artist that had passed away in 1989. She was the president of the association of Art, Love and Friendship. A wonderful gesture to be sure but I find it disturbing none the less!


Now It's Your Turn. Contest Rules

 

  • Show me a photo of a disturbing sculpture  that you have seen
  • Post your photos in the comment section below
  • Feel free to make a post promoting the contest and I'll try and upvote it as well.
  • The photo must be yours NOT one that you find on the internet.
  • Maximum of 2 entries per person
  • There will be at least 5 prizes of 1 Steem each
  • The contest closes in 7 days

Do You Like Contests?


If you like contests and would like to see more of them here  on the Steem Blockchain please consider upvoting my post. Contests  help our community so spread the word!
 

Thanks for following me on my blockchain travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you.  
 
 

Until next time,  
 

@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

Hahahaha this is quite disturbing and easily fits into this. I really wish I have one around me to also showcase. I look forward to seeing other people's entry. Well done, sir.

Keep seeking and you will find!

Hahahaha. I like that, sir.

Can I send in a selfie, or do fossils not count???

Hey @richq11 you're funny comments ar always appreciated!

Well you got some great entries. I posted about it and perhaps a few more may join in the fun. :)

20181104_141102.jpg
https://steemit.com/contest/@old-guy-photos/the-disturbing-sculpture-contest

You’re freaking me out!

@kus-knee,
Hope I could find one to join this interesting contest round!

Cheers~

Im hoping so too!

I'm still disturbed even after the several years since I took this photo :-)

Optimized-Disturbing Sculpture.JPG

How are the therapy sessions going!

They have been unsuccessful.

P7040152.JPG
Colourful lady from Barcelona;)

She looks aggressively disturbing!

This disturbing sculpture i saw at Wat Rong Khun , Temple in Chiang Rai also known as The White Temple of Chiang Rai i did not understand the meaning of this sculpture as most temples normally have huge lions or ritual sculpture protecting the temple but this was a sculpture of skeleton skulls on fire with a bottle of whiskey sitting on one of the skulls head maybe saying don't drink this brand of whiskey otherwise you will burn up and end up like this...lol :)

Entry No #1

buvb5t9pm2.jpg

That is very disturbing!

It is indeed :)

Excellent idea for a contest! I love it. Well, I have seen a quite a lot weird sculptures on my travels but when it comes to disturbing art, the creepiest pieces are probably the famous statues of children with barcodes instead of faces. Installed in the center of Prague, they were created by Czech artist David Cerny.

9.jpg

Great entry, thanks!

I like it. its touching, @phortun

This one was found in Italy. The most disturbing part, it was place in from of a church entrance. Strange !

IMG_2274.JPG

Yes, with explanation it becomes more disturbing!

This this a sculpture from Philips museum in Nederlands. A lady with a first lamp:)
IMG_20190626_210116.jpg

Looks like she's the victim of a terrible fire poor thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27