7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Australian Monday week #16 - the absolute winner takes 200 SBD!

in #contest6 years ago

WARNING: The use of images that are not your own on which you claim the ownership will be flagged - HELPING TO STOP PLAGIARISM ON STEEMIT


Hello fellow Steemians!

Welcome to my 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Australian Monday - where the winner of the weekly round will be able to participate for the total of 200 SBD! Today, you can participate by submitting your personal pictures from your travels to the continent of Australia. I am also adding New Zealand to the same challenge as there were some concerns from other Steemians to which continent NZ belongs to.

shutterstock_590390942.jpg
Sydney. Cityscape image of Sydney, Australia with Harbour Bridge and Sydney skyline during sunset. Source: Shutterstock, author: Rudy Balasko

Your entries need to be submitted by the midnight of Central European Time in order to be considered for the challenge with a description of approximately 30 to 50 words. Only one picture can be submitted for a daily photo challenge. The rule number one is to use only personal images. Ten winning photos will receive an upvote from me from which I will pick one winner that will receive extended publicity in my post tomorrow morning. I will also visit his/her blog to upvote one of the most recent posts.

The winner of daily challenge then competes against winners from other continental challenges of the respective week to receive the price of 20 SBD. That will be decided by you based on the dollar value of upvotes of my winning post announcement. The winning weekly picture then automatically enters other rounds for the price of 200 SBD in total.

Please see the winner of Asian Sunday and give him your support if you like his image to be the one winning the weekly price and entering the other stages of the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge. You can vote for him by upvoting his winner announcement post below:

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – Asian Sunday week #16 – winner announcement!

@narchuk Asian Sunday entry:

It happened in Thailand, in the Andaman Sea. At the very end of the dive I saw a sea turtle. She swam from coral to coral and did not notice my presence. Turtles are very calm, if you do not touch them. I swam next to her doing a frame-by-frame. At some point a flock of small fish swept past us. It lasted just a couple of seconds. I managed to make only one photo.

U5drHnpLm8WpEfsd5FUBVNUma9Wjs1c_1680x8400.jfif

For more information about the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge and conditions see my original post: 200 SBD 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - 2018 guidelines


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Sumava National Park, the Green Heart of Europe

ColorChallenge - Green Thursday - @ashwinrajt in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Price of Steem 100+ and 5 to 10 million users by the end of 2018!

Travel Tip: Karlstejn Castle, masterpiece of Gothic architecture with fairytale-like atmosphere


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Believe it or not, but this photo is no exaggeration. This evening at Whisky Bay in Wilsons Promontory Park was really one of the most spectacular sunsets I have ever seen. The sky was on fire! If you ever happen to visit the Melbourne area in Australia, remember that there's not only the Great Ocean Road closeby. Down to the east Wilsons Prom is the real gem in my opinion.

You have so many amazing photos there! I’m on my way to Melbourne and just pinned Whisky Bay on my map.me ;)

Wilsons Prom is such a beautiful place, although I wasn't as lucky as you with the sunset. While I loved the hiking and nature experience in Wilsons Prom, I liked the Great Ocean Road as well because it is such a magnificent demonstration of the power of the ocean.

Beautiful shot! And thank you for the suggestion. I am considering a trip to Melbourne and the biggest reason is to see Great Ocean Road and specifically Twelve Apostles. I love hearing about other places to go!

I was a bit dissapointed from the Great Ocean Road. Don't get me wrong, it's totally scenic and spectacular. But equally overrun. Make sure to also check the Otways and maybe Hopetoun falls to get away from the bustle ;-) And Wilsons is a real gem in my opinion. Was one of the coolest areas we visited.

Thanks for all of the suggestions! This is so helpful in planning a trip!

If you can spare some more time, definitely check out Tasmania if you like nature! It is my favorite part of Australia and only an overnight ferry trip or short flight away from Melbourne.

I didn't realize Tasmania was so close! I'm definitely adding it to my list. Thanks so much for the advice!

Beautiful sunset! I must visit

I can confirm. Wilsons prom is amazing. been there twice already.

IMG_1318 (2).JPG

What would be an Australia picture contest without a photo of one of the coolest animals on earth. Kangaroos or wallabies, who can resist and not try to capture them on film. This shot was taken near Melbourne in a wildlife center.

So cute! I see these guys almost every day, 6 on the road trip yesterday :)

Stormy night over Darwin, this is a view from Nightcliff rocky beach if a thunder storm striking Darwin in the Northern territory of Australia. There nothing quite like it, I found it amazing to watch a bit like a firework.

Location: Darwin, Australia.

Amazing shot! Seems like an other-worldly view. I’ve always wanted to visit the Northern Territory!

Thank you for the compliment. You should visit, it is a very nice place. A little hot but very nice!

This photo was taken in a historic goldsmith's shop in Sovereign Hill. Sovereign Hill is an open-air museum in Ballerat, where you can experience the ancient times of the gold diggers. The second largest gold nugget in the world was found in Ballarat at the Red Hill Mine, which was rebuilt at Sovereign Hill. Sovereign Hill is located in Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria, Australia. (wikipedia)
Camera settings: Olympus E-510, ISO 400, 14mm, f/4, 1/20 s,

sovereignhill.jpg
For full view, please click on the image!

This photo was taken at Anna Bay near Port Stephens in NSW approximately 2 hours from Sydney. We spent the weekend with friends at Port Stephens and decided to stop by Anna Bay to check out the beach. The beach was quiet and wide so we had a great time enjoying the sun and warm water.

IMG_1351.JPG

I took this photo at Luna Park in Sydney. There are so many great photographic moments to be had around the park. Unfortunately most of them remind me of set for a B horror movie. The park has had so many accidents - It makes me wonder if it actually is haunted.

2128690759_2e2e87f453_o.jpg

Took this photo of the skyline of Melbourne while I was visiting a friend. The city is fascinating and and the people were amazing, I was shocked by some of the prices of drinks but heard it was normal throughout Australia.

mel.jpg

The place that I remember most from a trip to New Zealand. Muriwai. Rocky cliff and raging sea. Below is an endless and empty sandy beach. We were in May and it was pretty cold. As I understand it in the summer there are many people, including surfers.
And on a separately standing rock usually nest gannets. But that year they did not arrive. And the rock stood empty
Muriwai

Here’s my entry for Australian Monday:

I got the view in this shot from a lookout south of Kiama Heights, New South Wales. The coastal towns in this region feature several great surfing beaches and caravan parks. The main tourist attraction in Kiama is the Blowhole.

94A54409-83FF-4E9F-B383-EB2FB54025F8.jpeg

Great Ocean Road, Victoria, Australia

When I visited the Great Ocean Road the weather was stormy and rainy which was not so nice for me on my bicycle, but gave me the opportunity to get this long exposure of the stormy ocean. I love how the turquoise water contrast with the yellow rocks.

01-jpp-20160520.jpg
Click on image to enlarge

It looks beautiful with long exposure! And you are so brave to go there by 🚲! =)

Thanks! That bike trip was an amazing experience :)

Wow that's a beautiful shot. Which viewpoint is it though? Or is it a secret ;-)

I think it was at one of the viewpoints at Loch Ard Gorge actually ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66186.90
ETH 3555.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15