Travel Tip: Sumava National Park, the Green Heart of Europe

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to another episode of my Travel Tip edition. Despite its small size of just 79,000 sq km (30,500 sq mi), the Czech Republic boasts of four beautiful national parks, the largest one of which being the Sumava National Park.

Located in the South Bohemian region of the Czech Republic, along the border with Germany, the Sumava National Park received the status of a national park in 1991. One year earlier, in 1990, it was also proclaimed a protected biosphere reserve of UNESCO.

shutterstock_314279300.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Vaclav Volrab

Established to conserve and protect the biodiversity and fragile ecosystems of the area, the Sumava National Park is also home to the most extensive continuous forest in Central Europe, which earned the park the nickname “Green Heart of Europe”.

Other natural features commonly found in the Sumava National Park are large peat bogs, crystal-clear glacial lakes and remnants of primeral forests.

shutterstock_458377336.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Kuttelvaserova Stuchelova

There are many great hiking trails in the park, making it a very popular place among tourists, hikers and nature lovers from the Czech Republic as well as other countries (most notably Germany and Austria).

shutterstock_652413193.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, author: Vaclav Volrab

If you decide to explore the Sumava National Park on your next visit to the Czech Repubic, make sure to take some nice photos there and submit them in my daily Prague/Czech Republic photo challenge, I am sure they will be highly appreciated by our Steemit community of photographers :)


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel tip: Charles Bridge – Gothic masterpiece embellishing Prague for more than 600 years!

ColorChallenge - Green Thursday - @ashwinrajt in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Price of Steem 100+ and 5 to 10 million users by the end of 2018!

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - African Wednesday week #15 - winner announcement!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

I was trying to get hold of you on steemit.chat, I think somebody is impersonating you there with the same handle. Because czechglobalhosts in steemit.chat asked me to send 10 SBD to poloniex. I am guessing that is not you and it is just a scam. Please confirm.

Hi! Absolutely not. I am not on steemit.chat..... I am on the vacation right now so do not have much time to look into int but would be great if you could send me more info at [email protected] so I can deal with it later. Thank you so much for reaching out to me. Tomas

Same thing just happened to me. I got a ping asking me to send 4 SBD
fraud.JPG

You are not on steemit.chat... but you have homework to do man, remember me Tomas?

oh man now I understand everything
I have been fooled. :(
Sorry man for my rude words

Ok, I sent you an email. Maybe we should tell admins in steemit.chat to block that username or something.

I got the same. But I'll ignore. Drastic measures must be taken against these impersonators. Few weeks ago, someone did the same to me using the handle of @grumpycat

Its a fantastic nature locations in Czech. UNESCO called it world heritage. So cool calm place for relaxation. Also we can meditate there and then keep mind positive. I never heard Czech has nature breakers. So can keep nature cleverly. Thanks for inspire me Mr. Thomas.

There surely are many amazing natural spots and Sumava National Park is just one of many. Absolutely a great place to visit if you have extended period of time to spent in the Czech Republic. Tomas

The location looks very nice. I did not known it before I read your post.👍

The power of Steemit! The source of a great information. Welcome onboard and keep on steeming. Tomas

Great post! Looks like a very interesting and beautiful place to visit!

Absolutely amazing place to visit!

Lovely place @czechglobalhosts. The Czech Republic is a beautiful country and every time you share photographs there. They make me really want to go visit your country!!

Thank you! I hope you will be able to one day. Have a good one. Tomas

Beautiful. The colors look stunning.

Beautiful place to visit, thanks for sharing

The first picture is really stunning though 2nd and 3rd pics are also good. Thanks for continuously sharing these beautiful photos

Wow, I would have never guessed that the Czech Republic had such scenic National Parks. Do they allow camping or is there tours in those parks?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98