You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Idioms game with SBD prizes (number 4)

in #contest6 years ago

Even if I am not really getting them correct, I think learning about the idioms gives you an insight into the mindset and culture of another country and its people. This is my attempt for this week:

  1. Hit the alarm probably means to alert someone about something, but it seems to obvious so I am going to say that is to be panicked about something.

  2. Judging from the picture it seems like sitting on the ground means to be helpless or waiting to be helped by someone. I am going to take the next step and say that it means to be poor.

  3. I think this is the opposite of sitting on the ground and that it means to be rich.

Sort:  

I wouldn't rely on the pictures .. they have nothing to do with the answer - the pictures are based on the words he gives us and not the actual meaning of them....

True, the picture is the literal meaning.

exactly! - I went back to look at the previous contests to see if there was any clue on the pictures and that's when I realized - just as you said - the pics are literal.

Yes, that first one had me going as well. It does appear too obvious. On the other hand the Dutch and English languages have a common ancestry.... (1)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47