Constrained Writing Contest #12 - Promotion post

in #constrainedwriting7 years ago (edited)

In light of recent events - more on which you can read here - I am writing this post to promote the Constrained Writing Contest and try and raise some rewards for the writers who have participated in the Constrained Writing Contest #12.

constrained writing contest.jpg

Long story short, the reward pool of the original post had been drained by a downvote by @haejin and the contest is therefore left without a prize to give to its participants.

In case you aren't familiar with the Constrained writing contest, allow me to briefly describe it to you. (You can find more information on it here).


Each week I (or a guest judge) come up with different challenges to limit your writing. You are required to omit certain words, use a specific word in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, write a story with a certain amount of words... or a combination of all constraints.

What is different to most other writing contests is that I never give you a writing prompt or an idea.
It's all you and your imagination! You're free to write about whatever you like.
So long as you stay within the constraints, of course.


This week the judge is @simgirl, and she came up with the following constraint:

  • Use ”Little did he/she/I/we know” somewhere in your story
  • The story must be at least 250 words long

And @simgirl and I both posted example stories to make it a little easier for you to get ahold of the contest:

An example story by @simgirl can be found here.
An example story by @svashta can be found by clicking here


Prizes

Now here's where it gets tricky. Because of the recent flags by @haejin the rewards on the main post have been drained. Therefore I have decided the following:

I will pay out this post's payout in full, both SBD and STEEM!


  • 1st place: 45% of post's payout
  • 2nd place: 27% of post's payout
  • 3rd place 18 % of post's payout
  • Judge (@simgirl) takes 5 % for his/her efforts
  • I will take 5 % for hosting, writing and editing the contest

*In case I receive any donations for the contest, the payout percentages apply to the donation itself as well.

*Disclaimer: The contest ends on sunday and that is when the winners will be announced. The rewards will be paid out in exactly 7 days from now (when this post pays out).


On that note, I would like to thank each and every one of the writers who have participated in any of the contests so far. Rest assured, the reward problem will be solved somehow.
I would also like to thank each and every one of you for supporting with an upvote, or even a resteem.
And last but not least; I would like to thank everyone who managed to read this post, regardless of if you upvote it or not. ^^

Have a great day everyone!

And to all participants of the contest...

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/constrainedcontest/@eriesunkite/constrained-writing-contest-12-stay-out-of-that-forest
After months of inactivity this was exactly what I needed, so here is my entry.

Yay! Going to read it now!

Please do not get bogged down with the words he/she. Writers can use, I, we, they, ect. The idea is that the character does not know what's going to happen, but the reader has some clue. :) I have loved reading the entries so far! Keep them coming!!!

Hmmm... perhaps it's better this way?

wow this so cool this will relly make us sit back and study hard
love this upvoted

Just saw your message on chat. Thanks! I'm newer to Steemit, but this is my second week to enter this contest. It's a lot of fun. Everyone's entries are so different and fun to read.

I'm very happy to hear you've been having fun with the contest! :D
And yeah, it's amazing to see what all you guys com up with :D From rubik's cubes to murders to grim reapers... so versatile ^^
Thank you again for the kind words and participation :D

nice article well job brother @svashta

Hmmmmmmmmmm, maybe I will give it a go.
Haejin flagged you as well? wtf

Indeed.
Stuff happens ^^ It's important to move on and work hard again :D
There's no stopping me us! :D

Boy, I'll say <3

Best wishes for the winners
Good challenge
Motivational activity

I think contest is over my head but you have my up vote to help ..

Thank you so very much! :D

I don't think it is, though :D You're welcome to give it a try with as simple or as complex an entry as you wish ^^ It's all in good fun :D

whut? why? who is this haejin?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63