Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Rose tinted...)

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

Hmmmm... it appears that my topic last week about "being evil" scared away a few people... I didn't quite have the usual number of entries! Oh well, more chances and bounty for those who did enter!

This week, we've had a bit of a terrible tragedy in New Zealand... and the response in some quarters of the internet and also the fact that some of the massacare was live streamed led me to thinking about the better days of the internet... when I was at university, and only the nerds were interested in the idea of networked computers and servers... whilst all the cool kids were busy getting drunk and laid in the common green area....

Which is a completely rose-tinted view of the past.. but one that I hold on to.... I miss those days of the internet!

My Question

  1. What is something that you have rose-tinted memories about?

My sample answer


Unsplash

As I alluded to in my introduction, I was one of the users of the internet in the '80s (my father was a mathematician who was interested in the idea of networked computers) and then later in the '90s when I was one of the nerds at college taking over the local university network to play games of CounterStrike and Quake... or the original StarCraft or C&C. Or just hanging out on BB boards, playing MUDs, or cruising around for warez... you know, good clean wholesome fun!

Those were the days when it was just the elite of the nerd-dom who were interested in the internet and the gems that were in it... before all the rest of the Earth population decided that it would be great to turn the whole thing into a straw-man bashing complain-o-fest with glitzy shopping malls and horrible networking sites. ARRRGH!

So, I do realise that this is a completely rose-tinted view of internet life in the early consumer days... I was there when the search engines were totally crap, and trying to find something was as tricky as finding something on the darknet today. Then, when Google launched with it's revolutionary new search algorithm... we were all blown away! It was also a horrible time of terrible looking websites... after all we were nerds with no appreciation for visual niceties, not like these hippy web designers that pass themselves off as programmers these days!

Shopping was also non-existent... the idea that you could do anything with the internet other than play games, download warez and pr0n, and cause mischief (not me, but I had friends...) was completely unimaginable!

So, I know that the idea of the internet that I had in the early days is a completely rose-tinted view of the past... but there are also many days I regret that the internet has become so commonplace and so easy to access.

Rules

  1. Upvote is not required, but appreciated!
  2. Resteem is NOT necessary!
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!
  6. PLEASE PLEASE Don’t upvote your OWN comment. I can’t stop you doing it, but it seems to mess up the distribution of the Bounty for everyone else. If you upvote your own comment, I will consider it an invalid entry when doing the draw.

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 1.549 SBD and 0 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 4 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@stever82

@lionsmane

@crimo

@greenmask9



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Sort:  

OMG, Rose-tinted... I'm not really a rose-tinted kind of person. It would have been easier if you had asked for a black or grey tinted memories, lol.

Let me think...

(...)

Maybe I have some rose-tinted memories of SteemIt when I just arrived here. No flag-, nor drugwars (or the combination of both), the community-feeling of @newbieresteemday, the buzzing that went on and on...
There's a good chance those flagwars were already happening, but I was a too small fish to notice. And I doubt that it was all sunshine, lollipops and rainbows, considering the steep learning curve of SteemIt. But somehow I managed to remember mainly the good things.

The flagwars began before even I joined the platform. We were born into a world in strife. But let the mighty tear each other asunder. I will tend my crop.

Haha... yes, they were probably out in full force... I remember when I first joined, some of my earliest STEEM friends got hit hard by one of the whale's bot rings... it took him out of STEEM completely...

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

What is something that you have rose-tinted memories about?

I remember the days when good cartoons were on the TV, I woke up at 5am before everyone in the house only to watch cartoons, Pokemon, dragonball, those were the times... What do kids even watch nowadays?!

They watch (well.. my kids watch...) ... Pokemon! Backyardigans... Someone from somewhere... ( I can't remember the names...)! Wholesome cartoons... although, they aren't allowed until we wake up!

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

The days of trick or treat from door to door... filling up my bed room floor with all that candy. My parents where not concern with me knocking on doors in the night... nor they worried about the caramel apples I got from some neighbor down the street..... Simpler time that my kids didn't get to enjoy in there youth. If only I could share rose-tinted view of the past with my kids and future grand kids.

Ah... simpler times indeed... it's hard to tell what changed... our perception, or is society really much worse?

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

I remember the days when the food in the grocery store was not poisoned by colors, flavors, pesticides, gmos, hormones, antibiotics and other chemical additives.

I remember well when they added wax to the cucumbers to "keep them fresh" in the early 1970's because my mother had a fit!

Back in the day, if you wanted to eat healthy, there were many choices of food. Now most of it has something nasty going on and it is very hard to avoid.

Definitely, eating these days is a vastly different kettle of fish to the past.... although, food when we were growing up was already vastly different to what came before!

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

If I think Rose Tinted and Internet that brings me straight back to the time I played jumpman - it was a game where a small figure climbed ladders or jumped over platforms that then went higher or lower - one of the first real computer games I remember from when I was about 14 to 16 :)

I guess when you go back to it... it isn't quite the thrilling and epic game that you thought it was!

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

Hello @bengy! Nice to say hello, a hug

Google Translator

When my first child was born, it was a beautiful girl weighing three kilograms 200 grams, there I started to buy many things pink, in my mind everything turned with pink colors, for my girl, everything had something pink, shoes, blankets, dresses some walls of your pink room, etc. Over the years my surprise was that my daughter told me that she did not like the pink color and that she did not want to wear anything with that color, that she liked the terracotta and blue colors, you can imagine how I felt at that moment, I felt very bad because I dressed my daughter for several years with a color she did not like. I asked him why he had not told me, she replied that it was a pity to tell me that, because he thought it would make me sad, and he did!. But it was good that he told me, you can not live just to please parents, they have to learn to decide what they like and what they do not like, that is part of their growth.
I changed the color of her room and when I went out to buy she put her to choose what she liked.


Cuando nació mi primer hijo, fue una hermosa niña de tres kilos 200 gramos, allí empecé a comprarle muchas cosas color rosa, en mi mente todo giraba con los colores rosa, para mi niña, todo tenía algo de rosa, zapatos, mantas, vestidos algunas paredes de su cuarto rosada, etc. Al pasar los años mi sorpresa fue que mi hija me dijo que no le gustaba el color rosado y que no quería ponerse nada con ese color, que le gustaban los colores terracotas y el azul, se podrán imaginar cómo me sentí en ese momento, me sentí muy mal porque vestí a mi hija varios años con un color que no le gustaba. Le pregunte porque no me lo había dicho, me respondió que le daba algo de pena decirme eso, porque pensaba que me pondría triste, y así fue. Pero fue bueno que me lo dijo, no se puede vivir solo para complacer a los padres, tienen que aprender a decidir qué cosas les gusta y cuales no les gusta, eso forma parte de su crecimiento.
Cambie el color de su cuarto y al salir de compra la ponía a elegir lo que a ella le gustaba.

Oh, I have a similar situation with my girl! She used to love purple and pink... but these days, she has other colours in mind! Although, we never suggested pink for her (we even actively avoided it!)

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

Oh, SNL and In Living Color. Sketch comedy in general. I thought it was the funniest thing, all original, and all great.
Now, even looking back at the old stuff, there are really only a few unique sketches, fewer great sketches, and even fewer great unique sketches.

But oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy I thought it was all incredible, and I still have trouble convincing myself it's never been all great.

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaaah... never look back at old clips! I've had the same with old cartoons and movies...

I have a feeling that you might be the only one that really understood the "Rose tinted" idea... it must be a really specific idiom.

I'm reading the other ones. I see what you mean. I think it requires a very special kind of perspective to realize that one's own worldview is skewed.

Yes... sadly it is something that should be more widespread... that would solve certain problems!

Interesting! I wonder what our specific upbringing was that introduced us to that idiom.

On a side note, my mother, who doesn't figuratively wear rose-tinted glasses about anything, wears literal rose-tinted glasses.

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

I also miss the past.
past,
We are use Internet in some Internet cafes.
a specialized storefront - filled with computers that can access the Internet.
Because the computer at that time was very expensive,
Must pay 3~4 months salary to buy it,
use Internet is also very expensive,
so we are all in the internet cafe,
But they are now closed down,
Because the computer is very cheap now,
Internet access is also very low money,
Everyone is online at home.

Internet access has really improved leaps and bounds since that time!

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

@bengy, There were times when people discouraged me torwards particular aspect for many years but one day i achieved it and won over the situation. Then it literally reflected as i had come out of the path of rough path and entered into the peaceful and flowery path.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's great that you managed to find a good path to walk upon! Triumph over expectation!

Thank you and have a wonderful time ahead.

The winners and the next SBI contest (What keeps you sane?) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawaywhatkeepsyousane-p5wh7t2nk2

Congratulations @bengy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44