DECISION - constrained writing contest

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, my name is Alexander Lupus, and I have been sober for 3 months.

"Hello Alexander"

I was a heavy drinker for 5 years. The result of my behaviour today is that I have no job, my fiancee left me, even my dog ran away. I haven't drank anything for three months now, and things are getting better. I found a job, and even my fiancee is answering to my calls. We are far, far away from being together but it is a start.

"Thank you Alexander for sharing that with us. We have some new members with us who are still struggling, so if you would be so kind to tell us again your story on how you quit."

No problem, Steve. Although I must warn you it is a funny story, I don't think everyone will believe it.

So one night I was sitting in my chair drinking some vodka from the bottle, which was my favorite activity at the time. At this point I have already lost everything valuable in my life. And then after maybe three quarters of the bottle gone I got up to go to pee, or vomit... Not sure actually.

1.jpg

When I got up in hallway on the way to the bathroom, I saw a dark shape lurking, no , no , actually I sensed it because it was so dark, I hadn't paid my electrical bills for a while. But it was there, I just knew it. I remained in the living room terrified. My body shook against my will. And i am sure I peed my self a bit. The shape was coming closer and closer. In a moment it was light by city lights coming through the balcony door.
It was a beast that resembled a wolf. Its fur was short and grey, and on its body were spots where you could see its skin. It looked like there were too few teeth in his jaw, but his eyes were the worst, I mean his eyes were half closed and tears were slowly coming from them. All in all it looked pathetic. Now that I think about it, it looked like me. Because I was still quite drunk, I didn't ask my self what is this ugly beast doing in my flat, instead, I felt sorry for it, and I sensed that it could do me no harm.

Dark-wolf-hd-wallpaper.jpg

Then my life-changing moment happened. Wolf spoke, no it howled, resembling a crying widows call for her loved one- "STOP THIS".

I immediately fell in my chair unable to speak or move for couple of moments.

Again it spoke:
"STOP THIS. STOP ME"

I came to my senses a bit. But still didn't know how to react yet I accepted the fact I have a talking wolf in my room.
"What are you" - I asked it.

"CONSEQUENCE, STOP THIS."

"Ok, but tell me what to stop. Do you mean drinking. If you mean drinking, I can not stop, I tried couple of times, but failed, my Sara even left me because of this. I am so weak"

Then the beast looked at me, with a sparkling drop in the corner of his sickly eye and said in a soft begging manner "STOP ME PLEASE"

I yelled like a kid who is angry but who knows he did something wrong:
"What are you talking about, How can I stop you, you are probably not even real, just a drunken hallucination. I will die of this curse just leave me alone."

"STOP THE CONSEQUENCE" - wolf was begging at this point.

I started crying and sobbing. The beast approached me and opened its mouth. I thought to myself this is the end, this is how I die. Bring it on. But it didn't bit me. it licked my face and whispered softl in my ear "STOP THIS. PLEASE"

I don't remember much afterwards, I think I fainted, when I woke up I was again alone in a cold, dark room.
Then I remembered an old story how my family got our last name. My great-great-grandfather was supposedly a werewolf who defended a small village from a band of roaming bandits. Villagers afterwards took him in out of gratitude. He got married in the village and that is how Lupus family came into existence.

Now you can laugh as much as you like, but I think my animal side visited me to tell me the consequences of my actions. I was not only killing myself with alcohol but also everyone around me, everyone who came before me, and everyone who is supposed to come after me.


Thank @svashta for creating this contest, I hope you like the story...

Image source:
https://www.shutterstock.com/video/clip-20790400-stock-footage-portrait-of-a-drunk-alcoholic-man-in-a-dark-room-man-in-despair.html?src=rel/20790406:0
Animal jams clan wiki

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry @spalatino! I think if I told that story at an AA meeting, they would have suggested a therapist. :)

Hey whatever works, right?

This took a couple unexpected turns! In a strange, yet still interesting way. I dig it. :D

Thank you very much for your entry! :D

What can I say, I prefer strange :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52