Idioms game with SBD prizes (number 4)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

I'm on the road travelling with an orchestra, but I remembered to take my silly game cards with me! So, I get to learn more idioms. Answers to last week's cards are at the bottom. For reference, I did not get any of them myself!

I notice a few of you are going straight for the funny prize, not such a bad idea either! Especially, if you have no clue!

So, onwards to the game.

I am learning Dutch, and here are some idioms that I am trying to learn. To play this game, no Dutch is needed, I will give the literal translation in English.

So the rules are simple, from the picture and a literal translation of the Dutch, see if you can guess the meaning of the idiom. There are three, first correct will win a 0.02 SBD prize but the funniest (at my discretion, it doesn't have to be awarded) will take a 0.05 SBD prize. So, to be clear there are 2 prizes for each picture/idiom.

1

IMG_20180304_224621.jpg
Alarm slaan
Hit the alarm

2

IMG_20180304_224625.jpg
Aan de grond zitten
Sitting on the ground

3

IMG_20180304_224630.jpg
De sigaar zijn
To be the cigar

Have fun, guess away, don't worry about being wrong. That's why the funny prize is worth more than the correct one!

Answers and winners from last week

Original post

1

Aan de weg timmeren
Building on the road
Meaning: Drawing attention to yourself, to make yourself known.

Correct: no one
Funny: @themanwithnoname

2

Voor paal staan
Stand before the pole
Meaning: being crazy or ridiculous

Correct: @erebus
Funny: @themanwithnoname

3

Uit je dak gaan
Go out your roof
Meaning: crazy with happiness

Correct:
Funny: @pandasquad

Congratulations to the prize winners, and everyone that played! Prizes are on the way!

U5dsUfcvauXNAP4kT4SzwKQs8yV8c6Y_1680x8400.png

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

DQmXDFhqQrKJrKavGxmhTuLaF2iR3JkZKJzPPj4vFK6Pkvu_1680x8400.png

Referral links
Mene, Investment jewellery.
Humble Bundle Monthly, PC games package every month!
Coinbase, the biggest fiat on and off ramp.
Binance, the biggest crypto exchange.
Mannabase, Universal income in the blockchain
Cryptopia, Lots of lesser known altcoins.
HitBTC Even more Altcoins!

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone

Sort:  

people who are in the situartion of card #2 for too long tend to get into another situation.

'bij de pakken neer zitten'

and after that

'met de handen in het haar zitten'

and after that

'het niet meer zien zitten'

In a crisis the dutch tend to sit a lot

Even if I am not really getting them correct, I think learning about the idioms gives you an insight into the mindset and culture of another country and its people. This is my attempt for this week:

  1. Hit the alarm probably means to alert someone about something, but it seems to obvious so I am going to say that is to be panicked about something.

  2. Judging from the picture it seems like sitting on the ground means to be helpless or waiting to be helped by someone. I am going to take the next step and say that it means to be poor.

  3. I think this is the opposite of sitting on the ground and that it means to be rich.

I wouldn't rely on the pictures .. they have nothing to do with the answer - the pictures are based on the words he gives us and not the actual meaning of them....

True, the picture is the literal meaning.

exactly! - I went back to look at the previous contests to see if there was any clue on the pictures and that's when I realized - just as you said - the pics are literal.

Yes, that first one had me going as well. It does appear too obvious. On the other hand the Dutch and English languages have a common ancestry.... (1)

Again I have no idea (don't think I will ever have an idea tbh). But I will go with:

  1. Distract people
  2. To be stubborn
  3. Be an eye catcher/draw attention to yourself, I think to be rich was a good answer but I'll make mine different.

Don't worry, I'm learning Dutch and I always screw these up! (2)

  1. Being so freaking tired that when your alarm wakes you up you grab the sledgehammer, every normal person sleeps with and you smash it into tiny, noiseless pieces.

  2. Being a true anprim (anarchist primitive) and rejecting all technology! Even those pesky chairs... >:]

  3. To be so filled with anger and rage that your cause yourself to burn into ashes.

I'll be back to upvote when my power goes back above 80. lol

Haha, also going for the funny prize? (3)

Great post. Please find my meaning attempts below:

1 - Hit the alarm might mean leaving in a hurry. (there's a similar expression in other latin languages)

2 - Sitting on the ground - maybe to be exhausted?

3 - To not be able to run away from something - as in "you will be burnt"

Thanks for playing! It is a tricky thing dealing with idioms from other languages! (4)

not sure why .. but picture # 3 seems a little dirty ;)

I was wondering if someone would mention that...

thisone evolved into something as dirty as you may think
it evolved in 2 different ways, one that looks like the drawing
and another that looks like what belongs to what looks like the drawing.

...i'm turning this into a crypto game.... HAHA

i'm not sure the modern versions are appropriate for children’s game cards

You got a 1.44% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bengy!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

  1. Shit i'm late
  2. I am so pissed off at you and that damn alarm clock.
  3. and combing 1 and 2 If you think you are getting off and taking a ride to the moon you can so sit on your damned alarm clock.

I found something that said sitting on the ground has something to do with a woman being angry, but guess we will find out soon.

Sitting on the ground is a woman getting angry? Weird, what language is that in? (5)

It's part of mule speak, stubborn as a mule, it could be a guy sitting and giving no ground also, because they are pissed off about something. "It gonna take 20 mules to get me to move" I really don't know, as kids we would just plunk down and go no.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71