Idioms game with SBD prizes (number 5)

in #contest6 years ago

Aaargh! Falling behind the competition post! So this one is two days late, sorry. Touring is exhausting and yesterday I got to spend about 12 hours at home before leaving again!

Onwards to the game. This week, the pictures almost tell a complete story!

I am learning Dutch, and here are some idioms that I am trying to learn. Idioms are the name of the non native speaker, they are the sayings that mean something completely different from the literal meaning. Which makes for embarrassingly funny situations when you are learning the language.

To play this game, no Dutch is needed, I will give the literal translation in English.

So the rules are simple, from the picture and a literal translation of the Dutch, see if you can guess the meaning of the idiom. There are three, first correct will win a 0.02 SBD prize but the funniest (at my discretion, it doesn't have to be awarded) will take a 0.05 SBD prize. So, to be clear there are 2 prizes for each picture/idiom.

1

IMG_20180313_121320.jpg

In de knoop zitten
Sitting in the knot (tangle)

2

IMG_20180313_121317.jpg
Iemand de pin op de neus zetten
Putting the pin on someone's nose

3

IMG_20180313_121322.jpg

De klos zijn
Being a bobbin (or spool or spindle)

Answers and winners from last week

Original post

1

Alarm slaan
Hit the alarm
Meaning: Warning others that there is danger!

Correct: @plushzilla
Funny: @erebus

2

Aan de grond zitten
Sitting on the ground
Meaning: You have no more money (broke).

Correct : @plushzilla
Funny: @erebus

3

De sigaar zijn
To be the cigar
Meaning: being the victim, the unlucky one.

Correct: none
Funny: @bashadow

Congratulations, loads of cash is on it's way over!

U5dsUfcvauXNAP4kT4SzwKQs8yV8c6Y_1680x8400.png

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

DQmXDFhqQrKJrKavGxmhTuLaF2iR3JkZKJzPPj4vFK6Pkvu_1680x8400.png

Referral links
Mene, Investment jewellery (5 dollars credit just for making the account).
Humble Bundle Monthly, PC games package every month!
Coinbase, the biggest fiat on and off ramp.
Binance, the biggest crypto exchange.
Mannabase, Universal income in the blockchain
Cryptopia, Lots of lesser known altcoins.
HitBTC Even more Altcoins!

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone

Sort:  
  1. To be taken, but in a way where you happen to be liam needsons child and you know you don't have to worry because he will find you and he will kill those involved so you just chill in your ropes while waiting. (Although I can't imagine that comes up too much in conversation)
  2. To distract someone from what your actually doing.
  3. To go round in circles and not advance.

Lol, apparently that was an incredibly popular comment! (8)

Oh no I don't think so, I'm trying this auto comment voter thing out atm with minnow booster its meant to get it to the top of the page so people read your comments on busy posts where they only read the top few.

Yes I know, but it's still funny!

  1. in deep deep trouble
  2. I’ll stop fighting for that pin! Here! You can have it!
  3. My hands are tied

Ha ha, 2nd is quite funny! Let's see what other people come up with! (1)

hahaha! thanks for hosting this contest! it's fun!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

  1. to be in trouble.
  2. ignoring someone.
  3. to not know what to do.

Going for the correct answers? (2)

The funny version will be: trying to pop a pimple.

For the second?

  1. Being committed to a mental institution and winding up in a straitjacket.

  2. Having noxious, onion/beans kinda gas.

  3. Getting used or played over and again.

Ha ha, I have your humble key to give you when I get to a hotel! (3)

lmao
This never gets old. I really like the book - the drawings are so funny...
But not as funny as the literal English translations...
"Sitting in the knot" Wahahahaaa

giphy (8).gif
Source

Thanks! But it is embarrassing when I step in these in real life.

I had to ask a woman on the train what 'knoop' was. I only know it as knot or from the snelweg, knooppunt. She originally told me it was a button!

It’s indeed also a button.
I wouldn’t want to be in your shoes... I once read that Dutch was amongst the most difficult languages to learn, after Chinese (mainly because of the amount of irregular verbs)
But it looks like you’re doing good, though. Idioms are just hell, because one thing is said, and another thing is meant. On top of that, the expressions often don’t make any sense.

I don’t even remember what its like to learn another language. English is just all around and a part of your life through movies and songs. They tried to teach me French for more than 10 years, but my knowledge is still very , very limited...

So keep up the good work! You’ll manage :0)

Thanks! I think I'll be forever my kid's embarrassing father that speaks Dutch funny!

Don’t beat yourself up; at least you’re trying :0)
(and IMHO, all Dutch people speak Dutch funny - lol)

In currently on tour with Belgians, I'm can't really understand them!

  1. You better watch what you eat or you're in trouble.
  2. Giving someone a hard time about something.
  3. Being clueless..

Being clueless, that is often how I feel when speaking Dutch! (4)

  1. being caught u in a mess of some sort
  2. Blaming somebody for something
  3. being the provider of something or the driving force of something

Nice guesses, could be plausible! (5)

I'm going with....

  1. getting caught in a lie
  2. telling someone where to go and how to get there
  3. being used,or taken advantage of

Again, definitely plausible answers! Let you know in about a week! (6)

Whatever I did last week seemed to work a treat, chances are that I won't be able to get any this week :D

  1. Sitting in the knot seems like being stuck in a situation you can't get out of (too obvious?)
  2. Let someone else handle a difficult situation
  3. To be spinning around and dazed or confused

I need to try for the funny entries next time I think...

I'm thinking that next time everyone can have two goes for each. The serious and the funny. I think it will work better, and you don't have to choose. (7)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44